We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Carroll Villa is Terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Carroll Villa is Terrific”
Reviewed 23 May 2007

This was our 6th weekend staying at the Carroll Villa. We have stayed there several times in the fall for our anniversary, and this time came in May with our daughter. It is one of our favorite places to stay anywhere in the country, and is the ONLY place we would ever stay in Cape May. The accomodations are wonderful, the staff friendly and helpful, and the Mad Batter Restaurant is simply the best. Cape May is a wonderful vacation / get-away spot, and the Carroll Villa is the best there is in Cape May.

  • Liked — Quaint, Victorian B&B-style hotel
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything I didn't like.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyberGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    357
    85
    39
    23
See reviews for
155
815
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2007

Had a great time and this was a great place to stay. I recommend it highly. My partner and I were very comfortable here. We had a wonderful time. and will stay there again.

  • Liked — Great Locations
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KPEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

This inn is comfortable, reasonably priced (especially with the breakfast discount offers), and a block to the beaches and the Washington Street Mall. Very good location.The bathrooms are clean. The rooms have heating and air conditioning. Room 31 is a comfortable size for two adults and a child, with a nice size bathroom. A good choice for couples too.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2007

My husband and I recently stayed for a getaway weekend. The staff is relaxed and friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The location is perfect for walking around the town. Breakfast and dinner in the Mad Batter, their restaurant, was sensational. The best clam chowder I have every experienced - superb food. I told one of the waiters I could move in permanently! A great find!

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2007

We only stayed one night but were pleasantly surprised at how helpful the staff was. They even opened the restaurant early the next morning to accommodate our schedule. The room was perfect and breakfast was great at the Mad Batter. We were concerned at just picking a B&B out of the many B&B's in Cape May but this experience turned out great. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — location, service, comfortable bed and room
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bheiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin. NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Cape May, N.J.--Carroll Villa B & B
March 3, 2007
S. Markert, Manahawkin, N.J.
We previously stayed at a few B & B's in Cape May.
This was our first stay at Carroll Villa.
The ambience of the accommodations was just lovely and VERY clean. We felt very welcome. Entire staff made us feel as if they were happy to have us as their weekend guests. The $30. voucher for two at The Mad Batter was more than sufficient for a hearty breakfast. Location a half block from the beach and block and a half from the Victorian shopping area was a plus. This B & B is far superior to our previous stays in Cape May and we will definitely return.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank slake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2007

We checked 6-8 B&B inns in Cape May, NJ, and the Carroll Villa was the only one that accepted young children. It's prices were a bargain compared to others -- and it was only half a block to the beach. The location couldn't be better. The street is delightful with beautiful Victorian homes. You're a short walk to great shops and charming restaurants. The room was a good size and comfortable, though the foam pillows were my only (minor) complaint). There was some confusion over whether our breakfast was included the first morning and we just paid for it because the owner was out of town -- but he called in an hour later and immediately cleared the confusion. We were promptly and graciously credited for the breakfast charge. The staff were gracious and helpful and we would certainly go back -- with or without our kids!

j.f.heenehan@att.net

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank jfheene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#17 of 37 in Cape May
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing