We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Luther Ogden Inn
Ranked #30 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2011

When we discovered the Luther Ogden Inn the year before, we knew we found "our" Bed & Breakfast. Besides having awesome breakfasts, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the owners make you feel very much at home. It is located just a short walk from the beach and is located on a quiet side street, yet within a short distance to all the restaurants and shops. Take it from someone who has stayed at a lot of the other Bed & Breakfasts in Cape May, this one is the best!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

My best friend and I made reservations to visit Cape May a little on the late side and settled for what appeared to be a good deal. We didn't get what we paid for. The room was small and without a closet, instead we got 2 hangers and a hook on the back of the door. The TV and air conditioning worked and the beds were ok but everything else seemed old and worn. The most disturbing qualilty are the innkeepers themselves. They seemed to use the inn as the main source of their social life. They hovered and interupted conversations. Worse, their hospitality was reluctant at best. When I arrived from the beach unexpectedly having left the key to the room with my friend, it seemed to be an imposition for them to let me into the room.
The area is so lovely and the beach was wonderful. The Luther Ogden is close to downtown and the beach and that is really the best thing about the hotel. I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fairly similar with different size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KTuccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innmombo, Owner at The Luther Ogden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our inn. Actually, I was quite surprised by the review. You seemed to be enjoying yourself as you sipped your wine on the wraparound porch and read your electronic book (even through breakfast). You took our restaurant recommendation and liked your meal and experience at the restaurant with the piano bar. We graciously allowed you to use the beach chairs and keep your car in the parking lot long after check-out time. In short, we were friendly and welcoming to you as we are to all of our guests. You are right...the house is old. Built in 1900, houses did not have spacious closets. If you needed more hangers, all you had to do was ask. Sometimes guests inadvertently take our hangers with them when they leave. I am truly surprised that you considered your room to be small. It had 2 beds (one king and one twin), a dresser, a night stand, a small table, a fireplace, a TV, and a large shower that could easily hold 6 people. Again, I apologize for your experience. Perhaps the anonimity of a hotel would have better suited your expectations and personality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Jan and her husband Mark welcomed us at the door. They were friendly and helpful and made our stay comfortable and cozy. Jan serves a wonderful breakfast too! I particularly liked that the Luther Ogden Inn is set back a few streets from the bars and restaurants. It's quiet and comfortable accommodation with a quick and easy walk to the "nightlife".

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tin_bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Many thanks to our wonderful hosts Jan and Mark for making our 10th wedding anniversary weekend a memorable one. We were treated to spacious accomodations in a very comfortable Victorian B&B with a delicious breakfast served on the front porch each morning. It was very convenient to walk the two blocks to the beach, rent bikes, walk into the town center, and generally enjoy with ease all the amenities Cape May has to offer.
Jan has a collection of Golden Book Encyclopedias from 1959 that are a treasure to re-read. A trip down memory lane in a comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Fourth of July fireworks right off the balcony was a treat as well. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycdanceteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Just got back from a 4 day stay..My wife and I had a great time..Mark and Jan are very friendly and we enjoyed talking to them and the other guests. They had a family function/pig roast that they invited us to on our last day there. When we return to beautiful Cape May, we do not feel the need to search for another place to stay. We will definatly book here again....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fender10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
110
Reviewed 21 June 2006

We had a great stay in Cape May at the Luther Ogden Inn. Our hosts were very gracious and friendly. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast on the outside porch. I can still taste the Raisin Bread French Toast! The room was very comfortable and pretty. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
chestertown md
14
Reviewed 20 May 2005

We stayed in this Inn for the first time in Sept 2003. After staying in another in Cape May, we were fairly disappointed in the accomodations. We found the innkeepers aloof. Advertising for the rooms was overstated as they advertised fireplaces and all that was there was small fire boxes. What a let down! Rooms were small. No afternoon treats, bikes, towels, etc. Overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
718 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Peter Shields Inn
The Peter Shields Inn
#9 of 40 in Cape May
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luther Ogden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luther Ogden Inn

Address: 815 Kearney Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2451
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £152 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Luther Ogden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luther Ogden Inn is a 4 room bed and breakfast located one block from the beach. All rooms have a private bath, TV, and individually controlled heat and air conditioning. We serve a full breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Luther Ogden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luther Ogden Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing