We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We booked a last minute trip to Cape May. We were told of these renovations and upgrades. They must have been referring to the fluorescent bulbs. The bed linen needed replaced, the bathrobes looked dirty, and the room had a musky smell. Oh, and we also had our own 'private bathroom' which was down the hall. No surprise, just not convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2010

We are sorry you were not happy with your recent stay. Although many people specifically request the rooms with the bath down the hall (one couple has stayed in Room 5 every Labor Day weekend for the last 30 years), for some it is not what they had hoped for. We do make known in our room descriptions the rooms that have the bath down the hall but since our hallways are not very long, no one has expressed to us that it was an issue for them. Since we have recently completed numerous alterations and upgrades, in part due to our efforts to “green” our hotel and restaurant, and do replace our linens on a regular basis, we would have preferred you to address your concerns while you were here. We would have been happy to address them immediately as we strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. In truth, the B & B experience is not for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

Great location near both beach and mall; rooms are spacious, charming and have everything you need; breakfast (or lunch but I always eat the breakfast) is FABULOUS; and the 30% off of dinner is wonderful, plus the food then is also very very good; love the happy hour;
the staff are helpful and pleasant, and I enjoy seeing them every year. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else in Cape May.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adoyle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Carroll Villa and for us it is the nicest place to stay in Cape May. We definitely enjoyed the meals in the restaurant, the breakfast menu is the best value around (more food than one could eat in one sitting) and the dinner was just as good.

Since this was our second visit, the welcome back ballon and box of taffy we found in the room was a really nice touch.

We are hoping to return next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolly1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Absolutely charming! The Carroll Villa is located on the very picturesque Jackson Street in the heart of Cape May. It's a refreshing change from the sterile, carbon copy hotels encountered at other destinations. The Carroll Villa's charm and personality is only surpassed by its wonderful staff. Everyone makes it their job to make one feel welcome and part of the community that is Cape May - warm, friendly, and inviting. Housekeeping staff are likely the best ever encountered - always friendly and courteous. And don't forget the "Mad Batter" - the onsite restaurant. Undoubtedly the best breakfast in the world is served here ensuring the Carroll Villa's status as a top B&B experience. Over the past 20 years, our family and friends would think of no other place to stay except at the Carroll Villa. Each room provides unique character and personality be it in the Annex or the Main Building - always inviting. The worst part about the Carroll Villa is leaving, but never fear, it's always inviting/welcoming you back to yet another wonderful experience in Cape May. BTW, you can't beat Kathi - manager extraordinaire!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VA_MURPHY_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I have family members coming their in August 2010, and hope their stay is as welcoming as ours, we have recommended many people to your hotel.P.S. we didn't have any welcome back baloons this year.Ha Ha Mrs. Quattrone

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueeyesphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The staff was so friendly! They were willing to help us out in any way possible : dinner reservations, random inquiries, extra towels, etc. The restaurant was probably the best place we ate in town. Breakfast and dinner! We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Carroll Villa doesn't tell you until your confirmation that you must park your car "a scenic 7-8 minute walk" away. There are many B & B's in Cape May that have their own parking or have street parking. Although it is close to the beach, it also has a restaurant on the first floor that takes away from the "charm and relaxing" aspect of a B & B. The bedside light was not working and in the middle of the night someone knocked on our door. It could have been a lost guest, but was still irritating. The "voucher" for breakfast was nice, however again it took away from the quaintness of the B & B. We have stayed in a half dozen or so B & B's in Cape May and would not reccomend this one. Keep looking!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alaume3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

HI! We are sorry that you were disappointed with the parking. The hotel and surrounding hotels, homes and bed and breakfasts are all in the same boat. When these beautiful houses were built there were no cars thus no thoughts about cars
We try and tell everyone about the off street city parking available from May-Oct. which is free to our guests. The rest of the year is on street parking which is free.
We also put in every confirmation letter where the parking is....There is an unloading across the street from the hotel to check in and check out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £71 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing