We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“first class motel”
Reviewed 25 August 2008

from the moment we checked in ,through check out .my wife and 3 children felt completely catered to. the rooms were beautiful. complete ocean views. steps to the beach. the pool and grounds were perfection at its best. the rooms are extremely clean. the staff are very helpful and knowledgable .wildwoods boardwalk and amusement parks are just over the bridge.the anbiance of cape may and the sea crest motor inn is extremely relaxing. the area is a melting pot of 5 star restaurants.my wife and i have stayed around the world . the seacrest motor inn is by far one of the most joyeous experiences we have ever encountered. we give many thanks to robert and cindy progner.and of course vivian the office manager who made sure our vacation was perfect! we cant wait to go back..
many thanks,
marc,sophia and 3 spoiled kids
satellite bch,florida

  • Liked — teh experience of the motel ,owners and staff
  • Disliked — thats a tough question
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    126
    36
    17
    14
See reviews for
80
352
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My fiance and I stayed at Sea Crest for two nights over a weekend. Since we didn't plan on spending much time in the room, we didn't really care where we stayed. The smallest room with a queen size bed and no balcony was the only available room during our stay but it was nice and clean. Good for a weekend trip. Nothing fancy but not bad either. The Sea Crest Inn is conveniently located across from the beach. Very close to the main town square. We walked everywhere. Overall, i would recommend the Sea Crest Inn. Great if you are looking for a basic but nice place to stay for a weekend trip.

  • Liked — Conveniently located to beach and town square
  • Disliked — Not much to complain about, a good place for a simple beach motel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank litlcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2008

This was our third trip to the Sea Crest and we have enjoyed every one. The location is perfect for beach access, shopping and restaurant-exploration. The rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean.

We did find the air conditioning to be lacking. There is one unit for the two-room suite. This year we were in a room with the bedroom in the back and the living room facing the pool. The living room never cooled off enough to be comfortable on particularly hot days.

Wireless Internet is advertised, but we found it to be very unreliable, so if you need to do work there, be warned. Next time I will just leave the computer at home!

Things to bring with you:
-a clock! (only one on the microwave),
-paper towels for the kitchenette (thank you to the previous reviewer who mentioned that)
-beach towels for the pool and the beach
-maybe a fan for the living room

We loved the chairs on the deck and the beach right across the street. I'm sure we will go again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet issues
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationingTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We spent nine incredible days at the Sea Crest Motor Inn. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the staff was always willing to meet all your needs.

The pool area was immaculate and the pool was cared for each and every day. There were plenty of lounge chairs for all the guests.

We would like to thank Bob and Cyndi (the owners) for a very pleasant vacation.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to going again next year.

  • Liked — the pool area and elevator
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmfromStatenIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

I took my girlfriend to Cape May for a romantic getaway. As a young 20-something on a budget, I found that the Sea Crest's rates were well within my price range, and after reading many good reviews on here I decided to give it a shot.

The Location: Sea Crest is in a perfect spot. It's on the "quiet" end of Beach Drive in Cape May, near the dead end with views of the Cape May Lighthouse just a quick 3 minute walk from the hotel. It's also right on the beach, which is extremely convenient. Not only this, but it's a short drive from the downtown shopping district, which was also nice.

The Rooms: We got a room with the "Sundeck View". It wasn't much of a view at all, actually, and we were looking at the back of another building, but honestly, we expected that since we went with the cheapest room and the view didn't matter to us since we'd be out all day. The room itself was a LOT bigger than I expected. It had a full kitchen and a separate living room with a balcony. It was really nice. It actually felt like a small apartment! The beds were comfy and the cleaning service was very good. I really liked all the accomodations and I would totally go back given the chance.

I only wish the pool was open an hour or two later because it would be wonderful to go for a nighttime swim under the stars. Otherwise, this place is perfect if you are into a basic, clean hotel in a prime location.

  • Liked — Perfect Location, Price
  • Disliked — Pool Hours, Hot Tub was Cold
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Helcaraxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Arrived in Cape May late on a Friday night from the Cape May - Lewes Ferry. Tired from travelling all day and looking for a place to stay. The Sea Crest had availavilibity at a reasonable price. The room was large and comfy with the firmest we've had on our entire week of beach hopping.

Had a corner room overlooking the pool and beach with sliding screened doors so we can have the fresh ocean breeze and the door to the room had another door with slats so you can get more fresh air and still lock your room.

Very clean and great location, just a few blocks from the main tourist area but away from the crowds. Absolutely lovely. They have parking on site.

  • Liked — Large comfortable room
  • Disliked — My friend would have preferred to be on a lower floor as you have to walk on the balcony to the room and we were on the top floor.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 4 days 3 nights. We selected it as it caters to Adults, allows no pets and is a no smoking facility. We reserved a luxury king-bedded suite with a semi-private balcony. We had a view of the pool, the ocean and their well-maintained gardens. The accommodations were perfect, the location ideal and it was very quiet and relaxing. We also had a fully-equipped kitchen, and they had a small basket on the dining table filled with coffee, condiments and goodies. You get parking for one vehicle per room and the parking area is very convenient, safe, and well lit. They have a heated pool, hot tub, gazebo, lounge chairs and the beach is right across the street. You do have to pay to get on the beach, but the rate is only $4.00 per day. They do not provide towels at the pool, so you must remember to bring your own. In addition to the pool area, they also have a private sun deck, barbeque area, and laundry room which has irons and ironing boards for your use. The owner and the entire staff goes above and beyond to accommodate their guests. Most of all, the accommodations, grounds, and parking lot are immaculately clean. Their website accurately shows their facility, so you are not in any way disappointed when you arrive.

I would have rated the Sea Crest as excellent except for the fact that they did not accept any credit cards. You had to mail in a one-night deposit well in advance, then you received a bill for the balance due. The balance due is payable upon arrival and they only accept travellers cheques, certified check or cash. The deposit is applied to your last day of your stay and is only refundable if you notify them 2 weeks prior to your arrival date minus a 25% cancellation fee. The hotel is listed in the AAA travel guide, but in this guide, it does state that they honor credit cards? I found this policy very extreme, unaccommodating and inconvenient. Also, I think that they should advise their guests that they do not provide towels at the pool, since a vast majority of places do, and if I didn't ask, I would not have packed towels.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Did nit accept credit cards
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank janie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Motor Inn

Property: Sea Crest Motor Inn
Address: 101 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#9 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Crest Inn is the perfect romantic Cape May getaway for couples. The Sea Crest is owned and operated by a local couple, and located in a quiet part of Cape May overlooking one of the largest beaches on the island. Close to the shopping area, fine restaurants and historical homes.With features like ocean front suites with fully equipped kitchens, the only out door whirlpool in Cape May and extra large balconies, why stay anywhere else? Close to restaurants, nightspots, fishing, tennis, golfing, swimming,biking shopping and just steps away from the beach, you haven't experienced the Jersey Shore until you've experienced Cape May at the Sea Crest Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sea Crest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Motor Hotel Cape May
Sea Crest Cape May
Cape May Sea Crest
Sea Crest Motor Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing