We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our favorite place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Roselle, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is our favorite place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Great place for couples. If you are looking to get away and just relax, this is where you want to stay. My husband and I love it here. We've been staying here for about 10 yrs. now. Bob & Cindy and the entire staff are very friendly. The rooms are beautiful & clean. Had excellent internet connections. We wouldnt stay any place else.
Review from The Schwerdt's

Room Tip: Ocean view would be the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSchwerdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    126
    36
    17
    14
See reviews for
81
356
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, N.Y.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was our first time to Cape May. We did some research and decided to stay at the sea crest motel. The people were very friendly at the front desk, the place was really clean and the pool was great. Oh I forgot, the room was awesome. We'll definitely will be going back there in the future. It was the perfect place for some well needed R&R.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueflame16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Sea Crest is right on the beach on the south side of Cape May beach --- that is where the best beaches are. You can walk across the street and hit the beach, or stay at the motel and hit the nice pool.

Stayed in the penthouse. Looks like it was 2 rooms mashed together - 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, with a big living area and functional kitchen area. Parking at the beach is always an issue, but it included and on site.

The staff was excellent and friendly.

Clean and nice room, but nothing special. For the price, I expected more.

I would definitely stay there again.

Parking was on site.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We went here because we saw it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor and its usually on the money, It was just as promised. Its not a fancy resort- you aren't gettting that in Cape May (or anywhere on the Jersey Shore). It is a slight step up from a typical motel, but then again we were in the renovated oceanfront suite. I can't speak for the efficiencies and classic motel rooms also available. Location is good. Last year we stayed at th La Mer, all the way at the other end of Beach Ave, which we liked except for the very loud pool life - its filled with children and the noise echoes through to the patios. While SeaCrest is touted as ADULTS ONLY, its not really, they just limit the number of kids/families to ensure its kept calm, which is a good thing. We have kids but when travelling without them, we do prefer a calmer experience!
It was mostly late 30's-to 60 year old couples. There were maybe 4 kids at anytime in the pool. Despite what others have said, its VERY close to the restaurants. Perhaps it depends on your age? We found it a fine walk- about 3 blocks along the water then 4 down and you are in Washington Mall. Its 1 block from the end of beach avenue so nice and quiet.

Room details:
1) They show coupons online but since they are not computerized, at checkin they will try to say you needed to claim the coupons upon reservation, which the site does NOT say. Seriously, it took 10 minutes for them to figure out taking $30 a day off the bill! Just persist. They also tell you they will charge you 5% less if you pay in cash.
2) Rooms are clean and new. Oceanfront suite is a bedroom, then large bathroom, full kitchen (but no oven), then living/dining room with view of the water. The bedroom has an old style look with cheesy motel curtains and quilt, but comfortable enough. A/C is only in the bedroom, and even after dropping it to 60- yes 60 - it barely cools the rest of the rooms. Ceiling fans would probably hep circulate the air better
.
3) Small things they could supply to make a difference:
a) An Iron. When I called to ask for one I was told I could go down to the 2nd floor laundry room and get one! I have never had a hotel tell ME to go get the iron rather than bring it to me.What could it cost? $30 per room?
b) A blender. Its a beach place! People like mixed frozen drinks.
c) A table in the bathroom. It has a tub/shower, toilet and pedastal sink with nowhere to put your toiletries. The odd thing is there is more than enough space for a table of some sort. In fact, we pulled the desk chair into the bathroom and used that.
d) Call me ol fashioned but give me a pen in my room!
e) Not a big deal, but it was funny when I asked the maid for a handtowel, saying we only got bath towels and a washcloth and she told me they don't do handtowels! We made do- just so odd! What hotel doesn't hand out handtowels??
f) ceiling fans in bdrm and or living room to move the cold air

Pool: Very clean- open 9-8pm. Ask at front desk for pool towels. They also have a hot tub that was clean but jets pretty useless. They only have 3 umbrellas, all attached to a stone tableset, so no one can realy lay down and relax under an umbrella. This was odd. Its SO hot you would think they could provide more umbrellas. Even the really bad motels we passed by had about 8 umbrellas each for the same size pool.

Beach: RIght acropss the street. Buy beach tag $5pp 1 day/$10 3 days, $15 1 week.pp.
Its too much to even ask this place for beach umbrella and chair service so I won't even suggest it.

Gym: I thought I read that they give you passes but the front desk seems to be a true timewarp. If you don't ask you won't get. They never told us and we didn' even ask. It was too painfull just to checkin and pay so we left it alone!

View: Oceanfront Suites have an oceanfront view, but note that you are set back with the pool in front of you. I actually think this might be better than being right on beach ave since its quieter and strollers can't peer into your room. These rooms also have sade cover and in the late afternoon that is a plus. The other rooms that face the pool wiht the ocean on an angle, have direct sunlight all day. Almost no one was out in those rooms until the sun went down. Additionally, the entrance to these have a shared patio where everyone walks by them to get to their room since the entrance IS the patio door (unlike the oceanfront suites that have a separate entrance in the back of the suite, so no one walks by your patio though it is also a shared open, non private patio)

Recommendations:
The Trolley doesn't come this far- you have to walk 3 blocks to the left to COngress Hall. If going to washingston mall you may as well walk the whole way!

You can rent bikes at Congress Hall for $12pp all day until 6pm. We did a great ride to Sunset beach (go early and you can catch the bread woman along he way selling Clay oven baked bread where cars line up and she sells out in 2 hours!)

2yrs in a row we ate at Cape May Fish Market and not disappointed. BYOB like many places. Simple but delicious fish cooked just right. Salads are HUGE so splut one. They can make a meal alone!
Lobster house is overrated. Popular simply because they are on the water and offer hundreds a seat and are at the entrance to Cape May. Food was average.
Rusty Nail- What a nice surprise. We failed to make reservations on sat night thinking we didn't need one and we were rong- we couldn't get in anywhere without a 45 min wait (next time plan to do Frescoes, Bank Street an Oyster Bay). So we made our way back toward Beach Ave and decided to try Rusty Nail which is always busy. Not fancy but great food, bartender, and live music. We will be back. (We may even check out the BEacj Shack its connected to not that we saw how much fun it looks)

All in all- the hotel was okay but I am still searching for the perfect Cape May place. We passed the Sandpiper Beach Club which is condos with Congress Hall access. Looks like fine accomodations (about $500 night in the summer for 1 bdrm). I wouldn't stay at any of the inns simply because they have no pools and we like the pool at the end of the day after a rough day of surf that you can really only dip in. If we did an inn would likely do Virginia Inn. I would stay here again if I didn't find better accomodations.
(I don't like them soliciting for Trip advisor reviews from you via your email as soon the day after you leave! Unelss of course they are tryly looking ti improve and do something with those reviews....)

Room Tip: Oceanfront Suites newest rooms- 3rd & 4th flr best view. 5% less if pay cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BigSasquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seacrestinn, Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We take reviews very seriously and value the feedback. During our high season we tend to get a little busy and details like the gym passes get by us. We apologize for this. In regards to some of your other concerns like the irons-we encourage our guests to use the irons in our laundry room due to the accidents we've had in the past. For example.. We've had carpet, bed spreads, and counter tops burned beyond repair from guests attempting to iron on things other than the provided ironing boards. Beach Service: Chairs and umbrellas are available directly across the street from the hotel at a nominal cost from Steggers Beach Service. However, we are constantly trying to improve our guests experience so next year we are considering providing beach chairs to our guests as another hotel amenity. Pool Umbrellas: We have invested in new umbrellas for the pool this year. It is a balancing act between lounge chairs and umbrellas out on our pool deck and we have found that the majority of our guests prefer the lounge chairs over the umbrellas. Your idea about pens in the rooms is an excellent one and we will be providing them in the near future.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our pool and spa area. Our guests truly enjoying relaxing in Cape Mays only outdoor hot tub. I would also like to thank you for the kind words about new ocean front suites. All of our suites are essentially new. They have new kitchens, bathrooms,hardwood floors and complete new furnishings. All of this has been completed in the last 2 years. Our goal is to provide premium quality accommodations at a competitive price level. I know you have many choices for accommodations in Cape May. We value each reservation and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our first time here we were delighted with the convenient location and how clean and well-cared for everything is. The 2nd time we upgraded to an ocean-view room. It had a gorgeous view, and had just been remodeled. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: If you only care about location, one of the more modestly-priced rooms is fine, but drinking your AM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriec341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Was our first time in Cape May and I think we picked the right place to stay. The location was great. The staff was accommodating and the place itself was kept very nicely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capemay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My sister and I have been coming to Cape May for more than 10 years and we always return to Sea Crest Inn. The staff are welcoming and friendly; the Inn is kept clean; our room is spacious with separate bedroom, kitchen area, and living/dining room. The staff who look after our room are very honest, friendly, and accommodating. This stay we noticed new furniture. We know the owners renovate regularly and our room was beautiful, and overlooked the ocean. The Inn is wonderfully located; on the quieter side of Beach Avenue but within walking distance to the Mall and to fabulous restaurants. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! Oh, and I should mention: my car loves being under the shade of the covered garage, not broiling under the relentless sun as my sister and I do out by the pool~! It is really our home away from home. Thanks, Sea Crest~!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
665 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
679 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Motor Inn

Property: Sea Crest Motor Inn
Address: 101 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#9 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Crest Inn is the perfect romantic Cape May getaway for couples. The Sea Crest is owned and operated by a local couple, and located in a quiet part of Cape May overlooking one of the largest beaches on the island. Close to the shopping area, fine restaurants and historical homes.With features like ocean front suites with fully equipped kitchens, the only out door whirlpool in Cape May and extra large balconies, why stay anywhere else? Close to restaurants, nightspots, fishing, tennis, golfing, swimming,biking shopping and just steps away from the beach, you haven't experienced the Jersey Shore until you've experienced Cape May at the Sea Crest Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Crest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Motor Hotel Cape May
Sea Crest Cape May
Cape May Sea Crest
Sea Crest Motor Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing