We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice weekend getaway...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Henry Sawyer Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henry Sawyer Inn
Ranked #25 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice weekend getaway...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My husbands parents treated us to a weekend here. Our room was huge with a gas fireplace. Easy walk to Washington Street. Breakfast was delicious. Muffins, breads, fruit parfait and then the main course!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlenejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at HSI. This Inn is what Cape May is all about - good food and great people.

The town and the beach area are very clean. Only a short walk from the Inn to the boardwalk. Also there'a a great restaurant a few blocks away called the Washington Inn.

My family has been staying here for many years and now I can see why. (Not to mention the breakfast was delicious!) We will be back. Thanks Barbara.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcks0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We continue to return to the Henry Sawyer Inn year after year. The rooms are comfortable. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks absolutely delicious. Barbara and Mary, the innkeepers, are friendly and knowledgeable. The fellow guests are a pleasure to meet. There is nothing like sitting on the porch with a glass of wine in the late afternoon to enjoy the fresh air and watch the horse and carriage rides go by.

Room Tip: Every room has a personal touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown,PA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Hubby and I stayed here recently for three nights- this is a very pretty inn, located within only a few blocks of the shops and the beach. The room was quite spacious, although I must mention that the shower was very small and a bit difficult to move around in. The bed was comfortable, the house was very clean and well- maintained, and the staff were very gracious. There were yummy snacks set out each afternoon along with two different kinds of wine to choose from, and the breakfasts were delicious. So they don't serve meat with breakfast, as one reviewer mentioned. Who cares? Meat isn't healthy anyway. There were beach chairs and umbrellas for our use, an outdoor shower to rinse off in after the beach, and off-street parking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Henry Sawyer Inn was perfect for our visit to Cape May. The inn is located in the heart of the historic district and within convenient walking distance to everything. It also has off-street parking. We were a group of three related women and we shared a suite on the second floor, which was comfortable and spacious. There are 3 floors and lots of other rooms, and some were occupied part of the time we were there, but we never heard a sound from the other rooms! Barbara, the inn keeper, is wonderful! When she's not baking goodies for breakfast and afternoon snacking, she's offering suggestions, telling Cape May history and getting information so that each person's day in Cape May is perfect. Her signature champagne glass with yogurt topped with home-made granola and then fresh fruit is a fantastic way to start the day. In addition to this, she offers all sorts of home-made breads and scones, and she'll fix waffles, pancakes or eggs. Throughout the rest of the day she offers home-made cookies, assorted nuts and tea and coffee, plus cool beverages. This is a great place to stay in Cape May. If we return to Cape May, we'll definitely return to this B&B!

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be fine. All the rooms have individual heating and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Just recently my Mom, Sister and I spent a beautiful Christmas Weekend in Cape May. The Henry Sawyer was our choice for an Inn. As the title says, this Inn was a warm hug and just what the doctor ordered for our weekend --- very clean accomodations, Barbara, the Innkeeper, who iwas just so warm, helpful and knowledgeable about Cape May and the surrounding area, and a homemade breakfast that was just delicious! Our accomodations were immaculate, there were homemade snacks offered all day and into the evening that were complimented by tea, soft drinks and wine!!! We awoke to the smell of fresh coffee and Pumpkin Pancakes --- what a great way to start your day! The breakfast was very filling and delicious, we started with juice, coffee, fresh baked goods and fresh fruit was presented on the the table as a starter. Then came a yogurt parfait, and a choice of three different breakfast entrees. It just doesn't get any better than this. The Inn was beautifully decorated so that we could "kick-off" the Christmas Season and go home filled with Christmas Spirit to decorate our own homes. If I have to sum it up in three words, they would be, "NOT TO BE MISSED."

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We are regulars at the Henry Sawyer Inn and, each visit, Barbara makes us feel like royalty. The rooms are comfortable. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks are absolutely delicious. The extras are a bonus. Most important --- we never have to think. All we do is relax and enjoy! When we want to try something different, Barbara helps us do the research. If we want our favorite "Chocolate Chip Pancakes," Barbara adds it to the menu. If we want an afternoon glass of wine, it's ready and waiting. No matter what --- the Henry Sawyer Inn is top notch! No other B&B compares.

Room Tip: Every room has its own personality. Choose based on your style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#31 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bedford Inn
Bedford Inn
#14 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albert Stevens Inn
Albert Stevens Inn
#7 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Sawyer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Sawyer Inn

Property: Henry Sawyer Inn
Address: 722 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Henry Sawyer Inn Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing