We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very pleased!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my 1st time staying in Cape May and chose La Mer after finding them on booking.com to head to the shore last minute after a rainy week and needing someone sunshine! Before reserving through the booking.com website, I called the reservation # directly at the hotel as I had some specific questions about location of the rooms after reading other visitor reviews. Valerie in reservations was absolutely outstanding! She answered my questions, waited for me to book through booking.com (since she could not offer the lower rate booking.com was offering) and also made sure my request for top floor and full balcony were met!
We arrived wayyyy before check in (3pm), front desk took my cell #, gave me beach tags and called us when the room was ready.
I was super pleasantly surprised to learn that they provide beach lounge chairs, umbrellas and beach towels on the beach as part of your stay at their hotel!
Front desk associates were pleasant and informative.
Had breakfast (take out) the next morning at the on-site restaurant. Food was terrific and not overly priced as many beach resort town restaurants tend to be.
The only complaint (if you want to call it that) was the very, very, very limited room service food menu! Only offering fruit and cheese platters as the choice. Surprising for a hotel with an onsite restaurant. However if you want beer and wine that is available for room delivery.
Would ABSOLUTELY return to this hotel! A+++++++ for my 1st experience in Cape May!

Room Tip: Top floor and request full balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    229
    45
    32
    43
See reviews for
267
262
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Clean, updated, hotel located right on the beach with great amenities. Our family of 4 spent 2 days and 1 night here in June 2014 and it was great. Room had a small kitchen which is great. They provide complimentary chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Food and drink service for the beach and pool. (Bar service at pool too!). We will return here (and we've stayed at Congress Hall...which is also great, but this has better value).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Schnook0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our first time visiting Cape May, and we sure picked the right place to stay! This is a wonderful hotel that is conveniently located across the street from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and shopping! The staff are very helpful and the rooms are extremely clean! We enjoyed the beautiful heated pool and having a great view of the beach from our balcony. The hotel provides free beach tags and chairs for use on the beach which is another plus!
Also, eating outside at The Pier House restaurant (which is connected to the hotel) was delightful for breakfast! Looking forward to going back for another stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryEllen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We picked this hotel based on price and availability, and were not sure what to expect. We were beyond impressed!! Our room which was meant to have no view, actually did, so we enjoyed some time on the patio looking at the ocean. The rooms were clean and well equipped, and the staff were most friendly. Breakfast at their restaurant, The Pier House, is a must-have! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room away from the pool area unless the sounds of children don't bother y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the La Mer to attend my mother's memorial service. The staff was so kind, especially under the circumstances. The facilities were top-notched. Very clean. Very courteous. We'll definitely stay there again when we are in the area

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room and we could see it clearly from our balcony. Other places that say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtInNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel numerous times and liked it. This last trip was booked and my Husband torn his ACL in his knee and we had to cancel because he needed surgery. They would not give us a refund because it was not 14 days. We had just made the reservations the week before. Very disappointing. We will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Much more than your average seashore hotel/motel. Let me count the reasons for you:

EXcellent location on Ocean Drive away from the busy hub bub of the center of town near the arcade and convention center, but still just a few blocks walk or bike there.

Lovely light yellow and blue decor throughout the hotel and the outside too.

Plenty of inside and outside parking.

Right across the street from the beach. A heated pool is front and center too with plenty of lounge chairs.

Family friendly so bring those kids!

Free beach chairs and umbrella's to use but a tip is to ask for them as you check in. We had to keep asking for them as the demand was high.

Free beach tags to use.

A wonnnnnnnderful restaurant right on site serviing breakfast, lunch and dinner too. Check out my review of the Pier House, you will be impressed with it too.

Here is a special tip if you are traveling with another couple as we were: Ask for rooms 462 and 461 which are at the end of the building and hall but have their own private double door access. The rooms are very spacious, well appointed and 462 has a huge outside seating area with a large cocktail table and chairs to boot. The residential area view is fun to watch at morining and cocktail hour time.

This is a well run, well located professional and lovely hotel you will defintiely be pleased with if you stay there. Give the La Mer a try, it truly has more!

Room Tip: See tip on rooms 462 and 461 in the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Property: La Mer Beachfront Inn
Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go where the sun and sand thrive. Perched at the edge of the beach in Cape May, La Mer Beachfront Inn invites you to soak up the serene spirit of its seaside setting. Cool, ocean breezes beg for days spent lounging in the sun on the beckoning beach, just steps from the hotel's modern, cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
La Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing