We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for the pool NAZI!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avondale by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avondale by the Sea
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watch out for the pool NAZI!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Stayed here on Saturday on the Labor Day weekend on very short notice as we were driving up from the Outer Banks. Arrived by ferry and went straight to hotel to have a swim after the long drive. Got yelled at almost immediately when we got to the pool for jumping in (if you can believe that!). We are both adults and the pool is 8ft deep. The woman yelling at us was not dressed as a hotel employee but apparently is employed by the hotel as the pool Nazi as there were many, many rules concerning the pool. The pool also closes very early - 6pm.

The room itself was okay but dated and had that nasty smell most shore hotels seem to have.

The staff was unfriendly and we were also reprimanded for walking barefoot. The price of the room was first class hotel thievery as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittycat2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    64
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

We love Cape May and feel that it is one of the prettiest spots in South Jersey. So much to see and do -- in addition to the beach. This was our fourth time at the Avondale (1st time with new owners). It was fantastic. Rooms are clean and the property is well maintained. Breakfast served in the lobby was a great way to start the day -- just enough coffee, tea, cereals, bagels and muffins. Staff here is pleasant and helpful. The best thing about the Avondale is the location. Basically, once you park the car in the Avondale lot you can walk to everything -- beach, Washington Street Mall, Restaurants, Mini golf, shopping, arcades.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Decided on very short notice to book a room here based on a family member's recommendation. What a great choice. Clean rooms. Plenty of room. In-room refridgerator. 2nd sink in the entry foyer really frees up the bathroom area. Very friendly staff. Continental breakfast was simple but perfect for a quick bite before hitting the beach. Right across the street from the beach & paviliion. Just about everything is within walking distance. Even the pool was great for that late afternoon cool-off-dip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessterCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxbury NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Very pleasant stay with 17 month son in tow. Charlie the owner took the time to show three room types and we went with a first floor suite with a large sitting area and seperate bedroom. Perfect to stroller right up the handicap ramp and right in the room, and there was plenty of storage area to put the stroller and second seperate sink in bedroom for his bottle station. The room was clean and service was excellent, put a continental spread out each morning and the pool was well maintained, actually shared with The Inn Of Cape May. Right across the beach and the Mall was a few scenic blocks away. Have stayed at numerous others such as Windward House, Stockton Manor, Macomber. With a small child the ease of the Avondale couldnt be beat. The owner was very honest as his suggestion was to book one night at a time as the weather hasnt been good, it turned out we did that three nights and it worked out well.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Stayed here last summer-Staff not too friendly, room not bad, location great. Made a reservation yesterday for this summer (August). Found out today we can't go. When I called today (less than 24 hrs after making the reservation) was told I am being charged a $25.00 booking fee. No other hotel that I know of (and I have been staying in Cape May for over 35 yrs) charges a cancellation fee if you call within 24 hrs. In fact, this is the first hotel that required me to give them a credit card to hold the room. Every other hotel I've ever dealt with allows you 3-5 days to mail them a personal check. Won't be making a reservation with a credit card at this place again. There are far mor nicer hotels in Cape May that are much more customer oriented.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie5nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

When I arrived I didn't find the front desk staff to be exceptionally friendly the entire visit.
The breakfast was blah and the designer of their suite bathrooms should have been fired. They built the toilet too close to the sink area and I nearly smacked my head several times when standing up.

But I have say the location was perfect, right across the street from the beach!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvcapemaynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

Avondale is a mixed bag

First the good stuff:
-The women working behind the desk were amazingly helpful.
-They have a selection of menus in the lobby which was great when looking for a restaurant.
-Rooms were amazingly clean with no smell or stickiness even though it was across from the beach. I was very impressed with this.
-Each room has a medium sized refrigerator which was very useful.
-The breakfast was fine; no frills but fine. Expect plain and cinnamon raisin bagels; packets of cream cheese and butter; coffee, juices, four types of cereal, donuts and muffins.
-Of course the best thing is the location. You just can’t beat it -- right across from the beach; near restaurants; near minigolf and bike rentals places, ice-cream places, etc.
-The pool was nice but the hours were lousy (see below).
-Bathroom had shampoo, lotion and soap and plenty of towels (see comment below on towels).
-Bed was comfy.
-The balcony was lovely and had two nice rocking chairs and small table.

Now the bad:
-Wireless isn't good at all. It came in and out and was very spotty in where in the room I could get the access. Don’t depend on it.
-In my room the shower had very low pressure but in my brother’s room, it was fine.
-The pool hours were very limited – only 9:30 to 6:00. Why not 7:00 to 10:00 or whatever the quiet hours are? Also, I had a friend renting a house near the hotel and I wasn’t allowed to let her and one of her children swim with my family. I understand the Guests-only rules but when the pool is empty maybe a little flexibility would be allowed.
-Towels were small and not soft. In fact, my small 6-year-old even commented on how small they were.
-The biggest negative is the owner. He just doesn’t have a customer focused attitude. I got the sense that he thinks everyone is out to steal something (food, parking lot, time in pool). I understand he has to watch the parking lot, breakfast, the pool, and more than the accepted amount of people in each room but the way he looks at you is like he is expecting to see you breaking the rules. I didn’t break any rules but I felt I was under suspicion. Also, I was traveling with repeat customers and I heard when they made their reservations he was really a jerk even though they were bring additional guests (me and my family) with them. He is a “rules are rules” guy and he doesn't care because he knows someone else will come and rent his rooms. My guess is the hotel sells out a lot so he doesn't see the value of treating repeat visitors with a bit of extra kindness and flexibility. He may be right because his revenue will be solid but it just doesn't feel right to me.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — wireless access
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KEB08904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale by the Sea

Property: Avondale by the Sea
Address: 609 Beach Dr, Beach & Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1827
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avondale by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find all our rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We are proud that many of our guests return year after year. Our oceanfront location, friendly atmosphere, proximity to restaurants, shops and sites make Avondale by the Sea an outstanding choice for your stay in Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Avondale by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale By The Sea Hotel Cape May
Avondale By The Sea Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing