We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooper's Guest House
Ranked #34 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I had not been to Cooper's since the early 80s--my loss. Obviously both Sylvia and I are a tad bit older and her mom passed away this past year; however I felt like I went back in time. The place was as great as ever--even better now that it has AC throughout! You can't beat Cape May either. Now my wife finally knows what I have been talking about all these years.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We were at the end of our vacation in neighboring Wildwood Crest and we were looking for a night in Cape May. By luck we stumbled upon Cooper's. Sylvia graciously set us up for a single night stay in the middle of the week. We were fortunate to land the second floor room with the private bath and private porch. If you are looking for frills, go elsewhere. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, quaint place, stay here. Cape May is our new vacation spot and Cooper's will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, our room was perfect for my husband, myself and our 12 year old son. We had a queen bed and a twin. Sylvia is wonderful, she made us feel right at home.She made sure we had a parking spot in her lot and a room on the second floor with a private bath. The house is close to everything.....miniature golf, arcade and the beach. I loved having not having a TV or internet, this left more time for reading playing cards etc... The front porch is wonderful to sit on and enjoy a cup of coffee. There is nothing fancy about Coopers, what you will get is a great night sleep in a clean room in a very homey feeling house, Our 12 year old son cannot wait to go back and stay there again and of course to see Sylvia. We will be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoony21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Cooper's Guest House is centrally located near the beach and Sylvia us a great hostess. We stayed mid week and it was very quiet and clean. My bed was way more comfortable than my recent stay at a Marriot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaBallistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Sylvia is wonderful and makes you feel right at home. The house is clean and quaint. Not a lot of frills but who needs 'em anyway?! Reasonably priced especially for "high" season. Had room #7 with a private bathroom at the top of the stairs on the 3rd floor in the back of the house. Double bed is comfortable - maybe a bit small for two or could be called cozy!! No view to speak of but two windows. Coffee in the morning downstairs was very good. Tea also available. Off street parking available but was tight but this is at a premium in Cape May. Really do not need your car in Cape May though especially if you are centrally located like Cooper's Guest House is. Cooper's is within walking distance of great restaurants and all the shopping you can imagine! Beach is only about a block and a half away so no car necessary. Park your car, yourself, and enjoy!!! Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor has a spacious room with a private porch in the front of the building. Think it is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeysuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Like the other reviewers have said Cooper's guest house is well located, homey, with a pleasant proprietress. A plus maybe not previously mentioned is that Sylvia has several parking spots behind the house. At some other Cape May guest houses, after unloading your luggage, you have to park on the outskirts of town in a shared guesthouse lot then walk or shuttle back to your room.

I understand that Cooper's Guesthouse is not a hotel. But still. Coopers does not have wi-fi. The toilet paper is so thin you might just as well go ahead and use your fingers. After that, you will find a TINY bar of soap in the bathroom that will not be replaced during your stay.

And BTW public wi-fi is hard to find in Cape May. A coffee shop near Gecko's, behind the pedestrian mall, will give you an hour's access with a purchase if you bring your own computer but that seems to be the only option.

So go to Cooper's enjoy the location and the big front porch. And relax and leave your computer at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank inDC_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is our third year here. We stay with our two kids. Only one and a half blocks to the beach and a few blocks to the mall. We bring breakfast food (there's a fridge in the room) and eat on the front porch most mornings. It is not fancy, the rooms aren't filled with antiques. But it is a nice, homey place to stay for a few days without breaking the bank. The owner is a lovely woman and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phebereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antoinette's Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Guest House

Address: 109 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2426
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £71 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular and classic Victorian guest house. We offer eight guest rooms, tea and coffee in the lobby every morning, and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooper's Guest House Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing