We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Stay”
Review of Henry Sawyer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Henry Sawyer Inn
Ranked #25 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Hubby and I stayed here recently for three nights- this is a very pretty inn, located within only a few blocks of the shops and the beach. The room was quite spacious, although I must mention that the shower was very small and a bit difficult to move around in. The bed was comfortable, the house was very clean and well- maintained, and the staff were very gracious. There were yummy snacks set out each afternoon along with two different kinds of wine to choose from, and the breakfasts were delicious. So they don't serve meat with breakfast, as one reviewer mentioned. Who cares? Meat isn't healthy anyway. There were beach chairs and umbrellas for our use, an outdoor shower to rinse off in after the beach, and off-street parking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Henry Sawyer Inn was perfect for our visit to Cape May. The inn is located in the heart of the historic district and within convenient walking distance to everything. It also has off-street parking. We were a group of three related women and we shared a suite on the second floor, which was comfortable and spacious. There are 3 floors and lots of other rooms, and some were occupied part of the time we were there, but we never heard a sound from the other rooms! Barbara, the inn keeper, is wonderful! When she's not baking goodies for breakfast and afternoon snacking, she's offering suggestions, telling Cape May history and getting information so that each person's day in Cape May is perfect. Her signature champagne glass with yogurt topped with home-made granola and then fresh fruit is a fantastic way to start the day. In addition to this, she offers all sorts of home-made breads and scones, and she'll fix waffles, pancakes or eggs. Throughout the rest of the day she offers home-made cookies, assorted nuts and tea and coffee, plus cool beverages. This is a great place to stay in Cape May. If we return to Cape May, we'll definitely return to this B&B!

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be fine. All the rooms have individual heating and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Just recently my Mom, Sister and I spent a beautiful Christmas Weekend in Cape May. The Henry Sawyer was our choice for an Inn. As the title says, this Inn was a warm hug and just what the doctor ordered for our weekend --- very clean accomodations, Barbara, the Innkeeper, who iwas just so warm, helpful and knowledgeable about Cape May and the surrounding area, and a homemade breakfast that was just delicious! Our accomodations were immaculate, there were homemade snacks offered all day and into the evening that were complimented by tea, soft drinks and wine!!! We awoke to the smell of fresh coffee and Pumpkin Pancakes --- what a great way to start your day! The breakfast was very filling and delicious, we started with juice, coffee, fresh baked goods and fresh fruit was presented on the the table as a starter. Then came a yogurt parfait, and a choice of three different breakfast entrees. It just doesn't get any better than this. The Inn was beautifully decorated so that we could "kick-off" the Christmas Season and go home filled with Christmas Spirit to decorate our own homes. If I have to sum it up in three words, they would be, "NOT TO BE MISSED."

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We are regulars at the Henry Sawyer Inn and, each visit, Barbara makes us feel like royalty. The rooms are comfortable. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks are absolutely delicious. The extras are a bonus. Most important --- we never have to think. All we do is relax and enjoy! When we want to try something different, Barbara helps us do the research. If we want our favorite "Chocolate Chip Pancakes," Barbara adds it to the menu. If we want an afternoon glass of wine, it's ready and waiting. No matter what --- the Henry Sawyer Inn is top notch! No other B&B compares.

Room Tip: Every room has its own personality. Choose based on your style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have stayed twice at this B & B. The staff is so friendly and accommodating! I was helped with restaurant and sightseeing suggestions, which turned out to be great. Breakfast is delicious with different breads, muffins and cakes each day as well as eggs, french toast and pancakes. The beds were comfortable and the rooms both times were immaculate. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cape May. Returning from shopping and being able to have a glass of wine before dressing for dinner is just so perfect, the owners really try to anticipate your every need.

Room Tip: The B & B is on a corner that is very quiet at night so I think any room is good, think about wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a very nice, cozy place. The breakfast was exceptional. It was a short distance to the beach and the main street - Washington str. My kids (16 and 11 yo) loved it. Barbara, the owner, is very accommodating. She made us feel as we're at home. You can do check out and go to the beach, then come back and take shower outside, have some drinks. I would like to visit it again.

Room Tip: If you have the difficulty to walk stairs, ask for the room on the first floor. If you have kids, 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dqr2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just had a wonderful stay. It was a last minute decision to stay overnight in Cape May. The staff went out of thier way to make our visit enjoyable. They even made sure that they accommadated our GF diet. Since they had no advance notice that was very surprising and appreciated.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jomoon4603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#31 of 40 in Cape May
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Park
Inn at the Park
#24 of 40 in Cape May
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Sawyer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Sawyer Inn

Address: 722 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £157 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Henry Sawyer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Sawyer Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing