We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our annual trip once again a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avondale by the Sea
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Glenwood, NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our annual trip once again a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2008

Back to Avondale the week before Memorial Day and , once again, a great stay. We like going into the room cold and figuring out what changes they've made in the off season - and it's the fact the keep MAKING these changes that shows us how much they care about their property. Big things like new ceiling fans and drapes to small things like relocating electrical switches and refinishing the balcony flooring. Charlie and Barbara are great hosts and, as it's been said for years, the location can't be beat. We are at the point now where we don't leave the Avondale until we've booked our next year's reservation. Always look forward to our first cocktail on the balcony overlooking the beach.

  • Liked — The locale
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAprilFools89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    64
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

I've only been to Cape May once and stayed at Avondale By The Sea. It was about 10 years ago so I'm sure things have changed but I did thoroughly enjoy my stay. The hotel was clean, location is great. I was by myself and felt very safe at the hotel and all of Cape May in general.

Some things to check out while in Cape May:

Haunted Cape May Walking Tour (very cool...you walk passed all the homes and hotels that are/were haunted and hear the stories about those who lived/stayed there. LOVED this!!

There's a Church (Roman Catholic if I recall) that is in the vicinity of the shopping area. I don't recall what the name of the area is (like I said, it's been 10 years) but it's like an outdoor mall. The church is right at the beginning of the shopping area. It's so pretty and quaint...even if you're not Catholic, it's worth a peek.

The Whale Watching is fun as well...for all ages. You won't see whales but you should see plenty of dolphins. And really, who wants to see Orca???? :-)

Definitely hit Sunset Beach and the Lighthouse.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2003, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Posada20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bird In Hand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

We stayed at the Avondale for two nights April 11 and 12, 2008. The property was immaculate and the rooms were very clean. The new ceiling fans and drapes were a nice addition. The continental breakfast is a great way to start the day. We love the location, walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping Cape May has to offer. Sitting on the rockers and watching the ocean is so relaxing, we just hated to leave. Charlie and Barbara were so hospitable, they made us feel like family. We'll be back very soon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdInHandWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

The Avondale by the Sea is a great place and very well maintained. The owners do a wonderful job and were very helpful from checking in to giving advice for happenings going on around town. The location along the beach is perfect and right in the middle of it all. We had a very nice King Suite room on the 3rd floor with a wonderful view from the balcony. Loved the rocking chairs. The bed was very comfortable with everything in the room in great condition, very clean and in good working order. The continental breakfast was well stocked and had just enough to get us going in the mornings. Would highly recommend staying here when in the Cape May area.

  • Liked — Very well maintained property
  • Disliked — No complaints what so ever
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalloveragain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

We just returned from spending three nights at the Avondale. The parking situation was excellent, the staff was kind, and the rooms were nice. The location couldn't be better. We also found the hotel to be accommodating to young children as they have a baby pool and they even offered us a crib and diaper pail at no extra charge. We will absolutely return to the Avondale!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The rooms did seem a little old fashioned in furnishings and carpeting.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

OK here's the scoop. Pros: great location, you are close to just about everything. Reasonable room price. Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly. Good breakfast included.

Cons: Pool does'nt open until 9:30am and closes promptly at 6pm. No elevators, so count on lugging your luggage up three floors.

(the best rooms have private balconies) Do not get an interior room unless you like no view and darkness.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sponger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

Our family stayed at Avondale by the Sea for a long weekend. After reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor, I was surprised to find that our room was quite dirty. Our socks were black after walking in the room without shoes, which made us very nervous having our baby crawl in the room on the dirty carpet. There were tiny ants in the bathroom and on the dresser. I would not recommend this hotel if you want a clean hotel room. The location is great, right across the street from the beach and near lots of shops and restaurants.

  • Liked — location near beach
  • Disliked — dirty rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jj1WashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale by the Sea

Property: Avondale by the Sea
Address: 609 Beach Dr, Beach & Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1827
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avondale by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find all our rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We are proud that many of our guests return year after year. Our oceanfront location, friendly atmosphere, proximity to restaurants, shops and sites make Avondale by the Sea an outstanding choice for your stay in Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Avondale by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale By The Sea Hotel Cape May
Avondale By The Sea Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing