We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect”
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #2 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, PA
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in the Mount Vernon room (number 5). The room is spacious, with a sitting room and nice bath. The room and every inch of the house are immaculate and very clean and quaint. Lovely property all around. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful, and the host Bonnie and Lance were a pleasure.
Highly recommended. On site parking was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phdedieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    40
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
516
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent Memorial Day 2014 here and rented one of the apartments. It was impeccably clean and well thought out, like walking into your own home, but better. The location is steps to the beach and all local dining and shopping. The hosts are wonderful people and we can't wait to stay here the next time we are in Cape May.

Room Tip: We can only speak for the apartments, which are perfect for families and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrilee143 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedesboro, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I had a great stay at John Wesley Inn! We never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and were pleasantly surprised! We had our wedding the night before and we were so exhausted from planning, it was the best sleep we had in months! Bonnie and Lance were wonderful, and breakfast was out of this world!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaAllonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The JWI is a nicely restored Victorian Inn, well appointed, genuinely comfortable. Access to our large two-room, third floor suite was a breeze and the location was luxuriously peaceful. We found the entire Inn to be impeccably clean and beautifully maintained. The innkeepers are kind, thoughtful and welcoming. The location is just steps to the ocean, restaurants and shopping. The Inn is surrounded by a beautiful residential neighborhood, perfect for cool evening walks. On-site parking is another plus. We enjoyed our stay and will return to JWI whenever we visit Cape May.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quahaugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at several B&B's and this one is top notch. Bonnie, our hostess was amazing. Treated us like family. And is a great cook to boot. Rooms were clean and the whole place just felt so welcoming. And the location is great. You can see the beach from the driveway and only a couple blocks from the Washington St Mall. We just got back and are already planning our next visit to include the John Wesley Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I got married at the cove and stayed here for our honeymoon. The Inn keepers were very welcoming and very friendly. Everything was perfect! The food was very good as well, as I had to get the recipe from the breakfast to make at home.
We felt so comfortable, we would love to go back again.

Room Tip: We actually were there in April. No pool, but close to the beach! Perfect stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in November and found both the establishment and the owners to be top notch. Bonnie is a great hostess and makes all feel welcome. We had never stayed in a B & B before, I think we may be spoiled now and HAVE to keep coming back!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 39 in Cape May
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Property: John Wesley Inn
Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Wesley Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing