We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay in beautiful Cape May”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avondale by the Sea
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another great stay in beautiful Cape May”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This past week at the Avondale was just wonderful. We have stayed here for a good number of years and it is always great. There is a nice warm atmosphere that permeates this sweet hotel. The hosts are some of the nicest people you will ever meet and they will treat you like family. The location is directly across from the beach and there are many great restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are always very clean and the beds are comfortable. The housekeep staff are very friendly and efficient. Pricing is in line with other hotels in the area. There is a pool with lounge chars and umbrellas for guests that is supervised and very clean. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Cape May, check out Avondale by the Sea and say hello to your gracious host Charlie for us.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctyankeesfan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    66
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
112
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed at Avondale a few times over the years. For us, its the best deal in Cape May.
First off Charlie, the owner, is always on site cleaning things up and he is real down to earth person.

Secondly, the place is clean as a whistle - the rooms are spotless, not your typical beach motel with dated furniture and musty rugs.

Third - For Cape May and being in season, you cant beat the rates. We had a suite with a king bed and living room area - $250.00 a night during the week, $275.00 on the weekend. The other places we checked out were all over 300.00 a night and the rooms were a shoe box.
You also get a continental breakfast each morning - bagels, cereal, fruit, donuts, coffee etc.

Lastly, the location - right across from the beach, waking distance to the Washington St mall and all the restaurants.
Park your car and your done for your stay. You can walk to everything..

Bottom line, you can go for glamor / glitz but, if you want a great place to stay check out the Avondale.

Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: If you can, grab a suite on the second floor - great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have been coming to Cape May for several decades.
We have stayed at the finest B& B 's as well as many of the best hotels in town.
The Avondale provides the best of both worlds!
It is a relatively small hotel and as a result, you have the intimacy of a B&B and you have most of the amenities of a top shelf hotel.
The continental breakfast which is included is as extensive as it gets.
There are several different types of both donuts and bagels as well as at least 4 different types of cereals. There are fresh juices and coffee and also fresh bananas.
The breakfast times are very accommodating.
Charlie and Alex and the rest of the staff are very friendly and accommodating and will provide any information that you might need. The rooms are very simple but comfortable and you have all that you would want . The rooms are kept immaculate !
The views from the balcony and from the inside of the room are SPECTACULAR !
Charlie tends to the pool daily and maintains it's superior quality.
Charlie and his staff also make sure that they know who is on there property and as a result, the guests should feel very safe,
The location is THE BEST in the entire town ! The area is quiet but yet within EASY walking distance of hundreds of restaurants and shops !!!
Once we stayed here for the first time 6 or 7 years ago, we have not even considered staying anywhere else.
The Avondale is an excellent value!
Don't miss this place on your next visit !!
Just make sure you leave a room open for us!

Regards from Jersey shore folks who have been visiting every summer since the 50's.
The Jersey shore is alive and well and it is quite evident at the Avondale !!!

Room Tip: We like the upper floor ocean views but keep in mind that there is no elevator. Charlie or Alex wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhThePlacesWeWillGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have been staying at Avondale for 8-10 years. We have never had a bad experience or complaint. Charlie and Alex and the housekeeping staff are friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. We will keep returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzfrank20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Cumberland, PA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in a king room on the second floor for three nights and selected the Avondale based on the TA rating and reviews, which I feel are inflated. AAA would never rate this as a 5 star or even 4 star, but I think a lot of people have stayed here numerous times and like it for the location and view. Our room was basic: tile floors, white stucco walls, ceilings tiles, one painting on the wall, but good-sized. It also had a small refrigerator, so we could keep our drinks cold. The room with the toilet and bathtub, however, was small, so glad I am too! However, the sink and closet area was large, unlike the towels, which were small and thin - the towels at our local gym are nicer. Supposedly, the rooms were just remodeled and I would have reconfigured the space, but perhaps it was a structural issue. The pool was crowded, since it's shared with the property next door, and one of the women at the gate wasn't very pleasant (I thought maybe the other negative comments weren't valid, since I was a lifeguard, but I think they were). The property was also noisy at times, but that's hard to control; I'm constantly surprised by people's lack of consideration for others, especially in the wee hours of the morning. There were some positives also: great location, within walking distance of most places in Cape May, so you can leave your car parked. It's directly across the street from the beach, so you don't need to haul your chairs, umbrellas, etc. very far. The room was very clean, so kudos to the housekeeping staff on that! A basic continental breakfast was provided, although I agree with other raters that healthier options like fresh fruit would have been appreciated. The bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows were provided. The rocking chairs in front of the room were a great place to enjoy the view and the breeze. There was a table and chairs in the room and an upholstered chair and ottoman. Check out was also very efficient and friendly. We usually rent houses at the beach with friends or occasionally are invited to their beach houses, so I'm probably spoiled, but I think this property is just average, when considering the pros and cons. I didn't check many prices at other properties, so maybe that's the reason for the high ratings in addition to the location and view. This property doesn't have the amentities you would find at a 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Avondale by the sea is nicely located on Beach Ave and within walking distance of the shops and restaurants that make up the heart of Cape May. It has a great view of the ocean. There isd a nice pool if you don't care for the waves. A continental breakfast is included. My only complaints were that the wall mounted A/C unit was a bit noisy and the wifi internet was a bit flakey but Charlie (the owner) assured me the wifi was in the process of being fixed the next day and replaced soon after that. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: No elevator, but the best ocean views are from the second or third floors. First floor is street lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bitsmasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Znoy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I feel like we paid too much. Extra fees for weekends is understandable but the amount is not disclosed on their website. Continental breakfast was disappointing. No fruit or water. But if you like donuts or bagels then you'll be happy. Our room had a sofa bed, when I pulled it out the cover was filthy. So my child shared the king bed with us. The air conditioning did nothing to help with the humidity and kept us barely comfortable. The pool had a an old lady monitoring it who wasn't friendly. The outside shower to rinse off had no pressure so we carried a lot of sand in our room. The bathroom was very small and would not accommodate a large person. The location was the only thing we liked. Wouldn't recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rbjschaeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale by the Sea

Property: Avondale by the Sea
Address: 609 Beach Dr, Beach & Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1827
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avondale by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find all our rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We are proud that many of our guests return year after year. Our oceanfront location, friendly atmosphere, proximity to restaurants, shops and sites make Avondale by the Sea an outstanding choice for your stay in Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avondale by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale By The Sea Hotel Cape May
Avondale By The Sea Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing