We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avondale by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Periwinkle Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motor Lodge(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Virginia Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest Inn(Cape May)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
156
71
19
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
71
19
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfasttile floorsrocking chairsno elevatoracross the streetgreat locationwithin walking distancecold cerealbed was comfortablefirst floorking roomair conditionclean hotelconvention centernice view of the oceanc unitprivate balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The only positive aspect of this motel is the location. The pictures and description on their website are deceiving as there is NO private balcony as they lead one to believe. Appeared to be fairly clean, but a closer inspection proved otherwise. However, we were aware that we were not staying at the most expensive place on the beach, so we accepted the hotel for what it was and made the most of it. Unforgivable though was the treatment we received when checking out. My mother became ill the morning we were leaving and I called down to the front desk at 11:00 a.m. and asked for some additional time to load up the car, etc. They refused, said check out was at noon. At 12:10, they called up to the room and advised they would be charging us for another day, despite the fact that we were in the process of vacating the room as was clearly visible to anyone at the motel. Ever hear of offering some assistance? By the way, no elevator, so you will be lugging your suitcases up and down stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jaketigmia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Stayed here on Saturday on the Labor Day weekend on very short notice as we were driving up from the Outer Banks. Arrived by ferry and went straight to hotel to have a swim after the long drive. Got yelled at almost immediately when we got to the pool for jumping in (if you can believe that!). We are both adults and the pool is 8ft deep. The woman yelling at us was not dressed as a hotel employee but apparently is employed by the hotel as the pool Nazi as there were many, many rules concerning the pool. The pool also closes very early - 6pm.

The room itself was okay but dated and had that nasty smell most shore hotels seem to have.

The staff was unfriendly and we were also reprimanded for walking barefoot. The price of the room was first class hotel thievery as well.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittycat2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We love Cape May and feel that it is one of the prettiest spots in South Jersey. So much to see and do -- in addition to the beach. This was our fourth time at the Avondale (1st time with new owners). It was fantastic. Rooms are clean and the property is well maintained. Breakfast served in the lobby was a great way to start the day -- just enough coffee, tea, cereals, bagels and muffins. Staff here is pleasant and helpful. The best thing about the Avondale is the location. Basically, once you park the car in the Avondale lot you can walk to everything -- beach, Washington Street Mall, Restaurants, Mini golf, shopping, arcades.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KB303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Decided on very short notice to book a room here based on a family member's recommendation. What a great choice. Clean rooms. Plenty of room. In-room refridgerator. 2nd sink in the entry foyer really frees up the bathroom area. Very friendly staff. Continental breakfast was simple but perfect for a quick bite before hitting the beach. Right across the street from the beach & paviliion. Just about everything is within walking distance. Even the pool was great for that late afternoon cool-off-dip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HerschbeinCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Very pleasant stay with 17 month son in tow. Charlie the owner took the time to show three room types and we went with a first floor suite with a large sitting area and seperate bedroom. Perfect to stroller right up the handicap ramp and right in the room, and there was plenty of storage area to put the stroller and second seperate sink in bedroom for his bottle station. The room was clean and service was excellent, put a continental spread out each morning and the pool was well maintained, actually shared with The Inn Of Cape May. Right across the beach and the Mall was a few scenic blocks away. Have stayed at numerous others such as Windward House, Stockton Manor, Macomber. With a small child the ease of the Avondale couldnt be beat. The owner was very honest as his suggestion was to book one night at a time as the weather hasnt been good, it turned out we did that three nights and it worked out well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews