We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peter Shields Inn
Ranked #9 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I love this place so much for so many different reasons. I'm going to give my honest review because that's the way I roll. We checked in and they were so hospitable. I love Jeff the owner. He's so laid back and so like your friend for years. We booked the King room number 1 for one night. I love the room. The bed and pillows were amazing. So spacious and clean and on the second floor with the public balcony facing the ocean. Breathtaking! The negatives are the room had the ceiling with a crack in it and the windows were really cloudy. The bathroom had tiles missing. We could only see the ocean by opening the windows which was cool. The public balcony could have used the housekeeping to clean the table top since it seemed to have had at least a weeks worth of salt water and dirt on it. The porch, the dinner at the restaurant were awesome. The owner was so cool. I thought the breakfast was mediocre. All in all this place is an absolute gem and I cannot wait to get back here.

Room Tip: Run here! King room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G, Manager at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you’re in Cape May! Thanks for bringing to my attention the issues in Room #1 and the cleanliness of the public balcony, I'll have the staff get right on it. I appreciate you following up with us after your visit, and I hope you don't stay away for too long!

Take care,
Jeff Gernitis, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    26
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
195
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We arrived and were helped with our baggage which is always nice. We were showed around and then brought up to our room. The room was decorated nicely but a bit small. We had a terrace out back. It looked over a parking lot but at least we had an outdoor space. There was a VERY loud kitchen exhaust fan which I wasnt crazy about right under our room. The hotel staff said it would be turned off when the kitchen closed after dinner service and it was. The hotel was clean and well maintained. They served wine and cheese at 4:00pm and had a small room for guests with coffee machines, snacks, fresh baked cookies etc. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening and it was fabulous. We woke in the morning to breakfast downstairs which was wonderful as well. I would stay here again but perhaps choose a different room.

Room Tip: (orange room) forget the name. terrace looks onto a parking lot and there is a kitchen exhaust fan t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at PSI for our friends wedding weekend (Friday through Sunday). The location and view was fantastic - views of the beach and ocean can't be beat! Since the party we were with was staying in the whole inn, I saw almost all nine rooms and all were beautiful. Every room is decorated perfectly, all are cozy, many have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. We stayed in room six, which has a king sized bed and sitting area with ocean view. Not only was it the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, but the sheets and pillows were even amazing! There is a lounge with snacks and drinks for guests. There is also a basement lounge with a bar and fireplace. We had breakfast, included, on the lovely porch both mornings and looked at the beach. As for the wedding, the staff at the inn on such an elegant affair plus the food was outstanding! We can't wait to come back and have dinner in the restaurant and stay in more of the lovely rooms. Also the staff was wonderful, in particular Armando one of the owners, and Bridget. But everyone here does a fantastic job! There is also a private parking lot for hotel guests which was very helpful. The rooms were always immaculate. We strongly recommend the Peter shields!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennaamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G, Owner at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Be sure to pass along our congratulations to your friends on getting married, Jenna! I'm delighted we were able to provide a comfortable experience for you while in Cape May, and the rest of the staff is pleased to hear they did such a fantastic job. We hope you do decided to come back for dinner — we'd love to have you. Thanks for reviewing us, and have a nice day!

All the best,
Jeff Gernitis, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife wanted to go to Cape May to celebrate her birthday...being smart I let her pick where she wanted to go. This place was fantastic. Bridget was a great hostess and the whole staff couldn't do enough for you. It was right across the street from the beach. Beach chairs and towel were provided and the bikes were great. Our room was small (we were warned we had the smallest room in advance) but well appointed. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon and the breakfasts. We had a fantastic meal at their restaurant one night. Our favorite was sipping champagne on the porch before dinner.

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poconodomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G, Owner at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Letting the wife pick is always a smart move! Glad you both decided to spend her birthday weekend with us, and I'm delighted that we impressed you with a wonderful experience. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, and we hope to see you both again soon for more pre-dinner champagne on the porch!

All the best,
Jeff Gernitis, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
472 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

First time at a B&B & PSI has over the top friendly staff & convenient location. Like home fresh scent clean linens, not industrial dull smell (Fabric softener smell). PSI was like staying in a 5 star major hotel with a personal feel!

We also ate dinner and the food was UNBELIEVABLY DELICIOUS, once again 5 star food without a personal feel. Breakfast was hot, & cooked to order, not your typical breakfast buffet.

Can't wait to go back! I would drive the 2 hours just for their dinner menu.

Room Tip: The place is great, doesn't matter what room you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikea168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G, Owner at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We can't wait to have you back — it means a lot to hear you say you'd drive 2 hours just for one of our dinners! I'm glad that your first time staying at a B&B was with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Jeff Gernitis, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were thrilled to be across the street from the Atlantic. Our room had a nice view of the beach and ocean. Breakfast was delicious, our room was spotless and nicely furnished, the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon wine and cheese relaxing in the stuffed armchairs by the fireplace in our room. We picked the Inn for its inviting elegance, and we plan to return often during the Winter season. We stayed at the Inn in March for several nights celebrating a birthday; the quietness and calmness of the atmosphere at Peter Shields Inn during that time of year was much appreciated. The public sitting areas and porch have terrific views. Dinners at Peter Shields Inn also are exceptional -- dine at least once during your stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanmarie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G, Owner at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Something about that afternoon wine and cheese really does wonders to help you relax, doesn't it? Glad we could help make that birthday a memorable one. We appreciate you getting on TripAdvisor and writing such a thoughtful review, and we look forward to your visit during the winter season!

All the best,
Jeff Gernitis, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was slightly apprehensive about visiting Cape May. Yet the hotel, staff (BrIdget, Dottie) were exceptional. I appreciate the extra care that was given. High season is pricey, yet you get what you pay for, which was well worth the price. We will go back in another season to enjoy the bed and breakfast again. The room was nice, but when I go back I will request rm 4 for the balcony, it is the only room with a balcony. Book in high season at least 2 months in advance for this room because there are only 8 rms in the hotel. We ate at the restaurant on Friday night, it was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you can't get rm 4, ask for rm 1 all others rooms are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G, Owner at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We're lucky you decided to visit us, Jeffrey — it was truly our pleasure to accommodate you. We'd love to have you back for another season, just call ahead and we'll reserve room 4 for you! Thanks for the great feedback (I'll thank Bridget and Dottie for taking such good care of you), and we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,
Jeff Gernitis, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peter Shields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peter Shields Inn

Property: The Peter Shields Inn
Address: 1301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Peter Shields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter Shields Inn is Cape May's most romantic bed and breakfast. Enjoy the beautiful Cape May ocean views from our porch. Experience the luxurious, high-ceilinged rooms and five-star gourmet meals in our Zagat-rated restaurant. Sumptuous, leisurely breakfasts are included with your stay as well as leisurely afternoon "wine and cheese." Additional amenities include his-and-her bicycles, beach chairs and umbrellas, plush bedding and nightly turndown, and five-star concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Peter Shields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peter Shields Hotel Cape May
The Peter Shields Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing