We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Excellent Location”
Review of The Cape Winds

The Cape Winds
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cape Winds
Ranked #37 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Value, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Cape May is a fabulous place to spend a few days, throughout the spring, summer, and fall. Cape Winds Motel is very reasonably priced and the rooms are large and clean. There is a refrigerator, but no microwave or coffee maker. But it is located just 3 blocks from the Acme supermarket. It is q quick 1.5mile drive to the Nature Conservancy lake. The lighthouse, lake, and hawk observation station is just another 1.5 miles from that. It is also a quick r=drive to Beach Road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cresskill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The ceiling must have made out of cardboard paper. We heard footsteps and conversation from upstairs. There was peculiar stench coming out of the air condition and old carpet. Extremely unpleasant employees. Never!!! Ever let your child run to the bathroom if you happen to be there after a check out. It will be considered staying the whole day. That was what I was told. It is cheap low end priced motel with owners and employees gone too far with unfairness and hostility. I am sharing with my experience with all my friends, family and co workers who are planning a short but not too pricey get away to be aware of this particular place. We've decided to move out earlier than we planned and have paid for. You get what you paid for. The worst experience at the Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Yonkers, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Not a fancy place but if your looking for a place to sleep away from it all yet in walking distance this is the place!!Nothing special at all only 1 vending machine but the place is fairly clean!I was skeptical about a motel at first but needless to say i would do it again!

Room Tip: Online every site said this place was booked,Yet our friends went down prior to us & were able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed there this w/e; all the windows were open, tried to close...handle broken. went to front desk to have it fixed. she said "take the screen out and pull it close" I tried that, it didn't work. she gave us another room. still had issue with the windows (goin to be a cold nite) I had to go outside and push the window while my wife locked them.
beds are very small.no fan in bathroom, took awhile for hot water.musty smell- left fan on all nite.
only reason we stayed there was they took a 1 nite visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here because it was relatively inexpensive by Cape May standards and it was a last minute booking. The place was terrible. It was fairly clean but the bed was really uncomfortable and old and we could hear conversations happening right next door. We could even hear coughing and sneezing. Only stay here if you absolutely have to. Location was also poor. It was right off a busy street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wunderlust2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

It's a shame this hotel doesn't get more attention. Its VERY clean, the staff are WONDERFUL (friendly, down-to-earth, happy) and accommodating. We're far enough away from the noise and we've never had noisy people either next to, or below us. It didn't matter that we were farther from the beach than many other motels. All we needed was a place to sleep, shower and relax........before going out again. We were comfortable. Our only criticisms are that the showerhead didn't spray properly, the beds were only full-size, and one of the chairs had a ripped cover...no biggie. This place is reasonable and nice for the small amount of time that we spend in our room. We like to hit the beaches and sight-see. :-)

Finally... a family-owned place that has charm, is peaceful, clean and is more realistic about its rates (it's what Cape May was like when I was a kid...before huge hotel corporations took over and charged ridiculous prices!!! If you aren't "high maintenance" (spa, pool, chocolates on the pillows), then try it for yourself! --You didn't really come to the beach just to stay inside most of the day, did you?

Room Tip: Room 10 has the bad shower nozzel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank From_our_family_to_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were looking for a place to stay overnight so we could take the first ferry in the morning on our way to Ocean City, MD. After reading the reviews on here I decided to risk it because it was cheaper, and we had no need for any amenities like beach, pool, or on-site restaurants. The young lady managing the office was super-nice, and the place was clean. That's about all I can say.

The parking lot is gravel, with no marked spaces, and guests had parked far apart, so there was no room to park when we arrived about 7 PM. The office person told us we could park in the street or a nearby lot. I was leaving valuables in the car so I waited till someone moved out, then parked.

The first reviewer on here mentioned a very strong odor of cleaner. I stayed in room #1, and this odor - fumes, actually - were extremely strong. I opened the window but then it was hot. I ended up with a huge headache from the fumes.

Some teenage boys upstairs were clattering up and down the stairs until about midnight, then again about 6 AM.

The worst part, though, was the fact that, despite charging $165 for the room, they required a separate CASH payment of $12 for each of my two girls. They did mention this upfront but I guess it didn't register that it was CASH (doesn't that sound a little shady?) and it took a chunk out of my vacation cash. This was bad enough, but even after paying the extra $24, there were only two towels (for 4 people) in the bathroom, and by the time we noticed it, the office was closed and the staff person had gone home. If it hadn't been for this towel fiasco, I probably would not have bothered to write this review. We went on our way to the ferry and Ocean City with no sleep and no showers.

I was so angry that we had been charged an extra $24 cash for two girls, and not even given towels for them, that if I'd had time I would have looked up whatever authority controls lodging in that town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#29 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.7 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#20 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#25 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buckingham Motel
Buckingham Motel
#32 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cape Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Winds

Property: The Cape Winds
Address: 810 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1645
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cape Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Winds is the place to stay in Cape May. We are located in the heart of Cape May's Historic District... an easy walk to the city's fine dining restaurants and unique shopping experience of the Washington Street Mall. Head the other way to explore the marina district... Cape May's fishing and boating center. Or enjoy a short stroll to the beaches. Park once and tour the town on the free trolley ride from the Elementary School located just across the street or rent a bike from a local shop. ​ Cape May is America's original seaside resort. With a rich history, award-winning beaches, designation as a top bird watching location, and many outstanding examples of Victorian architecture, Cape May is a charming seaside town drawing visitors from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cape Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Winds Hotel Cape May
The Cape Winds Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing