We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful first experience at a B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #4 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful first experience at a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We are so happy our children selected the John Wesley Inn as an anniversary gift. This is a beautifully maintained historic property with parking on the premises. Bonnie and Lance were warm and gracious hosts. Location is phenomenal, 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to center of town. Bike rental down the block. Our room was clean and very comfortable especially the firm bed. The breakfasts were delicious and served on beautiful china. It was obvious much thought and planning went into making the guests feel at home. Availability of beach chairs, beach towels, coolers, and other amenities. We are definitely planning on returning to the John Wesley Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    40
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
503
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great location - easy walk to the beach and everything in town - and they have everything you need right there chairs, towels, boards, parking. And this is the prettiest house in the famed Stockton row. Great food and amenities; kind hosts. Only negative was the mattress was hard and room had sparse lighting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

A last-minute trip to Cape May introdued us to Bonnie and Lance at The John Wesley Inn. It is hard to find combined accommodations for three of us, but Bonnie suggested we could rent apartment B by the night if it wasn't taken for the whole week. She was very timely in keeping us posted, and we spent three nights there. It was a very comfortable two-level carriage house with a spiral stairway to the upper level. All the amenities were there and the fully stocked kitchen made it easy to prepare food in the kitchen. There is a Murphy bed on the lower level that is very comfortable as is the double bed upstairs. The location is perfect for walking all around town and Bonnie's recommendations for local restaurants were very helpful. Lance was wonderful about juggling our car around in their off-street lot. We would certainly enjoy going back to the John Wesley.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Traveling on my own, I did my research and found the John Wesley Inn. Sounded great. It was more than I could have hoped for. Bonnie and Lance made me feel so comfortable and were so kind and eager to make me feel at home. The breakfasts were excellent. Gourmet level and served on beautiful china with real silverware. My room was a wonderful place to relax, clean and comfortable. Location so convenient to the beach as well as the center of town. I highly recommend the John Wesley Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our second visit to the John Wesley Inn, and again, it was wonderful. Breakfast is served to perfection each morning. Bonnie, the owner, is the perfect hostess. The location is great, within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the beach only 2 blocks away.
Our room on the second floor was spacious, clean, and very Victorian! I am sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: Speak to Bonnie personally about each room, for size and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Always nervous trying a new B&B. This one was such a great find that I don't think I'd look any further on a future trip. Bonnie could not have been more accommodating. It was beautiful, incredibly clean and I can't say enough about the gourmet breakfasts we were served each morning. Breakfast was our favorite meal of the day! She has such a great attention to detail and there was nothing we could have wanted that wasn't offered. Being half a block to the beach did not hurt either! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is our fourth year staying here. We have stayed in the inn and the carriage house and we love them both. The hospitality of Bonnie and Lance keep us coming back. The location of this inn is perfect, close to the beach and downtown. You could not hope for more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraruoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Property: John Wesley Inn
Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Wesley Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing