We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be back”
Review of Hotel Macomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Macomber
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Trooper, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wont be back”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place was deplorable. Walls are paper thin you get no sleep. There is noone attending the desk at night to complain to. We had no curtain, shade or frosted glass on our bathroom window which looked into the shower. When we asked for them to put a shade up we were told that they were supposed to fix it weeks ago but must have forgotten. The woman at the desk got thumb tacks and a curtain out of another room and thumbtacked a curtain up. Said maintenance would be in the next day to fix it.. they did not. Wifi goes down constantly. The entire building is set on either heat or air. It was set on heat and it was 78 degrees outside. When we complained about being hot we were told to open the window...which one was broken and would not stay up. Got no sleep and left at seven am and noone was at the desk to check us out. Wont be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcnuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal H, Owner at Hotel Macomber, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We want your stay with us to be as relaxing and carefree as possible. I'm sorry to hear this was not your experience during your vacation to Cape May. I apologize for the lack of privacy in your bathroom. Even though we managed a quick-fix, it is inexcusable for the curtains to have been missing in the first place, and maintenance should have been much more attentive to the problem, not only in the bathroom but with the broken window and heating issue as well. While we aren't the typical 24-7 service hotel, I apologize there was no one immediately available when you needed front desk service. Despite your first impression, I know we are capable of providing a much more high quality standard of hospitality. I hope you will reconsider and give us a second chance to prove what we are capable of.

Best wishes,
Crystal, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    84
    38
    22
    21
See reviews for
38
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camden, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The room was very clean, however after spending the night walking around town we returned to find we had no hot water in the shower, from our wlak we were cold and a luke warm shower was not a lot of fun, we checked at the front desk but no one was available to remedy the problem, next morning after 9:00 AM no one was at the frint desk again so we told someone from the cleaning staff, that night the problem was fixed and we enjoyed a nice warm shower as the night was cold again from our walk on the Wildwood boardwalk. Overall we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hank88e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is an older hotel, so small rooms and bathrooms should be expected. Walls are pretty thin, and amenities aren't the greatest. There are definitely lots of steps, and parking can be an issue when they are busy. The location is great though, right across from convention hall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple-of-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

There are a lot of stairs, which they warn you of. I loved most things, it was old, so you expect small rooms and bathrooms, thin wall etc. So this comes as no surprise. I loved the location, room was so cute, towel animals everyday, felt like I was on a cruise! Everyone soo nice and sweet. The only downfall was it was a very warm night, they had the unit set on heat only, and we could not change it to fan or cold, so it was hot in the room, and we went to bed (flat sheet on bottom too, hate that) and the mattress had a plastic cover, it was like sleeping in a sauna that first night. (I have lung issues and cannot sleep with windows open at night) also the coffee pot was out the first morning but put up on sat morning(off season trip) when the coffee shop out front was open, $6 for 2 cups of coffee..

Room Tip: No pool accidentally hit that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have stayed here for years, and although there are a LOT of stairs, this hotel provides good basic rooms without much frills. You have to know which rooms to book or you might get a tiny space. The bathrooms are small and bare bones. But it is immediately across from the beach and the only real "boardwalk" area that has food and other stores. I like this beach spot because you can run back to your room for use of the bathroom, and you have food easily accessible from the beach. The restaurant at the hotel is top-notch high end, and great. You can also eat outside on the porch.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lawgalcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
242 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I liked everything about this hotel, except the bed (Room 21). Seems some other reviewers were happy with their beds, so I'm guessing not all have rock hard mattresses. My 14 year old daughter, who could sleep anywhere, complained about the bed too. Other than the bed, the room was simple, but very clean and comfortable given this is a quite an old building. We did not encounter any ghostly activity. The location is quiet and right across from the beach and convention center. Short walk to shops and restaurants. The folks working at Macomber were all lovely, and go out of their way for guests.

Room Tip: No elevator, so consider how many flights you ca handle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_NJ_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

October is a perfect time to go to CM, we visited for the Halloween parade,perfect weather, a little rain but it cleared up next day,the hotel was great, nice Victorian looking clean & comfy.But Becarefu of the ghosts.they like to slam doors all through the night, and drag stuff down the hall,lolIThey mean no harm just that youll loose sleep but oh well afterall its Cape May right?I would most def come back. loved it!

Room Tip: room 10,lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longbeachdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#26 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#25 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Property: Hotel Macomber
Address: 727 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2464
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Macomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May
Hotel Macomber Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing