We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful house rental!”

Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
Ranked #26 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house rental!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Ashley Rose is such a beautiful and tranquil place and we loved staying there. It was perfect for a large family reunion. We've been to Cape May several times, always in different houses, and this was the nicest yet. Great access (and views!) of the ocean, short walk to town, and historic to boot. It was great to see the trolleys stop in front of the house to talk about it's history as a girl's finishing school. Sally, the manager, was wonderfully helpful, and the house had everything you could want. The rooms were spacious, gorgeous and clean, and it was a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReunionFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h, Owner at Ashley Rose Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Delightful thoughtful tenants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Great location, 2 blocks from beach and 3 blocks to Washington square. The neighborhood is beautiful and the house is really clean and well cared for ( and I'm definitely on the picky side.) Sally always addressed my questions and concerned promptly. Great place to stay!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debi236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

WOW !! It will be hard to find a better cared for, managed, SAFE and accessible to all that Cape May NJ has to offer, than The Ashley Rose Inn. We stayed in the private "Cottage Inn", that is part of the grounds, around back, for over a week, just after Labor Day. Perfect for our Honeymoon. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry, and private deck adds to that experience. Located in the heart of Cape May, everything is within walking distance. The beach, shopping, eating and strolling the Promenade. Park the car and relax. Sally, who runs the place, is always available, answers questions fast and really cared that our trip was memorable. This place is a WINNER. We will be back. Thanks Sally.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We rented the Ashley Rose 9/1/2012 for 1 week. There were 10 of us and it turned out to be a wonderful experience! The home is great for 2 families who have adult children because everyone was able to have their own room with their own bathroom....lots of privacy. Just a very short walk to the beach and the kitchen was so well equipped because we did a lot of cooking. We really enjoyed sitting on the large front porch and the living area inside was great for all of us spending time together and playing games. The owner Sally was always available via phone if we had questions/concerns. We are in the process of renting the place again next year....Cape May has so much to offer! Thanks to Sally and the Ashley Rose for a great week!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hackettstown
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Best location - walk to beach; walk to shops; walk to restaurants; walk around this charming town. Wonderful porches - one enclosed for privacy & one open facing street. The tour trollies all stopped for pictures - great fun. House is dated but very well equipped; clean as a whistle and neat as a pin (pardon the cliches). Our host, Sally, was gracious and informative AND not intrusive. Our party of nine enjoyed a week at the Ashley Rose and loved our accommodations and the town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We rented the Inlet Cottage behind the main house for a week. It's a perfect little getaway from home. The eat in kitchen had everything we needed (except the food, which he brought). The bathroom has a washer and dryer which was great to have on hand so we didn't have to worry about dirty laundry or getting to a laundramat. There are outdoor showers with hot and cold water which was great for showering off the sand when returning from a day at the beach, with tracking it into the house or getting it in the bathroom. The bedroom is upstairs with a king size bed and a walk out to a deck. While there isn't much to see from the deck but the back of the main house and yard, it was nice to have to enjoy a cup of morning coffee or admire the full moon enjoying a glass of wine. The bathroom shower is a little small (and I'm petite), but not a problem. There is a pull out sofabed in the living room if you had overnight guests. As it is a summer cottage, you need to bring your own sheets and towels, but that is fine. Pillows, blankets, comforter are provided. Upon arriving, it was very clean. During our stay, we treated it like we would our own home and kept up with cleaning and anything we used up, we replenished (such as toilet paper, paper towels, dish or laundry detergent) for the next tenants. I don't know if that's customary, but we did it anyway, as well as washing dishtowels, bath mat and tablecloth that were provided. We enjoyed out stay immensely and had no problems, no complaints. There are outdoor grills and eating areas which we were permitted to use and there were beach chairs and badges which were also provided and appreciated. We met Sally during out weeklong stay twice and she was friendly and personable. We were set up well and didn't have to ask anything of her, but I'm fairly confident that if we needed anything, she would have accommodated us. There was a cold front that came in towards the end of our week and Sally told us where the heaters could be located if needed, but they weren't. We will definitely come back again next year and I look forward to it. If we can get the interest and cooperation of extended family, we would like to rent out the main house for a reunion in the future. The location is perfect, two blocks from the ocean and only several blocks walking distance to almost anything in town, including Washington Mall, plenty of restaurants, show houses/mansion tours, etc. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbaz128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ashley Rose Victorian Inn and were delighted with the cleanliness, warmth and feeling of our cottage. We felt at home right away. The house provided lots of space, bike racks, grills, patios an outside shower and lots of privacy. It was only a short walk from the beach and located in a beautiful area. It was a perfect stay and we would highly recommend Ashley Rose. The owner is wonderful and truly cares about the property.
It's a beautiful house in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Helpers Hostel
Happy Helpers Hostel
#10 of 19 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#3 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#31 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Rose Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Rose Victorian Inn

Property: Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
Address: 715 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2307 (Formerly The Victorian Rose)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ashley Rose Victorian Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing