We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing at the La Mer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here from Oct. 19-21 to visit my brother who lives in Rio Grande, NJ. This hotel is wonderful from the moment you step inside. The front desk staff was super kind and welcoming. Our room was large, ocean view, mini kitchen, and nice size bathroom. The bed was large and the pillows were good. The hotel is not in the center of the town and for us that was appealing as it was quiet and relaxing at night. We are already thinking of visiting and staying at the La Mer again!

Room Tip: Booking "off season" helps to save a bunch of money. Also, you may want to ask to have a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Outstanding stay once again. Large, clean room. Comfortable bed. Refrigerator, microwave in room. We had a king bed/side ocean view which was wonderful. Balcony overlooked Pittsburgh Avenue. Only complaint was when trying to book online, kept getting an error requesting a minimum stay of 4 nights. All other rooms that were available, including 2 queen full ocean view had no minimum. I called the hotel and was able to book direct for the amount of nights we wanted. I felt it was very strange as there were vacancies the entire length of our stay. I hope the minimum night stay was some sort if an error and not something that is going to be the norm.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tara65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you so very much for the 5-star review! We are so happy to hear you are a repeat customer and enjoy our large, clean rooms, comfy beds and amenities. As for the booking online glitch, we will look into this issue. Again, thanks so much for the amazing feedback. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. Our room had a great view of the ocean and was clean and comfortable. We had a great stay and look forward to staying here the next time we want to visit beautiful Cape May.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our stellar views and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We are over-the-moon you plan on staying with us once again when you come to visit gorgeous Cape May. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

this is the second time here and would stay again. Very clean rooms and good ocean view. however when we called to book the room we felt that rthey would rather have us do it online than have to speak to us. i like human interaction. It kind of makes me feel good and my reservation is confirmed. I would recommand this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: try a blue wing room 3rd floor for the full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 06jobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We are so happy you chose to stay with us during your second visit to Cape May and are truly thankful for your 4-star review. We will be sure to share your sentiment with our Front Desk as we encourage telephone reservations. Lastly, thank you for recommending us to your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I should have entitled my review "you get what you paid for" or "we wish we knew the truth" - whichever is the case. We went to Cape May at the end of September. Past beach time - it was rather cold even to go to the outdoor heated pool. In other words, we are out of season . The prices at this hotel are very high so we decided to save some (not too much though) and booked a partial ocean view room. The partial ocean view was actually a full view of the next door building, so close that we felt like a wall obstructing our window. True, if you go on the balcony, and go the one end of it you can see a patch of ocean through the narrow space between the hotel and the other building. If we only knew...as we really love the ocean. In all fairness, the hotel looks great and the room was large, great decorum, great bedding, clean, fresh, all you need to feel at home. The breakfast is not included and it is served in a restaurant next to the hotel with a discount for the guests. We skipped it - went for breakfast in town, which is a wonderful place to be. Parking is free, on premises.
This hotel is too good to practice this kind of deception. Please let the people know what to expect and if you do not have customers for the non-view rooms, just really reduce the price and I am sure you will.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for the 4-star review! We try to make it clear that our partial ocean view rooms are limited and will make an effort to emphasize this notion via our website. Thank you for the feedback! We hope you choose to stay with us again -- and go for the unobstructed ocean view rooms:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here this past weekend because of the price and the minimum nights allowed. Despite it being a holiday weekend, they only required a 2 night minimum unlike most hotels in CM who wanted 3 nights. The front staff was very pleasant. The room was beautiful and spacious. A lot of closet space - which was great for my wedding dress and bridal party dresses. We were able to get ready in the room and had enough space. The ocean view was spectacular. Shower was clean, room was clean. The kitchenette was decently sized. My new husband and I agreed that we want to come back for our year anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahlin43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you so very much for the amazing 5-star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your spectacular, once-in-a-lifetime wedding weekend. We are over-the-moon you found our rooms beautiful and spacious -- and most importantly, clean. We hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was a great hotel. Staff was very nice, and the room was very clean. The first thing we always do is check for bed bugs, and they even had a plastic mattress cover. So that was very nice. There was only 1 bad review that we saw, and it involved a piece of clothing on the floor. I don't believe it for a second.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you so much for the glowing 5-star review! We love that you found our staff very nice and our rooms very clean. We pride ourselves on being spic and span, as our owner is a stickler for cleanliness! We hope to see you again and again, thank you for the lovely, kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.3 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £107 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go where the sun and sand thrive. Perched at the edge of the beach in Cape May, La Mer Beachfront Inn invites you to soak up the serene spirit of its seaside setting. Cool, ocean breezes beg for days spent lounging in the sun on the beckoning beach, just steps from the hotel's modern, cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
La Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing