We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly small Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry Sawyer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henry Sawyer Inn
Ranked #25 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very friendly small Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Henry Sawyer Inn is a lovely small bed and breakfast in the historic district of Cape May, NJ. We have been here many times and have always had a great time. The owner, Barbara, is very cordial and accomodating, especially to our kosher food needs. We love staying in the first floor room just off the dining room (we are up early riding bikes!!!) with its beautiful antiques and its own entrance and private veranda. It is wonderful to sit on the veranda and relax while the horse and carriages go past the house. Barbara puts out a lovely afternoon tea which includes cold drinks, wine, fruit, snacks and home made baked goods. She puts it out early at 1:00pm and leaves it until 6:00pm. She serves a lovely breakfast that includes a fruit and yogurt parfait, a choice of an entree, along with fresh fruit and home made baked goods. The inn is centrally located making it an easy walk to restaurants, the pedestrian mall and the beach (umbrellas and chairs are provided). It is fun to bring or rent bikes to ride around town and on the board walk in the morning. You can even ride your bikes out to sunset beach to catch a beautiful sunset over the water which is unusual on the east coast!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joycew1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I would highly recommend The Henry Sawyer Inn. We went down for a quick weekend away with our 2 teenage children. It was a very relaxing weekend and a lovely stay. The home is charming and very well cared for. We stayed in the suite and the kids loved it because they each had their own beds which never happens when going away. There is a trundle bed on one side and a King bed on the other. Very comfortable. The Inn was very clean and our room was cleaned unknowingly while we were at breakfast. The breakfast was Delicious! and there was plenty of healthy, delicious food to start off our day.

Barbara, the inn keeper was very professional yet very warm and hospitable. She was extremely helpful anytime we needed something or had a question about the town.

I would definitely go back to Cape May and stay at The Henry Sawyer Inn!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmccrtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

My daughter and I have been staying at the Henry Sawyer Inn since 2001. We were new to Cape May, and once we found this treasure, we didn't want to stay anywhere else. We may have stayed at a few other places in town when the Henry Sawyer couldn't accomodate us, but it's always our first choice. The Inn is spotless, I don't care what anyone else writes. Trust me, I have been there in spring, summer, fall and for the holidays, and it's always well staffed and organized. You are treated very special here...and as far as the food goes, it is home made, well prepared by a trio of very seasoned and very capable people, and if you have a problem with no meat for breakfast, I suggest you go get your meat fix at the Pancake House. But you won't be treated as splendidly as you will be at the Henry Sawyer. If you can't be satisfied with homemade french toast, lemon pancakes and yogurt parfaits with fruit and homemade breads, pastries and cookies, and fresh coffee for breakfast, then stay in a motel. Not to mention, "tea", the afternoon treats common to B&B's, is served pretty much all afternoon....nuts, crackers, granola bars, homemade cookies and cakes, popcorn, teas, coffee, and wine. A relaxing large porch with rockers and comfortable furniture with overhead fans to enjoy your wine and tea by. There are beach chairs and umbrellas, you can walk to the beach. You can walk to the Washington St. Mall area. The rooms are filled with historic antiques and beautiful decor. Each one has its own bathroom, there are tvs, and free wifi. The staff, I cannot say enough about. Nina and Nicolai have been with the Inn for years, they are parents and residents of Cape May year round, and they both have a second job in restaurants. They work hard, and keep that Inn pristine. Barbara and Mary Morris, the innkeepers, are the best at what they do. They make sure you are satisfied and comfortable. They are both lovely, and have become dear friends. Barbara works very diligently to provide the best for the guests, and Mary is well known for her hospitality. It is quiet, it is peaceful, comfortable and very, very clean.

Room Tip: One room has a hot/tub. Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseygirl14850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We loved the home, location, morning breakfasts and the hospitality of owner Barbara and her staff. Special care was taken every morning as Barbara prepared a wonderful and healthy breakfast, and the coffee was great. We spent countless hours on the homes porch enjoying wine, champagne and a fine cigar. My sister and her husband have been in Cape May on many occassions and were very happy with the Inn. We will return and recommend the Henry Sawyer. Dor, Mary, John and Ed

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oreo7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

My daughter and I have stayed here many times through the years. Barbara and Mary are great people and will make you feel at home. The B&B is very clean and well taken care of. The location is also great because its centrally located betwen Washington Street Mall and the beach. The B&B has chairs,umbrella and towels for the beach.

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioTravelerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuckerton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at this inn for our anniversary. We were impressed with how it appeared on their website and what other reviewers were saying about it. Unfortunately, we were dissapointed.

Our room was spacious and included a hot tub. That was the plus of the whole stay.

Breakfast was more of a continental one than a full, hearty one. It consisted of eggs one
day, french toast on another, fresh fruit, breads and muffins, and coffee, juice, and tea. We noticed that no meat was being served. We asked the innkeeper if they serve meat, and she said, "No, we like to keep things simple." Simple? We didn't pay $149 a night for simple. We will not stay at a place where we are not worth the trouble. No bacon, sausage, ham for you.

Leftover pastries from breakfast were being served at tea time. The cookies were slightly burnt.

Housekeeping was not up to par. Our room was not thoroughly cleaned. Plates were left in the room and sheets weren't changed.

We could hear the televisions downstairs from our room. If you are looking for quiet, this may not be the place for you.

There are much better choices in Cape May. Albert Stevens Inn or Souther Mansion to name a few. You'll get what you pay for there.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CorgiMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

It's not the best B&B by far, but then Cape May has some of the finest B&Bs we've ever stayed at. It is the only place I've seen in Cape May though that offers beach umbrellas, whereas most places only offer the chairs. Their outdoor shower is excellent as well and stocked with shampoo and soap. The breakfast was far from gourmet but it was tasty, and the first time I've seen someone actually use a french baguette in making french toast. I would reserve other places before I reserve this place, but if they are booked I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again, especially compared to staying at some motel.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Obespalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#31 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Albert Stevens Inn
Albert Stevens Inn
#7 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Sawyer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Sawyer Inn

Property: Henry Sawyer Inn
Address: 722 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Henry Sawyer Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing