We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will not return!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn of Cape May

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn of Cape May
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Sammy0314
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will not return!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

On the whole, the staff wea very nice, especially in the dining room. However, the rooms were too small for 2 adults and 2 children. The bathroom had a small shower stall and if the shower door was open it would hit into the bathroom door. Also, the locks on the door did not make me feel secure.

The worst part of the experience is the pool lady. IF yoy have small children DO NOT stay a this hotel. She is mean and gossips. I do not think she likes children ) After she comes over to literally "scream " at the children (this is after the children's parents had already corrected them), she then walks around ant tells all the other guest what happend. She is just NASTY. Rumor is the Inn of Cape May and the hotel next door share the pool. The {Prison Gaurd pool lady is just ride. Dhe had nerve to tell my famyly, "I know what kind of people you are!)

Thank you for listening!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medtar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    60
    34
    26
    34
See reviews for
62
87
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I spent a few days the first week of August at the Inn of Cape May and loved it. If you are looking for a turn of the century inn with lots of character and uniqueness, this is the place for you. The inn is over 100 years old, so if you want modern furnishings, you'd probably be happier elsewhere. Our room had a private bathroom and air conditioning - something you wouldn't expect in a 100 year old place! It is located right across the street from the beach and you can sit on their porch in rocking chairs and watch the ocean. It's location is close to several restaurants and stores. Breakfast is included and they give you a wide selection of choices plus everything was delicious. The staff at both the inn and the restaurant were pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood looking at the hugh selection of Victorian homes. We are definately going to return.

Room Tip: If money is an issue, ask the reservation desk for the small, double bed room which is half the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My family (Wife, two daughters 12 & 9) spent two nights at the Inn of Cape May in July 2011.

Arrival: Parked in lot across the street from the hotel. Check in was ok – some issues with using a hotel gift certificate along with cash and a credit card to cover the difference. One person at the front desk didn’t know what to do. Front desk staff was not the most friendly I have encountered. No offer to assist with luggage (not that we had much) nor did I see anyone available to help.

Room: We had a two room suite on the 3rd floor just off the staircase. One room had a queen bed and the other room had two twins. The rooms were connected via a door and a large shared bathroom. There was a wicker chair and wicker dressers in each room as well as two small older TVs. Our room also had a sink. Everything in the room seemed worn and old.

Since this is a VERY old hotel, the duct work for the AC was added along the way – so if you are tall, watch your head in places.

While my kids had no problem with their beds, I couldn’t stand mine. As other reviewers have pointed out, the beds are encased in plastic which makes noise every time you move. Besides the plastic, the bed just wasn’t comfortable.

The nicest part of the suite was the bathroom. It was large, clean and had a nice shower. However the towels were industrial grade (like the kind you might take to the gym). Matter a fact; I am quite sure I saw these towels in bulk at Costco.

Pools: They share an outdoor pool with the hotel next door. It was nice enough, a bit small and can get crowded. As mentioned in another review, the pool closes at 6:30pm! That is unacceptable.

Restaurants: You receive a coupon good for $11 for breakfast at their onsite restaurant. The food was excellent. The first morning we went over our $11 allowance and weren’t charged extra. The second morning we were. We only had breakfast there, so not sure how lunch/dinner was – but the restaurant never seemed crowded for those meals.

Checkout: Again, not the friendliest staff.

Misc:

The hotel is like a museum – except you can purchase just about everything on display, which I thought was a bit tacky.

Every room in the hotel is different, so unless you know what room you specifically want (based on a recommendation or previous stay) and what kind of view, it is the luck of the draw as to what your room will look like.

There is one small elevator (one person + elevator operator). Don’t expect to use this on a regular basis. We used the stairs exclusively.

The hotel has a nice wrap around porch - Nice to sit out at night.

The hotel is right across the street from the beach which was convenient.

Closing:

I will admit I am a hotel snob. I used to travel for business frequently, and my preference is a Hyatt, Marriott, or some of the nicer Holiday Inns (especially the recently refurbished ones).

The hotel has a lot of potential if someone would buy it, close it for a year, and renovate it. For the price per night, I expected a WHOLE lot more.

There are more modern hotels in Cape May, including one or two that I believe just opened up this season. We will be checking those out next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I was expecting a beautiful and charming Victorian room when I stayed at the Inn of Cape May. The front desk clerk said we had the prettiest room at the Inn. So with much anticipation, we climbed the steps to our room. What we found when we opened the door was anything than beautiful. The wallpaper was drab, the furntiure was mismatched antiques, carpeting was a poor grade of industrial carpeting. Bed linens, towels and drapes looked like they were bought at a bargain outlet. The blanket was frayed.

We had a suite. The second room contained a wicked chest and chair and a FUTON? A futon, what were they thinking.

The Inn at Cape May needs to think about theguest rooms. For the price they charge I expected alot better. Front desk staff needs to lose their attitude and treat their customers with respect.

They don't need to worry, I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: looking for quiant, try a B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniversary91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel is like walking around a museum, if you like that sort of thing and can appreciate historical places and antiques, then great ! When we first walked in the hotel to check in, we immediately noticed NO AIR CONDITIONING... only the rooms are air conditioned, so walking around the hall, lobby, and hallway restrooms are ... not completely pleasant in the hot weather.

The restaurant was fantastic, the rooms were fine, bathroom clean, the beds ?? A little hard and very plasticy sounding ? Sounded like we were sleeping on plastic bags. Did they think we were bed-wetters? eh.... is there another way you guys can keep the beds sanitary besides having rubbery/plastic mattresses?

If we go back to Cape May, I would look for a more modern hotel. Also, The original elevator was so cool to see and experience.... but I took the stairs to and from my 3rd floor room as much as I could because you have to be given a ride in the elevator by an employee and with them working all day in no A/C, getting so close and personal with them in a broom-closet sized (gorgeous) elevator was a bit stinky.... literally.

one more thing, why on earth would you guys close the pool every day at 6:30 pm.?? after a full day out and about, we'd all love to take a refreshing dip !! That is ridiculous, as well as the 85 year old lifeguard woman you have watching the pool.

All in all, it was an okay experience and I would stay there again if I had to.

Room Tip: Stay here in Fall or Spring (mild weather)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruv07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solomons, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Inn of Cape May is absolutely disgusting. The best possible outcome would be for Curtis to buy the property and work his magic - as he has done for Congress Hall, The Virginia, Star, and others.

We only booked a room here because this was a last minute trip. It is a combination of The Glass Menagerie, One Who Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Misery, and Titanic.

When checking out, the woman at the desk said, "Come back and see us again." We were biting our tongues, as we couldn't get out of there fast enough.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelON919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taimenz, Manager at Inn of Cape May, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
I am extremely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are a family establishment who strive to provide a family friendly atmosphere at reasonable prices and are on a different playing field than the other establishments that you mentioned in town. Unfortunately our building is over 110 years old and all wood which doesn't allow for certain upgrades like other building in town. We hope you do enjoy your stays in Cape May in our building or others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

The Inn of Cape May is a beautiful Victorian Inn steps from the beach and restaurants/shopping. It has five stories and each room is unique. It is light and airy inside with tasteful antique decorations, and it is full of charm. One of the highlights of the hotel is its porch. We have spent many evenings on the porch sipping cocktails from the onsite bar. The porch looks straight onto the beach and you can feel ocean breezes as you relax in a rocking chair. The Inn has a private pool (that it shares with another hotel) and it offers guests $11 vouchers for breakfast every morning at delicious Aleathea's Restaurant. We had our wedding reception at the Inn and our guests still rave about how wonderful the Inn was. We cannot recommend the Inn enough.

Warning: The Inn is over 100 years old -- do not stay here if you are planning to scrutinize the walls for cracks and/or are expecting a pillow top mattress. Book a room at the Inn if you are looking for a unique, Victorian seaside experience.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with an oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsEBandMrVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#27 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Cape May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Cape May

Property: Inn of Cape May
Address: 7 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 110 years, the Inn of Cape May has been a grand, gracious retreat for guests seeking a wonderful getaway. Come see the splendor of our unique Victorian village with its beautiful beaches and gentle ocean. Relax on our porch rockers beneath our signature purple awnings. Take a carriage ride. Enjoy fine dining. It's all here, as it has been for over 100 years at America's premier seashore resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn Of Cape May Hotel Cape May
Inn Of Cape May New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing