We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Macomber
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Virginia Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$155
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcott(Cape May)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sea Crest Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
58
92
40
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
92
40
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorunion park restaurantacross the streetfront porchbagel shopconvention centertop floorrocking chairscozy hotelsmall tvmy husband and ipeople watchmini golfwater pressurerestaurants and shoppingthe jersey shoreon site parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Macomber this year. The hotel had the best location and we loved it! We will definitely return to this hotel again!!! Very clean and quaint. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend. We stayed in one of the smallest rooms, as that was all that was available, but seeing as we spent very little time in our room, that didn't matter too much. I loved the location, as it was walking distance to the mall and beach. On site parking is a definite plus.
The walls are very thin; we heard our neighbor's conversations. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and the bathroom door didn't close properly.
Overall, I would stay here again because of its location and affordability.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paws0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I first stayed at the Macomber in July of last year. My best friend and I were looking to get away for the weekend. After searching many shore towns and many hotels, we came across the Macomber. The price was unbelievable for a hotel directly across from the beach and in the middle of summer. We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned this summer with a third friend. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is superb. There is a breakfast place downstairs, an excellent pizza place around the corner (Lou's, I think it's called) and it's within walking distance of everything. We parked the car when we got there and moved it when we left. (comes in handy when you're bar hopping on Beach Ave - just sayin'...) All in all, I love this hotel and I cannot say enough about it. I would definitely stay here again. Can't wait for next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugrbear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

love this old historic hotel
great price and location
comfortable and clean
friendly and helpful staff
great restaurant
front porch is fabulous

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife, niece and I stayed here for 3 nights. The location is excellent and the staff was nice but the room was old, dated and cramped. We had a double and a single bed and was difficult for 3 adults to stay there comfortably especially with the funky smell. The door to the bathroom didn't work appropriately and the cheap wicker furniture needs to be replaced. Everything from the bedding to the towels and any clothes left in the room was damp all weekend. We realize that this place is directly across the street from the beach but $220 per night for this room was highway robbery. No breakfast is offered. In a town full of B&B's you'd think they at least offer cup of coffee and a muffin. Cheap and non existent toiletries were ridiculous. No shampoo in the shower, really!! And noisy - people partied outside our room until early in the morning. There is no way to complain because the front desk is not staffed from 9 PM to 9 AM. People in Cape May are just plain rude.. When driving no one lets you merge in front of them and everyone pulls out front of you. No one is polite on the streets. Kids don't hold the door for elderly. Adults will just cut in front of you in line and push you out of the way on the sidewalk. Learn some manners and relax. This is supposed to be a vacation destination. Do yourself a favor and stay in one of the wonderful B&Bs in Cape May. They at least know how to treat someone on vacation. Remember that it is $5 per person per day to go to the beach and the restaurant food is expensive and average at best.

Tip: Order food from Lucky Bones restaurant:, find a dead end street on the water and enjoy your meal in a gazebo at one of the small parks.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toughnlcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews