We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect space for our wedding week”

Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
Ranked #28 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect space for our wedding week”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent a lovely week in the Ashley Rose Mansion with family who had traveled with us for our daughter's wedding (which was held at Leamings Run Gardens - a PERFECT venue for a wedding). The house met all of our needs for our large gathering. My sister and her husband were able to rent the small apartment that connected to the main house allowing us all to share meals and "visiting" time together. The proximity to the lovely Cape May beach was perfect for us. I think we used every inch of available space allotted to us. We truly felt at home there. Thank you helping us have a picture perfect wedding week!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h, Owner at Ashley Rose Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Such a nice Family! I had the chance to meet most of the family and they were super fun. They traveled mostly from the Carolinas to our quaint little town. They were so kind and welcoming they invited us for breakfast (now that is hospitality). It was wonderful to see them celebrate such an important event with us at the house. They are welcome anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We rented the small cottage at the Ashley Rose with a deck outside the bedroom. Be aware that although there are french-type doors that lead from the bedroom to the deck, there is only a temporary screen that you need to gerrymander into place that will allow you to have fresh air -- and, your room will be fully open and exposed because there is no curtain or other means of providing privacy. We didn't want to use the A/C and, instead, enjoy the ocean breezes so we got use to sleeping with the doors wide open to the outside world. SInce this is on the second floor, only folks located in the main house second or higher levels can look in, but still this was an inconvenience.

The other main inconvenience is that the bathroom is on the first level so you need to walk up and down the steps in the night if you need that facility.

Otherwise, everything worked and the location is wonderfully convenient to town and the beaches, so the location is hard to beat. It would be nice if the owner would tone down all of the cleaning instructions -- that is what welcomes you upon your arrival - all of the suggested "to dos" upon your departure -- I am not sure what the $75 cleaning charge is for if the guests are supposed to do all of the cleaning themselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h, Owner at Ashley Rose Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
So nice to have visitors here in the fall. I am so glad that overall this couple enjoyed Cape May. I wanted to address their concerns to help future tenants. Sandy's high winds and storm were such a threat. We were forced to make some additional changes to help the little structure to stay safe. We made our storm door permanently solid. Rather than have replacement screens available, we have a set in screen so the storm door always stays in place. Even with the screen the storm door can be closed. The bedroom sits 3 steps down from the doors, so one can't see straight in. We have a privacy screen that can be provided upon request. We do have a full bath with new shower on the first floor. We chose the first floor so we had room to add a laundry for the convenience of our tenants. Tenants have requested full details about the house and cleaning, so we provided a list in writing. The list is their option to review. Cleaning fees range from -0- to 100 depending on the length of stay 2 nights to 2 weeks. For this weekend rental, no fees were charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Ashley Rose is such a beautiful and tranquil place and we loved staying there. It was perfect for a large family reunion. We've been to Cape May several times, always in different houses, and this was the nicest yet. Great access (and views!) of the ocean, short walk to town, and historic to boot. It was great to see the trolleys stop in front of the house to talk about it's history as a girl's finishing school. Sally, the manager, was wonderfully helpful, and the house had everything you could want. The rooms were spacious, gorgeous and clean, and it was a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReunionFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h, Owner at Ashley Rose Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Delightful thoughtful tenants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Great location, 2 blocks from beach and 3 blocks to Washington square. The neighborhood is beautiful and the house is really clean and well cared for ( and I'm definitely on the picky side.) Sally always addressed my questions and concerned promptly. Great place to stay!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debi236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

WOW !! It will be hard to find a better cared for, managed, SAFE and accessible to all that Cape May NJ has to offer, than The Ashley Rose Inn. We stayed in the private "Cottage Inn", that is part of the grounds, around back, for over a week, just after Labor Day. Perfect for our Honeymoon. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry, and private deck adds to that experience. Located in the heart of Cape May, everything is within walking distance. The beach, shopping, eating and strolling the Promenade. Park the car and relax. Sally, who runs the place, is always available, answers questions fast and really cared that our trip was memorable. This place is a WINNER. We will be back. Thanks Sally.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We rented the Ashley Rose 9/1/2012 for 1 week. There were 10 of us and it turned out to be a wonderful experience! The home is great for 2 families who have adult children because everyone was able to have their own room with their own bathroom....lots of privacy. Just a very short walk to the beach and the kitchen was so well equipped because we did a lot of cooking. We really enjoyed sitting on the large front porch and the living area inside was great for all of us spending time together and playing games. The owner Sally was always available via phone if we had questions/concerns. We are in the process of renting the place again next year....Cape May has so much to offer! Thanks to Sally and the Ashley Rose for a great week!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hackettstown
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Best location - walk to beach; walk to shops; walk to restaurants; walk around this charming town. Wonderful porches - one enclosed for privacy & one open facing street. The tour trollies all stopped for pictures - great fun. House is dated but very well equipped; clean as a whistle and neat as a pin (pardon the cliches). Our host, Sally, was gracious and informative AND not intrusive. Our party of nine enjoyed a week at the Ashley Rose and loved our accommodations and the town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Star
The Star
#22 of 37 in Cape May
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#30 of 39 in Cape May
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Henry Sawyer Inn
Henry Sawyer Inn
#26 of 39 in Cape May
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
Happy Helpers Hostel
Happy Helpers Hostel
#11 of 19 in Cape May
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Rose Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Rose Victorian Inn

Property: Ashley Rose Victorian Inn
Address: 715 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2307 (Formerly The Victorian Rose)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ashley Rose Victorian Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing