We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great hotel on the beach. Very clean. A little pricy, but it's the season in the area. Very good service. Excellent service providing chairs, towels and umbrella at the beach. A little loud. Air conditioner was very loud when it came on. But very good place - we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kib57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Wow! Thank you so very much for the kind and generous review. We are thrilled to see you found our Inn as a great hotel — clean, comfortable and staffed with warm individuals. And thank you for sharing the insight we provide convenient beach amenities. Again, thank you for the stellar review. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    217
    40
    29
    36
See reviews for
250
243
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
L'Assomption, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family and I really enjoyed ourselves! The staff was amazing and the Inn itself was very ,very clean,thanks to the fantastic housekeeping ladies!
The only thing that I wasn`t excited about was that I had to cross a very busy street to get to the beach,which was quite a trek.Also, the noise level was pretty high on our last two nights. You can hear everything in the hall ways,some rowdies on our floor and the neighbors next door with all their children. Like any Hotel, you can`t choose your neighbors!
FYI: there is beach service, show your badge and you get lounging chairs,towels and an umbrella, all is taken away at 5 p.m. We decided not to use this service,we like to stay on the beach longer. Great staff working hard to keep all beach-goers satisfied!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
WOW! Thank you so very much for the lovely review. We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed yourselves while in gorgeous Cape May.We are thrilled to read you found our staff professional and warm. Again, thank you for the stellar review. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We love this place, this will be our 4th year! We missed last year but won't next year! It is a bit pricey but worth every penny! Right in front of the beach it has an old school / heritage neighborhood feel to it:) no more carrying chairs and umbrellas w us! They provide it all on the beach, the service is great and this year they added private tent cabanas w wooden floors... Heavenly! Just far enough from the crowd to be quiet w the family:) great rooms especially the ocean view ones! Worth saving for! The staff on the beach and the front desk were so nice and helpful! Love it! Can't wait till next year:)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank BijouBlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
We love that you find that our Inn just keeps getting better. We truly strive to meet and exceed your expectations and your review is indicative that we are going in that direction. So thank you for the feedback. And, yes, our beach services do make going to the ocean far more convenient. Again, thank you for the stellar review. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
274 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is our third time staying at the La Mere and we are a little surprised at how loud the hotel has become. The last two times we stayed here we don't remember there be an issue with noise so we are a little upset. We asked to be moved so we will get back to you and tell you how accommodating the hotel was. Otherwise the rooms are clean, the bathrooms are clean, the towels nice and white. The pool and beach towels leave a little bit to be desired so bring your own. There is spa on premises along with a small restaurant and bar with overpriced under flavored drinks. The rooms are big and ok decorated, nice for the shore. Good for the money!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodlebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for the 4-star review! We truly appreciate your kind words. We're sorry you experienced any loud noise and we're glad you brought it to our attention.

We are thrilled you find our rooms clean, experienced our new spa and are a repeat customer.

Again, thank you so much for the stellar review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband took me here for my birthday weekend. It was a beautiful hotel, the location was great and since we checked in off season the price was pretty decent. The staff however was kinda cold not really all that friendly or helpful. But I wanted to make the most of it. Our room was clean and the view was very pretty.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace_Routhier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
WOW! Thank you for the amazing review and we are so happy you chose to stay with us during your birthday weekend. We are ecstatic you found your room clean and pretty.

As for your insight into our staff, we will be certain to address the issue.

Thanks again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel! It's a bit expensive (maybe overpriced) but the location is great, rooms are clean, bed is comfy! They provided us with a pull-out sofa and a crib at no expense. Balcony is large - perfect to enjoy the evening out there with a glass of wine!
PRO'S - they have beach service - so if you stay here you dont need to pay extra for chairs, umbrella or towels - they are included in the stay! There is also a Mediterranean restaurant on the ground floor with a nice terrace to eat outside.
One con - we stayed for 2 nights and NOBODY cleaned our room, changed towels or made the bed. Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Awesome! Thanks so very much for the 4-star review.

We are so happy you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We are thrilled you enjoyed our beach services. And we're ecstatic you enjoyed our on-site restaurant, The Pier House.

As for our rates, we are a seasonal resort and offer the same pricing as our competitors. And thank you for the insights — we will be sure to share with our staff.

Again, thank you so much for the stellar review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We drove down to Cape May and had no idea about where to stay, the staff was very courteous, helpful, and friendly! They attended to our every need and left no question unanswered . I would stay here again and recommend staying here. Beach service, dining ,swimming, it's a vacation in itself! Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We love a solid 5-star review!

We are thrilled you found our Inn as the perfect peaceful escape. We are always ecstatic when our guests find our staff courteous, helpful and warm.

Thank you for the stellar review and we are so happy you discovered our property. We welcome you back with open arm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#14 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Property: La Mer Beachfront Inn
Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
La Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing