We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Inn at the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Park
Ranked #24 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 September 2012

From the minute I called to inquire about availability to the minute we left (with a hug), we knew that we had chosen the right place for us. It was quaint and inviting, and the food was very tasty. Jay and Mary Ann went out of their way for us. From hiding the key so we could get in while they were away, to allowing a couple of drop in guests to share coffee with us in the morning. It is obvious that they love what they do which makes everyone more comfortable.
Our room was on the 3rd floor which was a climb but well worth it. The room was clean, roomy and complete with fresh flowers on the dresser. The location is close to the beach and shopping. Close by restaurants with reservations made by Jay made it very special. We would stay again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloesgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

Once again, we had a wonderful experience at the Inn. Jay and Mary Ann are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to make us feel welcome. We had a lovely room with our own deck. Getting to the beach was easy and a short walk. Every morning we were delighted with our breakfast and we looked forward to our 5:00 wine and hors d'oeuvres out on the front porch. We will definitely stay again when we are down in Cape May.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bioprof909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Recently spent 2 nights at the Inn at the Park with a girlfriend. Jay and Mary Ann, the owners and innkeepers, run a top notch bed and breakfast and are wonderful people! They made us feel right at home. Jay is the most fabulous chef - our breakfasts and 5:30 hors d' oeuvres were out of this world! We were so full from breakfast that we did not eat lunch and then enjoyed our wonderful cocktail hour. Jay and Mary Ann also helped us with restaurant recommendations as well as making reservations at some of the best restaurants in Cape May. We have been traveling to Cape May every summer and this trip was the best due to Jay & Mary Ann's TLC, sincerity, and effort to make our stay extra special. We will be returning next year to enjoy Cape May as well as to visit with our new friends!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to view all 6 rooms on the property and they were all stunning an unique in decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

It's best to book in advance when planning a trip to Cape May, NJ, but my girlfriend Sarah and I were fortunate enough to find this beach town B&B at the last minute. We called Friday morning to inquire about a room for the same night. Lucky for us, they had a suite available, so we reserved it and promptly made our way down the shore. We paid heavily for making plans so late, though: over $330 for the one night. Anyway, Mary Ann informed us as we were leaving the next day that she doesn't usually rent for single nights at all, so I felt happier about our stay knowing that she had made an unusual exception for us.

The Sancerre Suite had a large, firm bed with plenty of pillows and a quilt. There was an attached room with a pull-out futon, a TV, a dresser and an armoire for our clothes. The bathroom had a double shower (kinky!) and some really delicious smelling soaps. The room was mainly decorated with knick-knacks and doilies, and there was a nice journal or two signed by many of the previous occupants of the room.

After talking with Jay and Mary Ann about our plans for the day, our first stop was the beach, about an 8 minute walk down the street. Its not the closest spot by the shoreline, but looking at all of the Victorian houses along the way makes up for it. Don't bother bringing beach supplies. Our stay at the Inn included a beach bag and a couple of beach towels, as well as free beach chairs to use -- nice. There is also a full shower outside for washing off the sand before coming back inside. After the beach, we stopped at the Firehouse Museum, had lunch at the Ugly Mug, spent the rest of the afternoon and evening wandering the Mall and promenade, and finally made sure to catch the sunset and nightly flag ceremony at Sunset Beach. Be sure to grab a photo of the concrete ship before it disappears!

The next day, there were two breakfast tables that each sat 6, and it was funny because we were seated according to our juice preferences. Mary Ann had made sure to ask about our food preferences well in advance of the meal (Sarah is a vegetarian who eats fish and eggs), and everything came out SO good. I loved the down home style meal. It was very rich but definitely gave me the fuel I needed to make the long drive home in the Jersey shore traffic.

All in all, Mary Ann and Jay run a good business. They are friendly and thoughtful people and I'm glad that they found space for us at a time when most of the places we called were thoroughly booked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neurohr-pierpaoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I decided last minute to get away for our 42 nd wedding anniversary. We found Mary Ann and Jay to be delightful hosts. Breakfast and 5:00 pm "SNACKS" were delicious. I recently had a knee replacement so the Cottage room was easy to enter and was on the ground floor. Definately would come back and recommend others to try this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sconnely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Jay and Mary Ann are wonderful hosts. The sit-down breakfasts and late afternoon wine and hors d'œuvres gave us a chance to meet other guests while enjoying the delicious food. The inn is in a quiet neighborhood, just a few blocks away from the Washington Inn, where we had a great dinner on the first night of our stay. We hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: The LaDame room has a great jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princeton_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband, teenage son, and I spent a wonderful three days at Inn at the Park. The breakfast and afternoon hors d'œuvres were delicious. Mary Ann and Jay even accommodated our son's preferences. The accommodations were charming and well-kept. We even had a separate room for our son. Mary Ann and Jay were also gracious hosts--advising us on restaurants and things to do in Cape May, checking in on our thoughts, and generally making us feel at home. I highly recommend this B&B, for families and for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.6 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Henry Sawyer Inn
Henry Sawyer Inn
#25 of 40 in Cape May
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park

Address: 1002 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1737 (Formerly Plum Palace in the Park)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £112 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Park is an 1893 Queen Anne bed and breakfast for food and wine lovers with modern amenities. There are 5 guests rooms and 1 suite with air conditioning, ceiling fans, 1 whirlpool, 1 soaking tub, 3 two-person showers, TVs, 3 fireplaces, family cottage accommodations, and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing