We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mer Beachfront Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$260
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Periwinkle Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motor Lodge(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest Inn(Cape May)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
357
241
50
34
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
241
50
34
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspier houseocean frontacross the streetbeach tagsoceanfront roomcovered parkingfront desk stafffull ocean viewquiet endfull size refrigeratoroff seasonbeach avenuemini kitchenon site restaurantlounge chairscoffee makerbeach access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We spent 3 nights in late August. The guy who took my reservation was very helpful. I wanted a room with as much privacy as possible. Our DD has Asperger's, and can have serious meltdowns.

Our room was on the 4th floor with partial ocean view. Since we must go back to our room for quiet time for DD, I found the large size, the deck with ocean view, and amenities just what we needed.

The corner of Pittsburgh and Ocean Ave is somewhat noisy if you are sensitive to sound, but bearable. It was nice to listen to the surf when there was no traffic. Also, as is stated elsewhere, Pittsburgh Ave is further down the beach. It made for a hike to the center of the "action", I would guess about a mile. And, if you want to drive, then it takes no time at all.

Our room had a king and a pull out couch. There was a TV for the pull out, and a big screen for the king size bed. The granite counter and sink was a nice touch. As was the microwave. Bathroom was a fairly good size too.

We ended up not using the pool, so cannot comment about that.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I visited my parents for 2 nights during their vacation in Cape May. They were staying and La Mer. So, read this review with caution as I can't comment on price or value, but can certainly vouch for the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the excellent location of the hotel. We had a room with an ocean view and it was beautiful and refreshing to sit on their small balcony to drink a cup of coffee and take in the ocean air. I like that this hotel is near the end of Beach Drive and out of the hustle and bustle of the sometimes loud, overcrowded areas of the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegglesBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We vacation with two other families every year. This year, we made our first-ever trip to Cape May, and stayed at LaMer. Each family has two kids, ranging in age from 5-11, so each room had two adults and two kids.

We booked three rooms next to each other, making the reservations in March so we got a decent price on “wing building” rooms (partial ocean view – not full). Each room had two queen beds, and a seating area with a table, along with a mini-kitchenette (microwave, sink, small fridge).

The rooms were clean, and not cramped. Of course we have yet to find any hotel where the rooms look as big in person as they do in photos. We were comfortable enough for our 5 nights.

The rooms were clean, and fairly quiet. No problems at all. The hotel staff was very friendly. The in-room WiFi had problems, but there was also an Ethernet hookup, so those of us that can’t live without staying connected were safe. No smoke smell was noticeable anywhere indoors – and there’s plenty of signage indicating the building is smoke-free.

There were a few “cons” too. While the hotel is on a beautiful stretch of the beach, it’s also a bit far from many restaurants and shops, so you’ll need to use your car unless a 20-minute walk doesn’t bother you. We had breakfast at the hotel’s restaurant, and it was no more overpriced than any other Cape May restaurant. No matter where you wind up staying in Cape May bring lots of quarters with you for the parking meters!

You do have to pay to access the beaches at Cape May, but the beach tag was only $13 for the week (kids under 12 free), and can be bought right across the street from the hotel.

The hotel’s pool is a smallish, but nice. It was never very crowded, and getting lounge chairs poolside was never a problem. The one downside was that two people were smoking one day, and it was actually permitted. The same thing happened at the outdoor tables at the restaurant. You’d think that in the 21st century, a “family friendly” hotel would prohibit smoking outdoors too – not just indoors.

Overall, our stay at LaMaer was a great experience. Next time, we might stay a bit closer to the center of town, but we’d be happy to return to LaMer too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechMarcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We have called La Mer hotel to make a reservation for a couple of days. During the conversation with the reservation person, Heather, it became clear that the website of this hotel is really not representative of the current prices. When I pointed out that their website is unclear, she said: “I am sorry, you cannot read our website” and hang up! I was astounded. Here is a person calling who is ready to pay almost $600 for 2 nights and they hang up. I called back to talk to the “manager”, Kevin, and he was not any more accomodating. I can only wonder how these people will treat you when you already paid them the money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
9  Thank PAOKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We've stayed here three years in a row and always been pleased. It's a bit of a walk into town, but we don't mind that. There's a nice pool which is lacking only in the amount of shade available, and the beach is across the street. Restaurant with outdoor seating on the premises is pleasant for breakfast and lunch; haven't tried it for dinner yet. The maid service can be a bit unpredictable, coming in the morning one day, late afternoon the next.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews