We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Macomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Macomber
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Macomber this year. The hotel had the best location and we loved it! We will definitely return to this hotel again!!! Very clean and quaint. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Macomber
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend. We stayed in one of the smallest rooms, as that was all that was available, but seeing as we spent very little time in our room, that didn't matter too much. I loved the location, as it was walking distance to the mall and beach. On site parking is a definite plus.
The walls are very thin; we heard our neighbor's conversations. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and the bathroom door didn't close properly.
Overall, I would stay here again because of its location and affordability.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paws0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I first stayed at the Macomber in July of last year. My best friend and I were looking to get away for the weekend. After searching many shore towns and many hotels, we came across the Macomber. The price was unbelievable for a hotel directly across from the beach and in the middle of summer. We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned this summer with a third friend. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is superb. There is a breakfast place downstairs, an excellent pizza place around the corner (Lou's, I think it's called) and it's within walking distance of everything. We parked the car when we got there and moved it when we left. (comes in handy when you're bar hopping on Beach Ave - just sayin'...) All in all, I love this hotel and I cannot say enough about it. I would definitely stay here again. Can't wait for next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugrbear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

love this old historic hotel
great price and location
comfortable and clean
friendly and helpful staff
great restaurant
front porch is fabulous

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife, niece and I stayed here for 3 nights. The location is excellent and the staff was nice but the room was old, dated and cramped. We had a double and a single bed and was difficult for 3 adults to stay there comfortably especially with the funky smell. The door to the bathroom didn't work appropriately and the cheap wicker furniture needs to be replaced. Everything from the bedding to the towels and any clothes left in the room was damp all weekend. We realize that this place is directly across the street from the beach but $220 per night for this room was highway robbery. No breakfast is offered. In a town full of B&B's you'd think they at least offer cup of coffee and a muffin. Cheap and non existent toiletries were ridiculous. No shampoo in the shower, really!! And noisy - people partied outside our room until early in the morning. There is no way to complain because the front desk is not staffed from 9 PM to 9 AM. People in Cape May are just plain rude.. When driving no one lets you merge in front of them and everyone pulls out front of you. No one is polite on the streets. Kids don't hold the door for elderly. Adults will just cut in front of you in line and push you out of the way on the sidewalk. Learn some manners and relax. This is supposed to be a vacation destination. Do yourself a favor and stay in one of the wonderful B&Bs in Cape May. They at least know how to treat someone on vacation. Remember that it is $5 per person per day to go to the beach and the restaurant food is expensive and average at best.

Tip: Order food from Lucky Bones restaurant:, find a dead end street on the water and enjoy your meal in a gazebo at one of the small parks.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toughnlcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here the first weekend in August. Room was on the small side, (bathroom too) but super-clean and graciously furnished. (new fixtures in bathroom) Location across the street from the beach can't be beat. Although there was no work going on during our stay, the town is building a new convention center
across the street, which looks like it has the potential to be quite noisy.
Close to great restaurants as well,
including the one in the hotel,
which was delicious (byob was a
plus). Lobby was charming, and
staff members were pleasant and
courteous. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingmama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Hotel is located right on the beach and is also just a few blocks from the center of town. Just like the rest of the Hotels and B&B's in Cape May, this Hotel is old and historic. It is a 3 story Hotel without an elevator, so if you are staying on the 3rd floor (like we did) be prepared for a workout from the steps (not that bad though). Hotel staff was great, room nice and clean, and a nice big porch to sit on. Would definitley reccommend because the LOCATION is PERFECT!!!

Room Tip: Book room 1 or 2 and you will have a private balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 37 in Cape May
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#21 of 37 in Cape May
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Address: 727 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2464
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £101 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Macomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May
Hotel Macomber Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing