We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveller rating
387
251
55
44
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
251
55
44
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspier houseocean frontacross the streetbeach tagsoceanfront roombeach servicecovered parkingfront desk stafffull ocean viewquiet endchairs and umbrellasoff seasonbeach avenuesmall balconyon site restaurantmini kitchencoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 795 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017

In Cape May for 3 days to visit grandkids. Stayed at a charming B&B last time, which worked fine for my wife and I, but not good for grandkids to come and see us. The La Mer turned out to be the perfect choice. The room was extra large with 2 big TVs, a sofa, a very nice kitchenette (microwave, cabinets, silverware and plates, regular size frig) and a nice porch with a view of ocean. The pool was great (87 degrees) and our grandkids thoroughly enjoyed it. It is located far enough away from everything to have some quiet and close enough to enjoy the fun stuff in Cape May. It has a beach access right across the street. The price was very affordable and the service was great. We will definitely return every year when we visit in Cape May. A special shout out to Randall who made us feel welcome and right at home from the very first moment of our arrival.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for the positive feedback! We are so pleased to read you experienced great service, a well-appointed room and stellar location. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We booked an ocean-view room and were not disappointed! How relaxing it was to sit on the balcony and watch the waves! The room was lovely and well-appointed with many amenities. The hotel is steps from beach access--a plus. The most formal and highest rated restaurant is right next door and a few others are also close by. The restaurant at the hotel is under renovation and wasn't open, but that didn't bother us. The hotel was quiet and peaceful, but we visited off-season. We loved the La Mer!

Room Tip: Ocean view on an upper floor--can't be beat!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JustaHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Yay! We are so pleased to read your review. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

My wife and I booked an ocean-front room the week of Sept. 10-16, 2017. When we checked in, we were informed that that was the last day La Mer would have cabanas and beach chair service, which was a major reason we had selected this hotel! They gave us a couple of broken beach chairs to haul back and forth all week. Given that, as well as the facts that they have no restaurant, no bar and it's almost a mile walk to get to restaurants in the heart of town, we definitely would have stayed elsewhere. Also, our ocean-front room overlooked a construction site. We loved Cape May! We'll most certainly come back... but we'll stay somewhere else. Not sure how they survive without a restaurant, especially so far from town.

Room Tip: East end of the ocean-front rooms overlook a large construction site
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 215Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We are so sorry for this unfortunate event during your stay. We will be certain to take your insights to management and learn from this review. Enjoy your fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We are senior citizens who had to cancel a planned trip to Cape May due to a serious injury. We visit the area often to bird watch and enjoy the off season. I had never booked here before ( I used booking.com - mistake! - and wish I hadn't this time. )
The front office manager would not return our call and our entire experience with this establishment left a very bad taste. It cost us quite a bit. Buyer beware. Don't expect them to extend themselves in any way.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stagelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We are so sorry to read your review. We will be certain to take your insights to management and learn from this review. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we hope you enjoy your fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We wanted to get up to Cape May in the Fall and found this Inn the perfect solution. It is centrally located to tour the streets lined with beautiful Victorian Homes, shoppong at the Washington Street Mall and we even made a side trip to a tasting at the Cape May Winery. A real plus for senior travelers is there are plenty of elevators so no more trudging up and down stairs like in most B & Bs.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Stuart23103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Yay! Your generous review made our day. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews