We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buttonwood Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My mom, sister and I stayed in the Sophia room. It's the one with the bathroom outside the room.

I spoke with the main office before going on my trip and they were helpful in recommending spas and restaurants. I ordered flowers and a cake for my mom's bday. These were there when we arrived and they were beautiful.

Good:
The room was beautiful, sun filled, very comfy beds.
Since the bathroom was outside the room, we were provided nice soft clean robes to wear when going from the bedroom to the bathroom.
The common areas are clean comfortable with enough seating for all the guests.
Parking was not an issue.
Breakfast was decent and was served on time.
Nice amentites - beach towels, umbrellas, insect repellant all provided in the foyer.

Not so good:
There was a sink in the room that didn't work. I gather it must have worked at some point but that space could better be used for a dresser, as there was limited storage space for our clothes.
The space were the toilet is located is very small. It's placed between the radiator and the tub. It's rather uncomfortable to sit.
The carpet that runs through the hallway and steps is dirty and old. It doses't match the rest of the home and should be updated.

Other:
Our Innkeeper was Penny but we didn't see much of her. Instead we had a stand-in Innkeeper, Lisa. Lisa was great. She was friendly, hospitable, engaging - all the great things you'd want in an Innkeeper...except that she didn't know much about Cape May (like restarants, things to do, etc). Maybe this was bc she was a standin. It wasn't too much of a big deal but it would have given her an A+ instead of an A.

I would stay here again if I went back to Cape May. Over all, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belizean_aka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I will begin with the good. The innkeeper Penny was delightful, we met a great group of people, and the inside decor was both charming and clean. The living room area is colonial, refined, and you won't find a doilie (which I actually like). The room (The Loft) was also great - it is a big room, and kept very well. The breakfast was delightful, as well. Everything was actually quite good.

However, I would like to make a reccomendation to the owners of the Inn to invest in serious landscaping. The rock parking lot has grass growing through it, there are bags of soil placed everywhere outside, the grass is overgrown, and there are huge weeds EVERYWHERE! One of the highlights of this inn is the outside area, other inns don't have such a big and beautiful space. It would have been so nice to lay outside and read one day, but that was impossible, because the yard was almost scary. Maybe this isn't a big deal to some, but when my partner and I pulled up to the building we looked up other bed & breakfast places to go to, we were on the verge of leaving until we walked inside and realized it was very nice. Actually, the landscaping is the only thing that would keep me from coming back. Don't hide a gem behind all those weeds, do something about this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Friends and I stayed at this Cape May B&B over the weekend. Our greeting by the inn keeper, Penny, was warm and welcoming. Our group of 10 took up most of the B&B and we were made to feel at home. Penny was attentive to our needs, presented a fabulous breakfast and afternoon spread and really went out of her way to make us comfortable. I highly recommend Buttonwood Manor. We are already planning our 2013 stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ias731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My boyfriend and I loved the Buttonwood Manor Bed and Breakfast so much we went back. Same wonderful service from a simply delightful innkeep. Joanna was a ray of sunshine every day and Erica's customer service is just exceptional. Again we met wonderful individuals and they happen to know a mutual friend of ours. Which led us into a interesting conversation and we just hit it off right away. Our weekend was so great we didn't even notice the so-so weather. Just that we were having a great time with great people and got some much needed R&R. I think we are going to start going twice a year now. Thinking about trying the Akwaaba Bed and Breakfast in Washington in the fall.

Room Tip: All the room are good in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The most relaxing and enchanted place ever. My boyfriend and I felt like we were visting an old friend we haven't seem in a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I absolutely adore Cape May.....so when i got there the first thing to do for me was obviously to find a decent hotel with a reasonable price.Luckily,i found what i was looking for...
And the service,housekeeping was excellent there too...My advice to ya'll whoever wants to experience all that its just the right place for you to relax in such a beautiful hot spot!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princess262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

if you are looking for a nice and affordable place to relax during a vacation , that is the best place, very pleasant staff that will greet you all the time by name, feels like home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergiu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 115 Broadway, Cape May, NJ 08204-1264
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate with a stay at Akwaaba, Buttonwood Manor. We offer guests a choice of 5 rooms, each with a private bath, and 2 suites with private bath and kitchenette's. All guests enjoy a full homemade breakfast each morning. We are located across the street from Wilbraham Park, and an 8 minute walk (.4 miles) to the beach. Shopping and restaurants are also close, 10 minutes walking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buttonwood Manor Bed And Breakfast Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing