We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peter Shields Inn
Ranked #9 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hagaman, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have dined at the Peter Shields Inn many times. On this trip, we stayed for three nights at the Inn. It is absolutely beautiful, clean, perfectly maintained. The staff is helpful, friendly, and really care about making the Peter Shields Inn a wonderful experience. The Innkeeper, Bridget, is extremely attentive, and always asks how everything is, right down to the breakfast each morning. Breakfast is included, as well as afternoon wine and cheese. Just an amazing place to stay, by far the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The restaurant is amazing, too! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    25
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
193
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is my third visit to the PSI. I needed to reschedule an already booked visit and they were very gracious, explaining that I had a credit that could be used anytime. I booked for an upcoming Tuesday night. When I arrived, I was greeted by the same young woman (she's a real asset, PSI) and she spoke to me throughout my stay. My boyfriend and I had broken up, and her conversation was just the right amount at just the right time. The rooms have been reappointed and mine, Room 8, was a warm womb. The bikes are in tip top condition. The snacks were a nice touch as always. Breakfast, as fine as ever in the lovely porch. Love the eggs and fresh muffins. Couldn't have been a better stay! Karen, keep up the good work. The other visitors really make the stay; I love the quiet, as noise travels, especially sexual ones. Always good to be courteous of others and to pick up ones trash. The Inn is just as the website pictures depict.

Room Tip: every room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crestheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our third stay at PSI in the past two years, and I have to say the inn keeps getting better. We were the first to stay in the newly remodeled Room 1- fantastic ocean view, great updated beautiful decor. The bathroom was huge and luxurious, and the bubble tub was a treat. I've always liked PSI because it lacked the frou-frou floral wallpaper and over-done look of other B and B's, and the new decor is even better. Bed was soft and linens, including bath towels, were fluffy and plush. Breakfast every morning was great, we were served large portions of whatever we wanted, all cooked perfect. Wine and cheese was excellent as was the cookies and goodies in the hospitality room. The only drawback was our room, #1, was located right off the area where wine and cheese are served...so it was awkward to have a little, ahem, romance between the hours of 4pm and 7pm. Overall great stay, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatontown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I got married at the PSI this past week. From the moment we walked in the front door for our two night stay, Elaine greeted us and showed us around, she knew all the details of our wedding the following day . She was perky and friendly and put us at ease immediately. We wanted a low key wedding as it was just the two of us. Bridgette married us in front of the parlor fire place, and it was quite romantic, thank you Bridgette for helping us seal the deal!!! Shawn took pictures for us(thank you Shawn) it exceeded my expectations. We were treated to an amazing meal, followed by a desert gift from the chief who wanted us to celebrate our special night. We booked our room in January and were amazed at the progress made during the renovations; thank you thank you thank you for the amazing jacuzzi tub and the beautiful fireplace which added to a very romantic evening. The breakfast buffet the following morning was fantastic, we did not expect a full service breakfast with waitress service. Our waitress Bernadette?(forgive me if I am wrong) was pleasant and eager to make sure that we had everything we needed. Overall this was a wonderful experience, so glad we chose PSI to get married as the team there was genuinely invested in our having a positive experience.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny with views of the ocean"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Peter Shields Inn was lovely; a modern classic flair to the inn made it stand out among it's overly frilled and fusty competitors. They have very personalized service without the overly engaging bed and breakfast vibe. The inn keepers are busy continuing with redecorating and renovating rooms. Our room was elegant, with a covered back porch(parking lot view but still great even in winter), a huge bathroom with Jacuzzi, a gas fireplace and top of the line decoration and bedding. The one drawback was the the kitchen exhaust fan was attached to the wall outside and made a quite a loud background when on. We weren't in the room much when it was on so not a big issue for us but something to be aware of in room 4. The evening wine and cheese for guests was exceptional, carafe's of wine and a cheese plate and dip were out every evening before dinner in the upstairs guest lounge; continuously refreshed, not just left to first come first serve which was perfect. Nice to meet the other guests and see them at the included breakfast the next day. The breakfast was top-notch, fruit, muffins and an ordered entree. Ideal location across from the beach and about 5 blocks from the hustle of downtown. A lovely stay!

Room Tip: rooms in the front over the restaurant can be noisy till 11pm in season. Room 4 has an exhaust fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyC-VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A mid-winter birthday celebration, no better place to have than at the PSI. We stayed in Room 1, the Ocean Room. It had been newly renovated and looks absolutely amazing. The new colors are very soothing with its matching drapes, rug and new chairs, simply fabulous. The renovated bathroom shower is so very inviting and the claw foot tub, just as we had remembered. We were welcomed with open arms by the owner, Jeff and the amazing winter staff of Bridget, Donna, Christopher (our dinner server) and the facilities manager. Every room has it's own personality and we're looking forward to our stay in June. March special ... any room for $99.00 a night!!! No matter what the season, well worth the price. PSI sits on Beach Ave overlooking the beach and ocean. A very charming B&B with a first class operation and staff. Bicycles, beach chairs, towels & umbrellas provided. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmmccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We just returned from the Peter Shields Inn. We stayed for one night on the holiday weekend, but did not eat dinner there (although it looked amazing, we just wanted to venture out to try something outside of the Inn). We stayed in Room 4, which was very nice...the bathroom was huge. The bedroom was a good size - it had this awesome remote control/gas fireplace and a tv above the fireplace mantel. While I wouldn't always care about a tv in the room, being that it was winter and we wanted to escape the cold after exploring the outside "mall", it was nice to just relax and read in the room (and watch a little of the Olympics). The bathroom had both a shower and a separate tub, and they provided robes. The bed had the fluffy linens you would expect and the decor was upscale and modern. It seemed the other rooms were of a similar style. Two of the other rooms on the second floor had sea views and from the balcony on Room 4, you could turn and see the water. Definitely call ahead to ask which rooms have views or balconies. As for the amenities, PSI was excellent. There was a hospitality room stocked with soft drinks, water, cookies, and tea. The one downside is the tea selection in the hospitality room was definitely lacking (but the morning tea selection at breakfast was great). There were sitting rooms on both the second and main floors that were beautiful. They had board games, cards, and books available to borrow. Breakfast was nice - served at tables in the sunroom and you had a selection of items to choose from (plus toast, fruit, juice). The location of the Inn was great - down the street from the main action, and perfect shore views. The staff were all wonderful - very friendly and helpful! Rates were a little higher for the holiday weekend, but they have some really nice winter deals - as for Cape May in the winter, it was great. There were definitely people out and about but it was quiet and calm and a great way to explore a new area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peter Shields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peter Shields Inn

Property: The Peter Shields Inn
Address: 1301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Peter Shields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter Shields Inn is Cape May's most romantic bed and breakfast. Enjoy the beautiful Cape May ocean views from our porch. Experience the luxurious, high-ceilinged rooms and five-star gourmet meals in our Zagat-rated restaurant. Sumptuous, leisurely breakfasts are included with your stay as well as leisurely afternoon "wine and cheese." Additional amenities include his-and-her bicycles, beach chairs and umbrellas, plush bedding and nightly turndown, and five-star concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Peter Shields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peter Shields Hotel Cape May
The Peter Shields Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing