We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dormer House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dormer House
Ranked #17 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our first time in Cape May...we stayed in the Shannon room in the Dormer House B & B. The room was clean, very nice, as adverised had ac, wi-fi. Charming and quaint. Staff was courteous, friendly and helpful, Food was delicious. Great location, few blocks from beach and shops/eateries.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldila33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Wonderful! Glad you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again!

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    49
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
127
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Dormer House many times. This past weekend, we celebrated our 16th anniversary by staying in the Comm. John Jacoby suite. As always, we had an excellent time. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable and clean in this beautiful home. Love to sit and relax on the large front porch. This is a wonderful family owned and operated business. Perfect place for a romantic stay. We are looking forward to our next visit. G&C

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for making us a part of your 16th anniversary celebration! It means so much to us that you have stayed with us throughout the years. Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to post a review. We can't wait to see you again and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location is excellent, about 4 blocks from the beach and easy walk to major shopping areas.
The staff was very nice and attentive. Food was excellent, and eating our meals on the front porch was the cherry on top of the cake. However, the room we stayed in could use a little updating and cleaning. The windows were dirty and the shades torn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to send us your review! We appreciate all your kind words as well as anything we need to look into. My dad is always looking for things to work on or fix so thanks for letting me know! LOL :)

Hope to see you again,

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 4 days at the Dormer House last week and were more than pleasantly surprised. Our room, The Dormer Suite, was extremely large with a huge bathroom that featured a jacuzzi. The decorations were beautiful as was the entire house. The owners and their daughter were extremely friendly and offered many fine suggestions for places to see as well as restaurants. Just a few short blocks to the beach made it very convenient. Loved sitting on the porch and relaxing, Also ate the delicious breakfasts there. Enjoyed evey minute of our stay and plan to return. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go the extra couple of bucks for the suite. Also, I booked on their website which was cheaper than G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I am so happy you enjoyed your recent stay! The Dormer Suite is definitely one of my favorite rooms. :) Glad you enjoyed Mike's breakfast and lounging on our front porch. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future!

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

A wonderful B & B close to the beach and the downtown mall. I highly recommend this wonderful slice of heaven. Don't bring beach towels, hair dryer or water. This B & B has them waiting for you. Plenty of party on site as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeandE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
What a wonderful comment, thank you so much! It is always a pleasure to hear such kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay and hope to see you again in the future!

Diana
The Dormer House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This place is beyond incredible. Wonderful, warm, courteous staff. I felt like I was staying with a close family friend. Great food: my dietary restrictions were accommodated no problem. Some highlights were the warm, fluffy, and flakey, home made biscuits, scones (I don't even like scones), and other Italian pastries that are better than some of the best bakeries where i'm from in South Philly.The room was clean, and welcoming. This picture perfect scene is just a few blocks from the beach and down the street from the mall. Beach bums, make sure you set your waterproof watches for 4:30 and don't miss out on that tea time for a delicious snack. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, NJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

After a long miserable winter and way too many late nights at the office, a long weekend at The Dormer House was exactly what the doctor ordered. It's a charming beautiful old Victorian furnished comfortably and appropriately. The location cannot be beat! It's a 3 block walk from the ocean and a 3 block walk to the shops/restaurants on Washington Street. Lucille & Dennis, the owners, were friendly and helpful without being the slightest bit intrusive.

The Commodore John Jacoby Suite was as charming in person as in the pictures but much lighter and even more spacious than anticipated. The sitting area was a very useful and the bed was heavenly comfort! I haven't slept so well in ages!! Everything was immaculately clean. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Loved having a room facing Franklin Street and Columbia Avenue and hearing the horse and carriages g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexiBelleville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakedapple, Manager at The Dormer House, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Oh my goodness, thank you so much! It means so much to us that you had a memorable time here at our B&B. It was definitely a long winter so it is nice to have the season going again with the warm weather! Thank you again for your feedback and looking forward to seeing you again.

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#9 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dormer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Property: The Dormer House
Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May
The Dormer House Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing