We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I was looking for a quick weekend getaway and settled on La Mer Beachfront Inn. I honestly didn't know what to expect based on some of the previous reviews. Wow,,,,not sure what they are talking about. It was easy to find, location right across from beach. The front desk reception was warm , friendly and very hospitable!! We had an oceanfront room on the 4th floor. We walked into our room and were awed by how huge the room was. When you walk in you have a closet, a very large bathroom, kitchen area with cook top stove, refrigerator, microwave, sink, and all dishes, glasses and silverware. Beyond that were two queen beds with a tv, dresser. Seperating this area from the rest of the room was a half wall which on the other side had a sofa, table, chairs and another tv. The balcony had 4 plastic chairs and a small table. It was all you would really need in a hotel room!! We never heard any of the other guests in the rooms next to us and the hotel was sold out. We did not get to enjoy the pool but it looked very very nice. There is also a restaurant adjacent to the hotel that I've heard is very good but didn't get a chance to try. Every staff member we encountered was friendly. Thank you for a great stay. We look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrsyshoregrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

WOW! Thank you so very much for the 5-star review! We are so happy to hear positive feedback from our guests. We love the fact you found our rooms spacious and our staff friendly. Thanks so much for the pointing out the details in our rooms — such as our roomy rooms, kitchenettes, sofas and picture-perfect ocean views.

We also appreciate the fact you pointed out that our property (even when sold out) is tranquil, quiet and serene.

Thanks again for the amazing review and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

My department has been to La Mer 7 x now. Each year there is more and more improvements to place. In addition to the large clean rooms, we get a suite incase of rain. We rely heavly on the BBQ area as we are a group of 20+. They cater to us in many ways. We can not wait to return so we booked before we left to insure they have room for us for the FF convention in Wildwood.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice to wake up too in the am, while you drink your coffee from the in room coffee pot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Wow! We love that you have chosen to stay at the La Mer seven times in a row now! We truly appreciate our repeat customers.

Thank you for pointing out that every year, there are more improvements to our Inn. We truly work hard to exceed our guests' expectations.

Thank you again for the glowing review and we can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed at this property before in 2009. I liked it very much but I was with others. So I
decided to return ro La Mer. I booked a side view ocean room w/a king bed.
Thiis was one of the largest rooms I have ever stayed in. The wet bar, frig and
microwave really came in handy. You also have dishes, glasses and silverware.
There's an Acme(supermarket) just off Washingtom st where I stocked up on fruit,
orange juice, cereal and some frozen meals. Saved some money as the
restaurants in Cape May are pricey. The area where La Mer is on a quiet
part of town near a lot of the large mansions and B&B's. The Mansions across
the street from the hotel on Pittsburgh Av are spectacular to look at.

The beach service was a real nice touch. The fellas running it were very friendly.
To get a lounger, umbrella and towels was just great and free of charge.
Some hotels charge for this service. You can also order food and have
it brought to you. The service ran until Setpember 16.

The hotel also has free WI-FI down to the beach but the signal is not that
strong at the beach and only a little better in the hotel. I was able
to use my tablet/e-reader in my room.

I did not use the gym nor the spa.

It is a nice walk to the center of town but pleasant. Cape May has
no boardwalk but a promenade of over a mile long on Beach Ave.

Cape May is a pleasant quaint town of Victorian houses, cute boutiques
and a clean beach If you're looking for a little more excitement go to
Wildwood especially if you have children. Wildwood has a boardwalk
and amusement rides.

La Mer should:
*.advertise its free WI-FI in the rooms not just on your website but in the room.
*let guests know that dvds and cd's can be played in their room. My room had 2 tv's
one allowed you play your dvds and cd's.
*in addtion to the regular housekeeping, wipe down the bath room door. my door
*had some small stains...nothing major but a wipe down wouldnt hurt.
*upgrade their balcony furniture.. there are resins that are much more
substanital and better looking.
*realize the african americans do travel and like nice accomodations as well
one tip: the bathroom light is the blue sensor not the flipswitch

Room Tip: The rooms on Pittsburgh Ave may be a side view oif the ocean but a nice view of 2 mansions and a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked in september. Rate is reduced. Weather was 85 degrees and sunny. The hotel offers beach service which entails lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels. A real pleasure and perk. Note: beach service ends sometime in september so check that before you book.
The restaurant on premise The Pier House offers high end cuisine. Service excellent.
Bit of a walk to town, transport to town had ended a week prior. But definitely doable. Ate at The Lobster House- my favorite. Check out back of restaurant for indoor and out door service.
Back to la mer-- room was pool and side ocean view. Very pleased. Bathrooms clean but need update soon. I will book
this again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was our first time staying at La Mer and we were very pleased with our stay. We never stayed at this end of Cape May before, but we enjoyed this quiet end of town.

We had an Oceanfront Large Efficiency room on the fourth floor. We loved having the extra room to spread out. The queen beds were very comfortable; the bathroom was quite large and there was plenty of counter space for all our toiletries. It was nice to have two closets in the room - we stored out beach gear and luggage in one and our clothes in the other. There was also lots of drawers available for our clothes. It was also great to have an ironing board and iron available for our use. Another nice feature of the room: there is a little panel near the door where you can push a button to alert the maid to either clean your room or not to be disturbed. Clever idea - we never saw that feature before in any of the hotels we've stayed at.

The kitchen area was very nice but counter space is very limited. It was OK for us, as we only used the kitchen to make breakfeast but if you really wanted to make a meal you might be hard pressed to find room. There wasn't alot of space between the sink and the counter top stove to prepare food. The living room sofa (which was a sleep sofa) was extremely comfortable. More than once I stretched out to read a book and ended up taking a nap instead. It was also nice to have a second TV in the living room. I like to stay up late at night and my husband was able to sleep in the bedroom without being disturbed.

The pool area was very nice and very clean. Since it was off season, we had no problem finding a lounge chair but I imagine during the peak season it may be difficult. There were also four or five tables with umbrellas as well as umbrellas scattered around some lounge chairs for shade.

Although we didn't partake in the beach service, the hotel does provide lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels right on the beach. We always bring our own but for those who don't have their own, or don't want to lug it to the beach, this is a wonderul service.

Parking is almost all undercover - which is great on a hot, sunny day or especially if it's raining. There are also several bike racks in different locations (undercover!).

All the employee's we encountered - from the maids, to the maintenance staff, to the front desk were all very nice and courteous. The front desk people were especially friendly; sadly that has not always been the case in other hotels we've stayed at.

The landscaping on the property was especially lovely! We enjoyed watching the many butterflies and dragonflies we saw everyday flying around.

Just a few MINOR gripes and a tip:

1. The air conditioning unit IS loud and would click off and on constantly, sometimes every five minutes, other times only every half hour. It never bothered us or woke us up but if you're a light sleeper it may be bothersome.

2. We wanted to leave the sliding glass door from the balconey opened at night to enjoy the fresh sea breeze but there is no screen on the door. We decided to take a chance one night and left the door open. My husband was awakened in the middle of the night by a huge insect flying around the room. We still have no idea what kind of insect it was; we'd never seen anything like it but thankfully he was able to dispose of it. After that we never opened the door at night again. Very disappointing that there is no screen to safely enjoy the fresh air.

TIP: The hair dryer in the bathroom isn't the most powerful. I have short, fine hair and it never takes me long to dry it, but if you have long and/or thick hair you may want to bring your own dryer.

To sum it up - the pool and property and very clean and well maintained. The room was spotless and the employee's were all friendly and courteous. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return next year!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have two boys, 2 & 3 years old. We had a Large Oceanfront Efficiency room with two queen size beds. There was so much room for the kids to run around, which they need at this age, so we loved that aspect. The bed situation worked fine for us (we brought a pack and play for our little one). Our mattresses were fine, though i talked to a woman who said hers was like cement. However, no one else she had talked to, including me, had a problem with their mattresses. The air conditioning unit was very loud; if youre a light sleeper, it may be a problem. There was lots of closet space - two big closets - and lots of drawer & cabinet space. The closet right inside the front door was pefect for sandy toys - no dragging sand into the room. Kitchen area was nice and bathroom was spacious. The room was very clean and the maid service was very good. The one significantly negative thing about the room (only if you have toddlers or small children) is the door lock situation. The lock to the bathroom was a push button; one of my kids must have pushed the button then pulled the door shut, so we were locked out of the bathroom. Fortunately, my 2 year old was not in there. And on the positive side, maintence came to open the door in less than a minute. Thats probably something that could happen anywhere. The bigger problem was the door to the room itself. It was one of those dead bolt locks that you could unlock from the inside by just pulling on the lever-style door handle. Several times we had to stop our 2 year old son from wandering out into the hallway. We remedied the situation by putting the pack-n-play and/or suitcases in front of the door. If the hotel would like to be more family-friendly, they should install chain or some other type of locks higher up on the door. The pool was perfect as it had a large, gated-off, one-foot deep section. The rest of the pool was 3'-5' deep, so it was easy to play with our little boys in that section, too. Getting pool towels was a little inconvenient, as you had to go across the parking lot to the front desk. There is a nice grill if you want to cook while you're there. As far as hotel location, we preferred being a little bit away from all the action. With our little ones, it just seemed calmer and easier. We felt like it was perfect and were happy with our decision. The hustle & bustle and walking access to all the stuff in town may be great several years down the road, but for now, we loved the location of la mer. And it only took a minute or two to drive to everything anyway. I loved Cape May and la mer was a great place to stay. It is very nice but not super luxurious, so manage your expectations. Though it was a little pricey ($380/night, even after Labor Day), I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The room - spotless clean. Hats off to the cleaning staff. The feature of being able to go to the beach hands free with someone to set up a lounge chair, umbrella and very clean towels was wonderful. What a plus. My only complaint -- please have the restaurant do something about their exhaust system. It is too noisy and they definitely should be able to do something about it. We were in a room very close so the noise did bother us when sitting out on the balcony. Other than that -- another perfect stay! Keep up your high standards, La Mer. You are the best in Cape May. Wouldn't stay any place else.

Room Tip: Staying in the area near the restaurant can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitzmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Owner at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Thank you so very much the glowing review! We are over-the-moon you always choose to stay with us when visiting Cape May. We love that you found our room spotless, our beach amenities an added bonus and our standards as high. We will look into the exhaust system as per your request. Again, thank you for the amazingly kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
729 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £120 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go where the sun and sand thrive. Perched at the edge of the beach in Cape May, La Mer Beachfront Inn invites you to soak up the serene spirit of its seaside setting. Cool, ocean breezes beg for days spent lounging in the sun on the beckoning beach, just steps from the hotel's modern, cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
La Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing