We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Cozy”
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Bonnie and Lance are the best Innkeepers! They make sure you have what you need to make you feel at home. My boyfriend is a Type I Diabetic so Bonnie made sure that she accomodated for his diet at breakfast every morning. She also would have a snack and iced tea out in the afternoons. She made an unsweetened iced tea just for my boyfriend. Lance had moved our car in a way that it would be easier to get out to go to dinner our first night there. That was nice of him to do since we were uncomfortable about parking our car since the drive way was a little narrow. He took over and parked us comfortably. It is a home away from home. You truly feel like you are a part of the family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

we stayed at the best b&b in cape may, nj. clean, friendly, great breakfast, close to the beach and off street parking. can't go wrong. been going to cape may for years and love the town and the inn we stayed at.

Room Tip: all nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hondaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I wanted a quick getaway vacation in our mid-Atlantic area. Cape May and the John Wesley Inn (bed and breakfast) fit the bill perfectly. The inn is located centrally so we left our car in its off-street parking most of the time. The breakfasts (prepared by owner Bonnie Pontin and her staff) were the culinary highpoint of our three day visit. Each morning started with pleasant conversation around the large dining table as we renters (and Bonnie) helped each other select the day's activities. We rented the room with attached porch and were very glad we did. The inn is only about a block from the beach and relaxing on our private second floor porch, enjoying the sea breeze definitely added to our vacation. This will be our preferred place to stay in Cape May.

Room Tip: If possible, get the room with private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have visited Cape May about 4 times in the past and always want to try a new B&B. This was the one we wanted to try our 5th visit. We hadn't been to Cape May in about 10 years and so learned that the JWI had new owners. We were absolutely delighted and satisfied with everything about this Inn! My husband's first priority is that an inn have off street parking and this does. The rooms are beautifully, thoughtfully decorated with a fireplace included (did not use but would be wonderful in the Christmas season). Everything was very clean. Bonnie & Lance are very warm, inviting hosts. Cindy helped with getting the breakfasts and she was always very pleasant and friendly. Full breakfasts were different each day (we stayed a week in late September) and ALL of them were excellent! We never once wanted any lunch during the day and just waited until dinner. There is something interesting to see each direction one looks......Bonnie has a real flare for decorating and setting a beautiful dining table. Our breakfast conversations were a highlight of our trip...we enjoyed meeting/talking with the other guests, Bonnie, and Cindy. Cookies and iced tea in the afternoons were a delight to enjoy on the front porch. The location is superb....once parked, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. There are so many high end restaurants within walking distance, as well as the Washington mall and beach. Bike rentals are just down the street. We definitely want to return to this inn when we come back. We have stayed at many B&B's over the years when we travel, and this one is the best in all regards! You won't be disappointed. Our stay could not have been better! Beautiful, hospitable inn....the way it is supposed to be!

Room Tip: Our room #3 on second floor was very comfortable...plenty of space. Had a settee in the bay window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4952Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

For the past few years, we have spent the weekend after Labor Day at the John Wesley. This year the weather was perfect and so was the Inn. Weather may change but this Inn does not. It remains beautifully restored and furnished and is impeccably clean. The rooms are beautiful and the beds and appointments are great. We got to tour their new carriage house (apartment) and it was beautiful. Bonnie and Lance spared no expense in this building. The best part of the trip was, as always, the breakfast. Try fresh fruit, Belgian waffle topped with fresh strawberries and homemade whipped cream and finished with powdered sugar. Toss in a side of peppered bacon, fresh muffin and the best coffee in town and there you have it. We come back because it doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: You can see all the rooms on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Celebrated our anniversary but only had one night to visit. We loved the meticulously maintained and renovated home and garden and the many beautiful and personal touches. The hosts Cindy and Lance are charming, knowledgable, and genuinely sociable. Located in the heart of the best of old Cape May. The price was very reasonable. Breakfast was great, not continental and home-cooked. Has some hidden talent too: a killer garage with some fine autos. With 7 rooms, this could be a great place for a reunion.

Room Tip: If you need a very dark room to sleep in, beware the skylight rooms on a full moon! Great porches in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the Carriage House which is located behind the B&B. It was well equipped with many modern amenities. It has 2 apartments and ours was the larger one. We never heard our neighbors. Space was cleverly used and we enjoyed a beautiful two bedroom, two and a half bath home with full kitchen, living room, dining room, and porches. The home was thoughtfully furnished. The AC worked very well but mostly we turned it off and enjoyed the sea air. Why rent a condo when you can be in the heart of it all and enjoy the history and the charm?
Bonnie and Lance are awesome hosts. I found Bonnie's hospitality was legendary when I reviewed the property online. It was all true! While we didn't mingle often because we weren't in the main property, our few interchanges were delightful. Bonnie sure knows how to make her guests feel special.
I have heard that parking can be a bit of an issue for rentals in Cape May but not so here. Lots of parking and our host, Lance, was more than happy to do the parking for us.
The question for us is always would we go back. We say of John Wesley Inn: "Absolutely!" We want to try the B&B part some time and hope to visit the carriage house again. The reason? Near the beach, near Washington Street, on a street with lots of lovely gingerbread homes, personable and caring owners, so much to do and see nearby, and a peaceful and enjoyable retreat at the end of a busy day.

Room Tip: There are 2 apartments. We had an adult family member with us so we chose the 2 bedroom. There is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sargeatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
429 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £102 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Wesley Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing