We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not Stay Anywhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
New City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not Stay Anywhere Else”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel fit the bill 100% for us. Our balcony room faced the ocean, appeared brand new, had a kitchenette,sofabed, ceramic tiled floors.
Others write it is far from town. We were happy not to have traffic at our front door yet be 5 minutes away from town by trolley (which runs every 15 minutes) or a 15 minute walk. Lodging cost is a bit higher than other hotels but we thought well worth it.Need to know:The fitness center did not offer much but we used the treadmill,bike and eliptical. Ask for a room away from the restaurant. The airconditioning fans are very noisy (Food was very good).The hotel does not provide beach chairs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyKNewCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    224
    41
    29
    38
See reviews for
255
247
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Overall, a nice place. We stayed in oceanfront suite. I recommend any room with a stove to save money. The service was solid. The front desk helped us find restaurants within our budget and answered all our questions. The room was clean. The maids came every day though I would suggest the hotel go a little more green by offering to leave the towels we use and not replace them with new ones every day if we so choose. The fridge was off when we got there so some of our ice cream melted. View was amazing though you are on top of your neighbors if you sit on the balcony. They have wired internet for free and it was pretty fast for me.

The beach was okay but some things to know. You have to pay $5 per day if or $10 for 3 days per adult. Kids are free. There are no umbrellas, seats, or towels. You can rent them. I think it was 10 for an umbrella and 6 for a chair per day so bring your own. The waves were big and the water was unusually cold.

The pool was nice and warm. The waitress comes around for some of the afternoon. The hotel does provide pool towels.

The town was nice. We took the trolley in which was basically free with hotel vouchers. We ate at a place called Lucky Bones one night which is kid friendly and reasonably priced. The hotel is at the other end of the strip from the main shopping so if you want quiet, that is nice but it is a bit of a walk with a 4 and 2 year old. So you may want to consider something closer if you have small kids or bring strollers.

Overall, its a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychology07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Loved this hotel! My son (age 11) and I arrived early (12:00pm) and was pleasently surprised to find out our room was ready. Ellen at the front desk was great! The room was very clean as was the pool. The hotel is right across the street from the beach. We had a very enjoyable stay and already recommended it to family. We will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doknorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC329
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Fourth of July in Cape May was a great holiday experience. La Mer is safe, clean and their restaurant, The Pier, is wonderful. Order the Tu Tu Tango french toast, truly delicious. The room was very comfortable, you will hear the water running and the people outside your door, we stayed in the "old building ", and opted not to have a balcony. We were never in the room! Cape May is so pretty that you have to go out and see it all. The hotel is across from the beach and conviniently off the Garden State exit zero. There's a Wawa before you reach the hotel and a gas station. Make sure to take a drive out to Wildwood Crest, their beach is wonderful, no fee, no seashells and flat out into the water. Bring quarers for the meters. Also, have dinner at the Lobster House, well worth it. And maybe plan an evening out to Atlantic City, it's only 30 minutes away. In Cape May take a ride on the trolley, hotel provides tickets and the driver is super friendly and knowledgeable. There are a couple of cool bars on Beach Street and luckily they are on the opposite end of where your hotel is located. Overall a wonderful time and great hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

This is our 2nd stay and again found it wonderful. the hotel is in a great location, beachfront in a nice neighborhood
staff is friendly and knowledegable
rooms are nice and have granite mini kitchens
Nice outdoor pool with restaurant service from the Pier House
I also think it is kid friendly
wish it had a gift shop or mini grocery otherwise perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisfar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We didn't think anything would measure up to the past stays at the Queen Victoria. However, we loved sitting by the pool at La Mer and eating at the Pier House. Sitting on the balcony with a pool and ocean view was wonderful. La Mar is away from the central business district, which was fine. We made a trip into town for dinner and to stroll down Washington Street. The rest of the time we stayed near Le Mer and relaxed. Very nice room, with everything you need. We really enjoyed the quieter part of town. You won't be disappointed with Le Mar. We'll stay there again next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I'm not sure how old La Mer is, it looks brand new. Everything is so clean and fresh. It's a perfect location, right across the steet from the beautiful beach and quiet, only a 5 minute drive into the town center.

I had the large efficiency unit, loved the separation between the bedroom and living space. The full kitchen came in very handy, didn't have to eat out for breakfast or lunch. Although we were only 2 people, the room could easily accommodate a large family.

Everything was perfect, most especially the lovely beachfront terrace. The room was larger than my NYC apartment!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#18 of 37 in Cape May
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Property: La Mer Beachfront Inn
Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront
La Mer Beachfront Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing