We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just love Cape May and this hotel is smack dab in the center of everything!
The rooms are clean and comfortable, the free breakfast is excellent and the staff are polite, professional and friendly!
My dog JoJo gave it 2 paws up and made allot of new friends over the Easter weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We had to travel to Cape May to handle some business ( it's April and no one is around). Stopped at MDL Hotel to see if we could get a room for one night (6 April) for both of us and our small canine family member. No problem - we got a clean, comfortable room (albeit small), nicely appointed, convenient for our needs and reasonably priced. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank redflstfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We got a great room on first level with porch and rocking chairs, although our room was very small, this compensated for it. Great breakfast included and lobby full of antiques and character. very nice and nice caretakers - i.e. i forgot my computer charger and they mailed it back to me.

Room Tip: any room is good as each has a porch with rocking chairs. nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fayez l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel in which we normally stay in Cape May, was booked, so we stayed here. When I entered the room, the first thing I thought was that it was cute, BUT I expected so much more. It was quite outdated, especially the bathroom. There were not enough outlets in the room, and the heater was very loud, and when it was turning off there would be a clicking sound that woke me up. We did have a nice view and even though it was cool, my husband and I sat out on our 2nd floor balcony. Breakfast was included, which was very nice and we enjoyed that. They allow pets, and what is good is the fact that the first floor is where they set aside 17 rooms for those taking their pets. The price for off season was still kind of steep, so I really don't think we would that we would reconsider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We found this to be the ideal location for the Jazz Festival last November, and are staying here again for the Jazz Festival the end of May. We most recently stayed for the wine school weekend in February.

If you park in the main parking lot, there is a gentle ramp to the lobby level. From there, there are two elevators available to take you to your floor. If you have strollers, wheeled luggage, are using the luggage carts, or just have trouble with stairs, this is great. Many of the hotels in Cape May, even with several stories, do not have elevators.

If you have limited mobility, there is at least one true ADA apartment with a roll-in shower. Otherwise, the only limitation would be getting into a 10 inch high tub to use the shower (ours had a grab bar).

Outstanding ocean front views, central location, ample parking, great breakfast buffet, clean, comfortable and convenient. First floor pet friendly. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We always stay on the new sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ontheway2cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I needed a long weekend vacation and this hotel was one of the few on the beach and with a restaurant that was available and the off-season rate was very reasonable. we were on the third floor with a king bed. the room was nice, tho I have to admit I'd be hesitant to pay the in-season rate. we appreciated the built in cubby shelves in the closet and good amount of shelf space in the bathroom. we didn't make a lot of plans for this trip and relied on the front desk staff to direct us to restaurants and bars open in January (we didn't anticipate so many would be closed) and got great recommendations/directions. sure, it's an old place with its quirks but that's what you get with historic inns. If you want to be directly on the beach in cape may you're going to get the noise from the road and nearby bars, esp if your room is on a lower floor. it would have bummed me out if staff hadn't been nice, as stated in other reviews and am glad we didn't have that problem!

Room Tip: if you're sensitive to noise get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank egr2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This place is weird. The guy at the desk was really negative and the room had water dripping from the ceiling. The view was nice, but the room was small and I didn't sleep well in the bed. It's also overpriced. I've stayed in small beach motels for less money that were better maintained. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Clem5977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#16 of 37 in Cape May
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2402
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £114 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis de Lafayette is a premier hotel centrally located in America's original sea side resort. Our property is directly across the street from Cape May's amazing beach and within walking distance to Cape May's famous Washington Street Mall. Breakfast is served every morning in our restaurant 501 Beach, lunch & cocktails served daily at our poolside Barefoot Bar (in season), 1 Parking permit is provided for each room reserved. We are the pet friendliest hotel in Cape May with 17 Pet Friendly rooms! Reservations including pets may only be reserved directly through the hotel (NOT ONLINE) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing