We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly owner and staff... So-so rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Fish Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Fish Inn
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Pottsville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly owner and staff... So-so rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend in July . The staff was exceptionally nice but the rooms were so so. It is my experience that this is the case when you visit the jersey shore. Pull out couch was very uncomfortable unless your a child. The pool was very nice and clean. Extremely pet friendly which is a huge plus ! I would go back because we felt very welcome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob-N-Wend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoLena, Owner at Blue Fish Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our The Blue Fish Inn..As always we value all opinions which allow us to make improvements when we can.That being said ,I know my staff works extremely hard to make the rooms comfortable and clean. for our all guests and would invite those who may have felt differently to come back and visit us so and allows us to make your stay ever enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
78
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family visit over the 4th of July holiday was very pleasant and a much needed retreat. We traveled with our dog and friends. Franco and Lena are great hosts and you can see they take great pride in keeping the property in pristine shape. The cleaning staff does a wonderful job maintaining the rooms every morning of our stay. The room (Unit#12 Pet Friendly) was large enough for us and had exactly what we needed for our stay. The complimentary morning breakfast treats located in the lobby was a great way to start our day. The pool was great for the kids to cool off and never crowded. The Inn is centrally located, walking distance to beach and mall. It was a pleasure not dragging beach chairs and umbrellas to the beach since they are provided. You simply show your room key at the booth located on the beach for your equipment free of charge. The back of the property has tables and grills to utilize during your visit which we enjoyed. I would highly recommend the Blue Fish Inn when planning your visit to Cape May!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnlpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoLena, Owner at Blue Fish Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank You so much !!! Your glowing description of The Blue Fish Inn is heartening to my staff and I. We are so happy that you and your family had a wonderful experience and we so hope that you will return and visit again . Happy Summer !!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

we had just moved to north cape may and our house wasn't ready yet we needed a place to stay that allowed pets the blue fish inn was not only pet friendly it was extremely clean and comfortable the room was huge and I was very relaxed knowing I didn't have to worry about my fur baby I would recommend this motel for anyone who wants to stay in cape may and and relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoreluv2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoLena, Owner at Blue Fish Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We at The Blue Fish Inn are so happy we were able to provide a warm and friendly place t for our guest during a time when there home was not able to be occupied. We welcome them back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltaville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My father and I stayed here on a business trip to Cape May, and were thoroughly pleased with the Blue Fish Inn. The room was very comfortable and well kept, as was the rest of the establishment. The staff was very accommodating and knew who we were at check- in. Would love to revisit the area on vacation, and would definitely be staying at the Blue Fish Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoLena, Owner at Blue Fish Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We at the Blue Fish Inn are so happy that You and your father enjoyed your stay with us .Your kind review is so much appreciated .My staff and I look foward to Your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall The Blue Fish Inn was a pleasant stay, the owners and cleaning staff were nice and accommodating, the rooms were very spacious, clean and with the all important refrigerator and microwave, the pool was super clean and not crowded, and the free use of a beach chair and umbrella was great too.

On the other hand, you're a bit of a walk from everything. It's about a 10 minute stroll to the beach in one direction and about a 15 minute walk from the commercial Promenade in the other. In the mornings and evening, it's fine but in the noon day sun, it can be quite the grueling trek.

The one thing that I didn't like was the bed. It's a bit too soft and you sink in, consequently, I had a pretty restless first two nights and woke up fairly achy. On the third might I gave up and slept on the couch which was much better.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 and 9 and up are nicer since they have a couple of chairs and table in front of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiniSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoLena, Owner at Blue Fish Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We at The Blue Fish Inn welcome all reviews .Although we always strive to make all our guests comfortable there are times when some guests may have a specific complaint,To that guest we assure them that we will continue to improve where we can and hope that they will a consider a return to The Blue Fish Inn.We value all our guests opinions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My spouse, our son, and I had a 3 night stay here this past week and I was awesome. A short walk to the beach, quiet setting and a wonderful room with 2 beds, a bath, and a small kitchen. Can't believe how lucky we were to find this gem. Best part was the complimentary beach chair and umbrella from a partnered beach vendor, saved us about $30 a day at the beach. I even forgot our room was pet friendly, I could not tell. We looked at other accommodations while we were here but I'm sure we will book this place again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoLena, Owner at Blue Fish Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We at The Blue Fish Inn are so grateful to our guest who posted such a heartfelt review .They make all the work so rewarding and our new friendship so valuable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here the last weekend of May and had a very nice time. Owners were very friendly even greeting us by name. The room was very comfortable and especially liked that the bedroom was a separate room. Owners made themselves at our disposal if we needed anything. Has an area in the back where you can BBQ if you want. Close enough to walk pretty much everywhere downtown. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoLena, Owner at Blue Fish Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We at The Blue Fish Inn Thank you for your kind words ,We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Your friends at the Blue Fish Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Fish Inn

Property: Blue Fish Inn
Address: 601 Madison Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#3 Family Hotel in Cape May
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast from late June to early September 1.NFL package, every game, every team. Free WiFi,beach service in season providing umbrellas/chairs service.On site heated pool, barbecue area ,washer/dry,parking and free street parking.Wonderful staff waiting to make your stay at The Blue Fish Inn one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Fish Hotel Cape May
Blue Fish Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing