We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Victorian Experience”
Review of Inn of Cape May

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn of Cape May
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is my first experience with this type of stay. I'm usually a condo, cabin or motel type of person but, since it was for only one night, I wanted to try this. It certainly is different. First, I'm not used to the friendliness every time you go through the lobby. It was so sweet! Second, I'm also not used to having someone come to the elevator and operate it. I could just imagine how that felt 100 years ago. We went, two couples, each in our own rooms. Hubby and I prefer king beds; our friends, queen. The place was clean, VERY OLD and clean! Don't know where their A/C is 'cause we didn't see it. We also didn't need it. It was early in the season and the ocean breezes were beautiful. We really appreciated having a private parking lot as parking in Cape May can be a horror. We did some touring around the area but, spent most of our time shopping on Washington Street, sitting on the beach or just kicking back at the bar. When we considered having dinner, we thought that we would take a chance and go to the restaurant downstairs. What a wonderful idea! The meal was perfect and we just loved the extreme convenience of this place. Aside from our trips to the lighthouse, Sunset Beach and Wildwood, we walked to everything else and loved it!

Room Tip: Go off season. You'll love it! There's less people and no lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BergenLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Last year we stayed at the Inn of Cape May, with out our kids. This year (we just got back from staying 3 days 2 nights with our 5 and 7 year old.
The Inn has a nice charm about it, its very old and unique. The rooms are very old you get your own bathroom too. The rooms are very basic and nothing fancy, but are extremely clean!!!! I am a very anal and particular person when it comes to accommodations of where I and my family stay!
The wrap around front porch is so relaxing with its rocking chairs. The Inn gives you a $11 per person comp for there breakfast there....The breakfast was wonderful! We did not eat lunch or dinner there. Its location couldnt be better!!! It is directly across the street from the beach and a couple of blocks from the Washington mall.
The staff there is so friendly and nice too!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zapmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in the hotel for two night and had a diner at the hotel. Service is good and efficient. The hotel is typical from the Victorian style but a bit two old inside. It would need some modern investments.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loupayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

just got back from a trip to Cape May with 37 people - we booked 19 rooms at the Inn. The staff couldn't be nicer. They were efficient, friendly and made us feel like family. The food was excellent service was great. We spent time on all three decks, lounged by the pool, strolled thru town and at every tern, the staff was there to assist us. Everyone in the group was asking when we're going to come back. The place is not a 4 star chain hotel, but a great B&B with character and charm. Thanks to Beth and the staff.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank marypre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed for Memorial Day 2012 and had a wonderful time. This place was in a good location with great food and a courteous staff. This was my first trip down and i will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: The room i had was Ocean Corner perfect view ocean front with several balconys to go out and sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briwei5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Some people say this hotel is bad, terrible services, and just some mean workers. They are all wrong !!! The Inn of Cape May is the opposite of that. They have nice maids, waitors, and a REALLY REALLY NICE LIFEGUARD. We love this hotel and everyone in it. We come 3 times every summer for the past 4 years. I love it here. The rooms are nice. My family and I always have fun telling stories sitting on the porch at night, getting fabulous drinks, an amazing pool and kiddy pool, historical paintings and chairs, and a fancy looking restaurant that you can eat inside with windows open so theres a nice beach front breeze or an all inside part with AC. I recommend that you and your family come to this hotel on your next visit. Its magnificient!!!!!!! I cant wait for summer so I can see the Inn and my friends (the workers) cause to me, they feel like family. Summer 2012, here we come!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieAT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The majority of desk staff was grumpy. The room and its furnishings reminded me of a beach rental for young kids. Industrial gray carpeting in the room. I would not go near the futon. Obviously, the current owner does not care about the inn. The inn needs to be completely gutted and renovated.

Room Tip: I would not recommend anyone to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank SarahBAzavedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#30 of 37 in Cape May
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#18 of 37 in Cape May
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#29 of 37 in Cape May
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 37 in Cape May
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Cape May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Cape May

Address: 7 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2411
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range: £79 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 110 years, the Inn of Cape May has been a grand, gracious retreat for guests seeking a wonderful getaway. Come see the splendor of our unique Victorian village with its beautiful beaches and gentle ocean. Relax on our porch rockers beneath our signature purple awnings. Take a carriage ride. Enjoy fine dining. It's all here, as it has been for over 100 years at America's premier seashore resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn Of Cape May Hotel Cape May
Inn Of Cape May New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing