We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comforting Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #4 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawthorne, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Comforting Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We recently stayed at the John Wesley house in Cape May, NJ. Bonnie and her staff are so nice and welcoming of all her guest and makes a delicious breakfast each morning. The inn is charming, clean and has a great location- within walking distance to numerous restaurants, shopping and of course the beach. We enjoyed our stay and will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MERLOT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    40
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
503
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

From the very start, this was a memorable vacation. Bonnie, Lance and Todd made us feel welcome to share their home. The location can't be beat. Just 1/2 block to the Beach and close to everything else. We stayed in one of the Carriage Apartments (B) and it was well appointed, comfortable and fully functional. We prepared and ate some meals in the spacious dining area of the apartment. The (2) bedrooms and living room were all equipped with TV's, central air and ceiling fans. Based on this visit, I can only state positive facts concerning this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at this beautiful bed & breakfast at Cape May as my husband's surprise for my birthday. I can say it was one of my best birthdays... and I didn't want to leave.

We fell in love with the location (walking distance to the beach & the town center), the cleanliness, the service and the relaxing atmosphere of John Wesley Inn. And the lovely host, Bonnie, made us feel like we were guests at her home, offering towels, beach chairs, water and coolers for our time at the beach.

The room was a nice size, very cozy and clean. And I personally fell in love with the bathroom with a skylight. I felt like I was in a spa, thanks to the beautifully smelling soaps and special bathrobes provided.

The decoration of the home makes you feel like you went back to a Victorian time. Delicious breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room, making you feel like you're just visiting a very good friend of yours:)

I would definitely go back to this place again.

Thank you Bonnie!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelisD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The little details make this a wonderful place to stay. Just spending time looking around the rooms makes for an enjoyable evening. There are so many wonderful places to visit within walking distance. This is the place to stay if your visiting Cape May

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icanUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the John Wesley for 3 days and enjoyed every minute! The room was very clean and cozy. The air conditioning in our room was phenomenal...so very comfortable! Every little detail right down to the chocolate kisses on the dresser added to the perfect atmosphere. The breakfasts were superb! Bonnie was a wonderful host and addressed any needs that we had. She is the best innkeeper...pure and simple. We highly recommend the John Wesley. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend at the John Wesley Inn. The town is wonderful, especially if you are either empty nesters or have young children. There is not much in Cape May for teenagers. The accommodations were extremely nice and Bonnie is an excellent innkeeper intent on making your stay top notch. The Inn offered beach chairs, coolers, towels and even ice packs for your time on the beach. Very thoughtful!! Our room was very nice and comfortable although not large. The Inn is tastefully decorated with lots of personal touches throughout. Breakfasts were very nice and plenty to eat. We have never stayed at any other B&B's in Cape May, but have been to several other in the northeast. I would say this rates as one of the best. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at the John Wesley for our anniversary recently. It was incredible! The Inn itself was gorgeous and I couldn't find anything I didn't enjoy about it. The off street parking was a nice tidbit as well. THE BEST PART - The owners' were impressively hospitable. My other half told the owners about my dietary needs so instead of a regular breakfast of cereals and such, they made us something special. There were also plain strawberries instead of chocolates in the room. It truly is the little touches that make things unforgettable. They NAILED it! I would recommend this place to anyone. I love it!!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful and SUNNY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smootysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Property: John Wesley Inn
Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Wesley Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing