We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast in Cape May”
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was our second time at the John Wesley. Both times, our hosts, Bonnie and Lance were very gracious and made us feel right at home. The off street parking is wonderful, our rooms both times were beautiful and the breakfasts were delicious. To top all of this off, on our final night there, I was treated to piano playing and singing, bringing back some very nice memories from years ago for me. Thank you again, Bonnie and Lance for such a welcoming atmosphere, I will surely recommend it to all I know.

Room Tip: I believe in this inn, any room will be a good choice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for John Wesley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We've been visiting Cape May frequently over the last 10 years, and it is in Cape May that we have recognized the role of innkeeper in making a vacation choice exceptional. This is certainly the case in the gracious greeting and attentive care we received from Bonnie and Lance. No detail was too small to concern them, whether it was coordinating the logistics of our daughters' arrival, or providing utensils for our afternoon picnic. Furthermore, Bonnie and her assistant Cindy, eagerly responded to our inquiries on restaurants, antiquing and local produce stands, and we happily became acquainted with new secrets contained in this amazing destination. Add to all this some very critical facts about the Inn: 1) the rooms, common areas, and outdoor space have been beautifully and lovingly finished and maintained, 2) its location is IDEAL, being less than a block from the beach, and in the midst of historic Cape May so that one is only an easy walk from the shopping and restaurant centers as well as more remote beach fronts and lovely residential neighborhoods, and 3) as a guest of this Inn, all one's beach needs are available from comfy beach chairs to towels and coolers. In a town full of appealing B & B's The John Wesley is among the very best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

It was a first for us at a B&B and at Cape May. We chose the John Wesley Inn because it was in a convenient location. Our room was very nice with all the Victorian furnishings. It was also very clean which is very important to us. The food was excellent. Bonnie and Lance's hospitality is beyond great. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephineFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This review is long overdue. Joan and I were aware we would not have a summer vacation this year due to my work schedule. So we decided to take a weekend getaway at one of our favorite shore destinations, Cape May. My son found this Inn online and we booked it for a June weekend. When we arrived we were greeted by Bonnie as she was showing others around the Inn.It is just fabulous,inside and out, warm and filled with beautiful antiques. Bonnie,took us to our room with an adjacent sun room. It was immaculate and tastefully decorated with a cozy fireplace. Bonnie is clearly a people person with a warm heart as is her husband Lance. They are what make this place special.Our weekend was filled with wonderful breakfasts,relaxing time at the beach ,sight seeing and guests that were delightful to get to know.We really enjoyed the outdoor private shower with hot water after a day on the beach,which is a short half block away. We encourage you to consider the John Wesley in Cape May . It's a Winner !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaefster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

From the time we parked our vehicle, until we walked out down the porch, our visit was one of the BEST Bed & Breakfast expierences ever. Bonnie and the hospitality her entourage extends is beyond reproach... Breakfast and the friends you meet at the table are above all... P S.. Buy a red mug... They are a welcome addition to any coffee drinkers ensamble... Jeannie & I look forward to our winter visit...Love you John Wesley Inn

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B before and never had been to Cape May. I chose John Wesley Inn because of the location and their accommodations. Our room was quaint with Victorian style furnishings but also had the modern luxuries of TV and AC. Bonnie and Lance were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinejross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had the new 2 bedroom unit. We were amazed with the attention to detail with everything down to soft close drawers and cabinets. The quality of everything was beyond what you would expect in a vacation rental. Bonnie and Lance clearly took the time to learn what families would like in this unit and then they did it to perfection.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZRONS65GTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £99 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Wesley Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing