We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place... great location to beach.. john the bartender was great!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mountainside, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place... great location to beach.. john the bartender was great!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

great location to the beach...loved that you can choose to eat breakfast or lunch.. john the bartender was so nice made great drinks...

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shark2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    363
    86
    39
    24
See reviews for
159
825
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Booked a room at the Carroll Villa because of all the great things I read on Trip Advisor. The location is ideal - 1/2 block from the beach and very close to Washington Commons Mall. Staff was very nice and friendly - you'll often see the owner, Mark, around talking to guests. Room 25 was cozy and very clean - it is a small room, but there's enough space. However, the bed seemed small for a full size, so consider upgrading to a room with a queen for more comfort. Highly recommend eating at the Mad Batter Restaurant - the food was phenomenal! In addition, if you are staying at the hotel, then you get discounts at the restaurant. Only negative was the parking, which is a pleasant, leisurely 7 minute stroll though the historic district, but you are in the heart of Cape May so you won't need your vehicle unless venturing outside town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cargNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Accommodations were clean, but very small. We stayed with you before and the Queen-sized room was larger. Was not comfortable with our location in the annex room 26. VERY SMALL and very akward to maneuver around the bed. The light on the right side of the bed did not work. Was not plugged in and could not plug it in. The small light on the wall, across from the bathroom could not turn off, as you needed to use your hand and the blub became too hot to touch.
Food in restaurant and service has always been terrific. That is certainly a thumbs up.
Beach passes and chairs should be complimentary to guests who stay with you. Prices are high enough to warrant them.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2010
We are sorry your most recent stay with us did not live up to prior visits. Your comments regarding the lighting in your room will be addressed by our maintenance staff and we appreciate you bringing these things to our attention. We make it a point to address all issues our guests may have. While we did provide them in the past, there is now a Cape May City ordinance that prevents us from supplying beach passes to our guests. We regret that we simply do not have the space to store enough beach chairs to provide to our guests. You are welcome to bring them with you or you can rent chairs and umbrellas right on the beach. As you stated, the queen rooms are larger and we hope you will stay with us again and choose one of those rooms instead. We thank you again for taking the time to submit your comments to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This was my 5th time at the Carroll Villa. It has improved with every stay. The rooms are
clean, nicely furnished. The flat screen TV's, and the small refrigerator (Both New) were
nice. The staff as always, were great, and the restaurant is THE BEST in Cape May period. With the unbelieveable breakfast(included) and discounts on dinner and drinks,
makes this an excellent value, a really, really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsw_nn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landenberg, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Our stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel was very enjoyable. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Our meals at the Mad Batter were delicious. We would be glad to visit again on our next visit to Cape May.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDELandenberg_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Can't say enough about how perfect our stay at the Carroll was! From the beginning, online and on the phone, the staff at the Carroll Villa was nothing but friendly and helpful, and that continued through our three night stay last week. They were concerned about me requesting one of the smallest rooms (#11) as we have a newborn - but the room turned out to be huge (compared to our first NYC apartments!). Private bathroom and a closet provided plently of room for our stuff. The vouchers for the Mad Batter are awesome - we stuffed ourselves every morning. The daughter of one of the staff babysat our newborn when we went out for a night, and it worked out great. Location - perfect. Staff - perfect. Amenities - like vouchers, parking, extra towels, wireless internet... everything was perfect. Thanks so much CarollVilla staff for making our first family vacation a complete success!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CapnJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I love B&Bs so I was excited to find one that allowed a 3 year old. Location is absolutely perfect - a block to the beach and a block or two to the Washington Street Mall. Stayed in room 31 for 4 nights then switched to room 28 for one night (couldn't leave so we decided to stay an extra night but had to go to another room). Loved room 28! Food at Mad Batter is excellent! We got a $30 voucher each day to use between 8am and 3pm - awesome deal. Staff and service was excellent too. By the end of the week we felt like part of the Carroll Villa/Mad Batter family. I couldn't have asked for a better beach vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbugs_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing