We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Crest Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed 4 nites in a suite over 4th of July week and couldn't have been happier. The room was spacious, very clean, and had everything we needed. Honestly the mattress was so comfortable I asked them what kind it was - both my husband and I slept like a baby. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and accommodating. The pool area was very nice and very clean and was really appreciated during that very hot stretch.

I would go back in a hearbeat and probably will after Labor day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
How great that you got to spend the 4th with us! You'll love the fall in Cape May. It is a quieter time but everything is still open and the water is warm. We can't tell you how much we appreciate your kind words about our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    126
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
80
351
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

My cousin, best friend and I have been staying at the Sea Crest every year for approximately 15 years. We have a lovely one bedroom efficiency facing the pool on the main floor. I'm perinoid about bugs and I can feel so relaxed at the Sea Crest because all of their mattresses and box springs are encased with a covering. The room is always nice and clean and the owners are awesome! They are really particular about everything. The help is friendly and I have to honestly say that I don't think we have ever had any issues at all in the 15 years we've been staying there. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you are germophobic.......I recommend it.....they take so many precautions to make sure things ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
What an AWESOME review. Thank you for giving us the privilege of serving you for the last 15 years. Knowing that our attention to cleanliness makes you more comfortable means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The service was rude.
When we checked in at 5:30, we were told (after asking if there was a AAA discount again) that we could only recieve a discount by paying in cash. Of course, no banks or ATMs would give us the amount of cash we needed at that hour. I said, 'well, we could have brought cash if we were told (I had asked about AAA discounts at reservation time) and was told that there were no discounts.
We spent soooo much money on the room! Also, we got in from Seattle meaning that we knew we'd be sleeping late so I requested no room service. We had our leisurely breakfast then went out for the day. Upon coming back to pick up an item around 3pm, my key wouldn't work! I went to the office and was told a new one had been made! Also, when I got inside, I noticed that room service had indeed happened (with their tip envelope clearly in sight!) I was astounded. My husband who is a journalist and professional photographer took the chance of leaving some cameras in the room that we would never have done. Also, the insistence for a cleaning tip was tacky especially since we didn't want room service!
The Eastern storm caused us to stay an additional night but since I wanted to avoid dealing with the rude ladies in the office, we scrounged around for another hotel. Basically we paid the same price for a room that wasn't quites as new and clean but the manager was sweet and made us feel more at home.

Room Tip: If you want a clean room hosted by controlling, rude women (I'm a woman btw) this is the place f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jynx58702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
We want to thank you for rating the Sea Crest Inn 5 star "excellent" for cleanliness, 4 star "very good" for value, location and sleep quality, and three star "average" for rooms, even though you stayed in our least expensive, small, basic motel room. Regarding the so called "rude desk clerks", most of your critical statements are just factually incorrect. 1) At the time of booking, your reservation, you were clearly told that we offered a 5% discount. We will gladly fax you the original booking form which indicates the 5% discount. 2) You indicated that you checked in at 5:30pm, when in fact your credit card sales receipt proves that you registered at 12:55pm. Therefore, you had the entire afternoon to go to a bank or ATM. I apologize (the 3rd time) for having your room cleaned. When our guests request that there room should not be serviced, we try our best to honor that, however we encourage our house keepers to, at minimum, remove the trash and provide fresh towels. All of our employees have background checks before being hired. Your particular housekeeper has been a friend of the owner's family for over twenty years. Also, we have never had anything stolen from our guest rooms in over 30 years of operation.
In summary, I find it difficult to understand how you could give such a low overall rating, when in fact you acknowledge that we rate excellent to very good in 4 out of the 6 rating criteria, and average for room quality. Most of our guests very much appreciate our commitment to our property's cleanliness. I'm sorry that it was such an issue for you. Finally, thank you for acknowledging that the motel you chose for your additional night charged the same price, "but wasn't quite as new and clean".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Best location, across from beach and near shops and restaurants. Super clean rooms and pool. Staff are wonderful. Excellent customer service, they make you feel that they value your business. Love this place...was there for a week over the 4th. Was going to go to Cape Cod or Maine for our second week but my husband said, why? You love it there! So we are headed back to the Sea Crest on July 21st. Adult atmosphere is very appealing. This will be our 3rd visit! I think we have found our "home" away from home. Can't wait..Cape May here we come!

The Sullivans

Room Tip: Rooms with views well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We do value your business. New England has nothing on us. (haha)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Sea Crest about fifteen years ago and decided to go back. At first we were disappointed because the rooms have heavy drapes. There were no curtains, so you either sat in a dark room or kept the drapes open and had no privacy. We were in a "garden view" room which actually overlooks a concrete patio with several lounge chairs, a grill and a table. Nobody uses it. It was a quiet room though.They advertise HBO but they don't have it. Overall though the place is a good value. There is a full-sized kitchen which was great. There's a large pool and whirlpool. The manager loaned us an extension cord for our DVD player. It's family-owned and well-maintained. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicafloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Sorry about the HBO we were being charged for two months without any service. We think our cable company has finally fixed it. We do not have rooms that face the gardens, you had what we call our "sundeck" rooms. We too love how quiet that area is. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Overall, was satisfied..room was small, but we were in a breezeway room..not as large as some others..good value..150 a night.At the end of the beach, so the walk is about 20 min to the washington st mall..very nice staff..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spraynetjavagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thanks for mentioning our breezeway rooms. They go quickly because of the value. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here for the first time last month, and loved it! Clean place right across from the beach, nice clean pool and sundeck, and balconies made it a relaxing getaway. It is ideal for couples wanting a quiet, restful retreat as it is toward the quiet end of the beach and the hotel attracts mostly couples (only one family when we went). The rooms were very clean and the staff was extremely guest-centered and helpful. Free covered parking was also a wonderful convenience, as we had no problem getting to Cape May's outstanding restaurants each night! We have already begun thinking about our next trip, and referred three friends looking for a getaway! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmiebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Sea Crest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We can't thank you enough for your kind words. We try our best to stay focused on pleasing our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Motor Inn

Property: Sea Crest Motor Inn
Address: 101 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#9 Family Hotel in Cape May
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Crest Inn is the perfect romantic Cape May getaway for couples. The Sea Crest is owned and operated by a local couple, and located in a quiet part of Cape May overlooking one of the largest beaches on the island. Close to the shopping area, fine restaurants and historical homes.With features like ocean front suites with fully equipped kitchens, the only out door whirlpool in Cape May and extra large balconies, why stay anywhere else? Close to restaurants, nightspots, fishing, tennis, golfing, swimming,biking shopping and just steps away from the beach, you haven't experienced the Jersey Shore until you've experienced Cape May at the Sea Crest Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Motor Hotel Cape May
Sea Crest Cape May
Cape May Sea Crest
Sea Crest Motor Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing