We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Everything Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peter Shields Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband & I took our good friends to Cape May to thank them for helping us renovate our kitchen. We looked for a Bed & Breakfast that was small, intimate, on the beach and had great food. This place is all that and more. They did not forget any detail when they opened this B&B. A warm & inviting atmosphere where you have an opportunity to meet and socialize with the other guests if you choose. We were lucky to make some new friends while there. All the staff were helpful, friendly and professional. Food in restaurant is fantastic, They do ask at dinner you dress up a bit. No beach attire which is not a big deal. Men should bring shirt with collar and dress shorts or summer slack. No sneakers or flip flops!! It is worth the effort when you are served great food, prepared by a great chef and served by fantastic staff. Ladies wear a nice skirt, sundress or summer pants, The beach is just stroll across the street and they provide beach towels, chairs and outside private shower after you return!! Fresh homemade cookies, coffee, tea and drinks available 24/7 on upper level. Wine, cheese and fruit were served everyday at 4:30, which we really enjoyed. Felt like I was at my grandmothers house!! Highly recommend this place! We shall return !!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1& 2 have great views and best bathrooms but are near area where the hotel has wine& c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardave413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

There are times when you are blessed with the best possible luck selecting a hotel far from home. On our net search we found a couple of larger hotels and lots of B&B's that looked interesting, but most had queen beds. Most were built over a hundred years ago when double beds were the norm. We picked this hotel because it looked interesting and had a king.

We were blown away by the elegance of this 100 year old house. It is immaculate and furnished. There are 8 guest rooms. Ours was up the central staircase, on the third floor facing the ocean, with a small, elegantly appointed bathroom.

The comfortable room, the view, wine and cheese hour on the porches and first class breakfast are an excellent value in luxury travel.

The staff helpful but not quite in tunewith the character of the place. Sort of like having the upstairs maid greeting guests.

How can you beat being on Beach Road, and about a mile from the middle of the historic district. Ride there on the free bicycles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view, but the back side is also great, overlooking another beautiful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is an absolutely beautiful inn right on the ocean. All staff were friendly & most accommodating. We had the #1 room, king-sized, with fireplace , very large bath & ocean view. Wine & cheese served in the afternoon. Added bonus, one of the best upscale restaurants in Cape May is in the inn. For special dinners.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Peter Shields Inn has become our favorite get-a-way location. We went off-season and stayed in Room 9, The Garden Room. The rooms are recently renovated and chic. The service of both the inn and restaurant is superb. Our favorite moments included the "happy hour" on the second floor sitting area and sipping coffee on the lovely little second floor porch that faces the ocean. "Happy Hour" included three types of wine, a platter of cheese and cracker - all included in your room cost. Our dinner, a package called "PS I Love You Dinner for 2" was elegantly presented and quite delicious. We knew ahead of time that the restaurant was BYOB, which we actually prefer. Breakfast the next morning was held on the covered front porch - with fresh juice, fruit, yogurt parfaits followed by a nice selection of breakfasts including the best pancakes I've had in a long time. We loved the staff and the fact that guests are permitted to check in after 2 p.m. and may check out at 11 a.m. the following day. Bicycles and beach chairs/umbrellas are available to guests for the rest of the day after check out. If you love elegance, a romantic ocean-front view and gourmet foods, this is the ideal getaway. We are already planning our 10th wedding anniversary at PSI.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Peter Shields Inn, leaves out no details. We were greeted with a most welcoming smile by Bridget at the front desk, The check-in was fast, she showed us around the Inn, the coffee station, seating in front of a fire, the porch, etc and where 'happy hour' is. Though we declined, she offered to help us with our bags as well. Once we got settled, we headed for the happy hour seating, where for an hour we enjoyed wine, cheese and fruit (an incredible assortment), then wonderful conversation with other guests.
My wife and I then headed downstairs for the 'early prix fixe menu'. We were seated in front of the window where we could both view the ocean just across the street. Dottie, our waitress, was professional and very nice. She checked in often but did not hover. Christopher, the buser, was also excellent, our wine glass was never empty and water was frequently refilled. For our dinner entree, I chose the free range chicken and my wife, the salmon; both meals were superb even down to the salmon skin which was crisp and delicious. Desert was divine, I did not want it to end. And when we were finished, Christopher asked, "are you still enjoying?" which is just another detail of professionalism over the standard "are you done?"
We slowly made our way up to bed where we enjoyed an incredible nights sleep in our quiet room. The bed was so comfortable we looked for the tag to see what kind of mattress it was. The sheets and comforter were cozy was well.
The breakfast menu, for guests only, offered omelets pancakes, fruit parfait, etc. I got bacon, my wife sausage, and poached eggs which were perfect. We were just commenting on how delicious even breakfast was, when Bridget popped in to ensure the meal she cooked was to our liking.
After breakfast, we took some coffee and sat in front of the fire for a bit. Two other guests joined us and we chatted for some time. Then we were checked in on by the woman who maintains the rooms and property, I took the time to tell her how pleased we were with our stay and the details and that it's so nice to discover that being in a B&B environment does not mean no privacy. This property gives the feel of having places to go for privacy but also opportunity to talk with other guests.
We can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was, we wish we could have stayed longer but will have to settle for looking ahead to our next visit, when we will definitely stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in room 8, we could see the ocean through the window... There are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really liked this inn, and the owner was very friendly. The bed was comfortable, breakfast exceeded expectations, and we would definitely stay here again. There is a snack room with a Keurig coffeemaker, cookies, chips, and tea, which was a huge plus. The only drawback is that there is no half&half for the coffee. A big drawback to something that is otherwise heavenly.

The reason for the 4-star rating instead of 5 is that the toilet in room 7 is really not useable. It's tucked into a tiny corner where you can use it, but (not to be indelicate, but....) you cannot clean up afterward, because your knees are clamped together. Also, the ocean-front window is so small and high that you can only see the view if you walk over behind the bed to look out. You can't see it from the bed or from anywhere else in the room. Truly any other room would have given the same experience, regarding the view.

I know all the rooms are different, and I'm sure, from photos onine, that other rooms don't have this drawback. So I highly recommend the other rooms here. One other thing to bear in mind if you are not in good physical condition, is that rooms 5 though 9 are on the third floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 7 if you can help it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craftconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband booked a three night stay for our 25th wedding anniversary. From the time we arrived, throughout our stay, we felt right at home. The room was perfect, the bed was very comfortable, although the pillows were not. The bathroom had just been upgraded that spring and was very well appointed. Breakfast was included and order off the menu. Everything we had was fantastic. There is also a wine and cheese social in the mid-afternoon where we could mingle with some of the other guests. Touring bicycles are included for your stay, which made exploring Cape May easy and fun. There is also a convenience room with beverages, snacks and delicious homemade cookies 24/7. Another great feature is a reserved parking space in their lot for each room. We never had to worry about finding parking. I would highly recommend The Peter Shields Inn! Our view was beach front with a very nice porch right outside our room.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 and were told this is their largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
721 reviews
0 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
733 reviews
1 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peter Shields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peter Shields Inn

Address: 1301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £94 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Peter Shields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter Shields Inn is Cape May's most romantic bed and breakfast. Enjoy the beautiful Cape May ocean views from our porch. Experience the luxurious, high-ceilinged rooms and five-star gourmet meals in our Zagat-rated restaurant. Sumptuous, leisurely breakfasts are included with your stay as well as leisurely afternoon "wine and cheese." Additional amenities include his-and-her bicycles, beach chairs and umbrellas, plush bedding and nightly turndown, and five-star concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Peter Shields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peter Shields Hotel Cape May
The Peter Shields Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing