We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really are very satisfied with Carroll Villa, we would like to be in a larger room next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I have family members coming their in August 2010, and hope their stay is as welcoming as ours, we have recommended many people to your hotel.P.S. we didn't have any welcome back baloons this year.Ha Ha Mrs. Quattrone

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueeyesphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

The staff was so friendly! They were willing to help us out in any way possible : dinner reservations, random inquiries, extra towels, etc. The restaurant was probably the best place we ate in town. Breakfast and dinner! We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Carroll Villa doesn't tell you until your confirmation that you must park your car "a scenic 7-8 minute walk" away. There are many B & B's in Cape May that have their own parking or have street parking. Although it is close to the beach, it also has a restaurant on the first floor that takes away from the "charm and relaxing" aspect of a B & B. The bedside light was not working and in the middle of the night someone knocked on our door. It could have been a lost guest, but was still irritating. The "voucher" for breakfast was nice, however again it took away from the quaintness of the B & B. We have stayed in a half dozen or so B & B's in Cape May and would not reccomend this one. Keep looking!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alaume3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

HI! We are sorry that you were disappointed with the parking. The hotel and surrounding hotels, homes and bed and breakfasts are all in the same boat. When these beautiful houses were built there were no cars thus no thoughts about cars
We try and tell everyone about the off street city parking available from May-Oct. which is free to our guests. The rest of the year is on street parking which is free.
We also put in every confirmation letter where the parking is....There is an unloading across the street from the hotel to check in and check out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This was a quaint B&B. The room was sufficient. Pillows were a little hard and the head board was not attached to the frame, so it squeaked!! The food was wonderful - a bonus was that you were given a $30 credit for breakfast (no alcohol), and 30% off dinner. The beach was one block away. The hotel provides free beach towels, you need to bring your own chairs. If you are there on Thursdays, be sure to attend the free movie on the beach. Free parking was a 5 minute walk. This was a great place to relax and enjoy. I will return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reader999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

great location to the beach...loved that you can choose to eat breakfast or lunch.. john the bartender was so nice made great drinks...

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shark2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Booked a room at the Carroll Villa because of all the great things I read on Trip Advisor. The location is ideal - 1/2 block from the beach and very close to Washington Commons Mall. Staff was very nice and friendly - you'll often see the owner, Mark, around talking to guests. Room 25 was cozy and very clean - it is a small room, but there's enough space. However, the bed seemed small for a full size, so consider upgrading to a room with a queen for more comfort. Highly recommend eating at the Mad Batter Restaurant - the food was phenomenal! In addition, if you are staying at the hotel, then you get discounts at the restaurant. Only negative was the parking, which is a pleasant, leisurely 7 minute stroll though the historic district, but you are in the heart of Cape May so you won't need your vehicle unless venturing outside town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cargNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Accommodations were clean, but very small. We stayed with you before and the Queen-sized room was larger. Was not comfortable with our location in the annex room 26. VERY SMALL and very akward to maneuver around the bed. The light on the right side of the bed did not work. Was not plugged in and could not plug it in. The small light on the wall, across from the bathroom could not turn off, as you needed to use your hand and the blub became too hot to touch.
Food in restaurant and service has always been terrific. That is certainly a thumbs up.
Beach passes and chairs should be complimentary to guests who stay with you. Prices are high enough to warrant them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2010

We are sorry your most recent stay with us did not live up to prior visits. Your comments regarding the lighting in your room will be addressed by our maintenance staff and we appreciate you bringing these things to our attention. We make it a point to address all issues our guests may have. While we did provide them in the past, there is now a Cape May City ordinance that prevents us from supplying beach passes to our guests. We regret that we simply do not have the space to store enough beach chairs to provide to our guests. You are welcome to bring them with you or you can rent chairs and umbrellas right on the beach. As you stated, the queen rooms are larger and we hope you will stay with us again and choose one of those rooms instead. We thank you again for taking the time to submit your comments to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
272 reviews
0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £71 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing