We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing last minute vacay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have been frequenting Cape May for the past few years, we usually rent a Condo on Jackson Street that has a pool and is in the heart of everything. Because we had not planned to do a 'shore' vacation this year due to our big Disney trip in August, I decided late in May to surprise my husband and 4yr. old twins. I researched the area hotels and La Mer seemed to be available for our original short visit. When I announced the surprise my husband said 'we're only going for 3 nights', so the next day I contacted La Mer and they were very accommodating with adding 2 more nights to our stay. At check in the front desk staff was very friendly in spite of what some earlier reviews may have stated. They were quick to tell us of the hotel perks, free beach tags, Umbrellas & towels provided at the beach and a 10% breakfast discount at their poolside restaurant. The only info they did not tell us was where to get the pool side towels which was at the front office desk. The only complaint we had was that it was such a far walk (about 12 blocks) from our favorite hot dog stand Tommy's and our other favorite eateries that we loved to frequent. With 4 yr. old twins it was a tiring walk especially at the end of the night. The trolley which we used once comes every 25-30 minutes but is NEVER at the same time. So you are guessing and taking a chance when to catch it outside of the hotel. The room was very clean and provided plenty of bath towels and shampoos/ soaps, AC was very noisy but it was expected with an older hotel. A make-up remover towelette was provided which was great, but for only 2 of the 5 nights I was there :( Also wished they would have made up the rooms earlier in the day rather than at 2:30 - 3:00pm we had to hang out at the pool longer while this was being done. Overall it was a great stay and would definitely recommend staying here to friends. Possible suggestion, provide moreTrollies to accommodate guests into town and Washington Street Mall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJMomofTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you so much for the 4-star review. We feel like your review captured the very essence of what we are about -- providing great accommodations and excellent customer service. We are so happy you were satisfied with our front desk and amenities.

We will see if we can get more frequent trolley for you all!

Thanks again for the kind words and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

My family and I spent several days at the La Mer Inn. We were comfortable and had a few minor, fixable problems with our room. Each staff person I encountered was very helpful and well dressed in uniform. I really liked that there was parking just for the hotel guest around the building. The room decor was a little dated but it was clean and so was the overall appearance of the room. There is a nice pool but had short hours of operation when I was there in June; that really surprised me.

The hotel was located directly across the street from the beach on a very quiet end of town. There was a handicap boardwalk and a boardwalk area with tables right on the sand. It made for a great place to start the morning reading a paper and drinkiing coffee first thing in the morning. Overall I had a great stay at La Mer Beachfront Inn!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach not the pool, the view is much more scenic when you set on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Owner at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It really means a lot to us when we receive customer feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed the beach and had a great stay with us!

We hope to see you and your family again. Thanks again for the stellar review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a few issues at checking, we booked through Expedia and the hotel would not honor the booking but after about an hour we resolved it amicably. Fortunately they don't use Expedia any more. The room was big and well equipped, fridge, micro, some crockery and utensils, TV was nice and big but could do with getting HD cable. Only annoyance with the room was the AC, very noisy and not overly effective - we ended up turning it off over night for a quiet sleep.

Nice touches are the included beach passes, loungers and umbrellas at the beach, a nice pool, especially for kids. Place was clean and well kept and the staff very helpful. Covered parking also a plus. You are a bit out of the centre but they sell qtrs by the $10 so you can always drive and feed the meter!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This review is rated based on lodging available in Cape May. We were able to book a two night stay at La Mer last minute and stayed in a two queen room with our two children. It was actually the most reasonable accommodations I found and the inn offered far better amenities to our other choices. It is at the quieter end of town, but if we had not had young children could have walked easily towards the main area. we loved the quiet neighborhood, spacious parking lot, and less crowded beach, The beach tags and chair service were a dream come true, as it is hard enough to lug two children and all their gear to the beach. Lunch service at the beach was a little expensive but a nice treat. The pool was clean and well maintained. I saw multiple staff members sprucing up the grounds throughout our stay. Our room was well equipped and we made great use out our kitchen area. Overall it was a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Since we did not stay in the room much we went with the most reasonable room option. On the phone t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindseyWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

great place the beach tags we where a little lost on but they explained everything to us! i can't tell ya about the pool because we stayed on the beach the whole time! the guys on the beach where great got us chairs and a umbrella for us and took care of everything and the waiter from the hotels restaurant waited on us at the beach! i will be back!

Room Tip: all the beach front rooms where very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you so very much for the 5-star review! We are over-the-moon you will be coming back.

As for beach tags, as you have learned, unfortunately Cape May hotels are not allowed to pass out tags to guests.

Again, thanks you for the glowing review and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Was at La Mer for first time on Sunday-Tuesday. Could not check in until 3 PM, but could use amenities at beach (Chair, Towels and Umbrella). Directly across street from the beach, we had large room on 4th floor (adult only floor) with balcony overlooking ocean. Room has dorm size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Air conditioner was slightly noisy. Only disadvantage to this location on far side of Cape May was its distance to many restaurants and Washington Street shopping area. They do not offer beach amenties on check-out day to guests.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for 4th floor room. Ocean front is very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisaNpotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you so very much for your positive review. It truly means a lot to us when our happy guests take the time to review our Inn.

And you are right...the 4th floor is indeed nice and quiet and our oceanfront rooms are indeed relaxing!

We are over-the-moon you enjoyed your very first stay with us and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just came back from a weekend stay and it was excellent. Front desk was a little slow but once it was your turn very accommodating. Room we stayed in was spotless!!. It had a small kitchen area with a sink, micro, refrigerator, and coffee maker - again everything was super clean. Air conditioner was a little loud(not horrible) but maintained the room a constant cool temperature. Temperature was not turned down by housekeeping as in some hotels we have stayed in. Toiletries are supplied including a single pack cleansing and make-up remover towelette (excellent idea!). The hotel lends you badges for the beach and have lounge chairs with towels and umbrellas free for guest at the beach. What an excellent perk, made our vacation not having to carry everything to the beach. There are free tickets to the trolley at the front desk so it's easy to get to town. Pool area was clean and family friendly. Loved this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you so much for the amazing 5-star review!

We are thrilled you found your room spotless as we pride ourselves on heaving very clean and spacious rooms. We are also happy you took advantage of our complimentary beach amenities.

We are so happy you loved our Inn and we truly hope you come again. Thanks for the wonderfully kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Cape May
725 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#17 of 37 in Cape May
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £119 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go where the sun and sand thrive. Perched at the edge of the beach in Cape May, La Mer Beachfront Inn invites you to soak up the serene spirit of its seaside setting. Cool, ocean breezes beg for days spent lounging in the sun on the beckoning beach, just steps from the hotel's modern, cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
La Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing