We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Cooper Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooper's Guest House
Ranked #35 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My son and daughter in law had their wedding in Cape May and the family stayed at the Cooper Guest House for the 3 day event. Sylvia was amazing , she let our guest get dressed at the Cooper House before the wedding. Sylvia also permitted us to have our own food on the front porch for breakfast and lunch. After the reception Sylvia allowed our guest to gather on the front porch for a few hours to continue our celebration. Sylvia's Cooper Guest House is a great place to stay in Cape May

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanilla1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I really want to call it "Sylvia's" because she truly makes it what it is. It's a home, and you will have the opportunity to really place yourself in the moment and time in a truly timeless context in beautiful Cape May. You DON'T need a TV. You don't need overstuffed chintz, internet access and your blankety-blank cell phone! BE on vacation, in a classic beach town, with your loved one, family, or your lucky self!

Don't get me wrong, Cooper's has comforts and plenty! But it's blessedly pared down, suberbly simple. Rock on the porch, enjoy a stroll in the blissfully restored neighborhoods, sleep with the window open to salty breezes. Relax.

Room Tip: Ask Sylvia! She will tell you what matches your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiralooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife & I stayed here during the 2012 Victorian Weekend. Cooper's is in an excellent location; we parked our car (free on-site parking) & walked everywhere! The ocean, bike rentals, shopping & eateries are just a few minutes away!

Sylvia courteously greeted us at the door and escorted us to our room. Our room (#7) was simple, clean and comfortable. No TV or WIFI; bring a radio and enjoy the many great stations available in the area. Our friends stayed in the very nice room #2; we enjoyed wine & cheese (frig in room) on the quaint private porch!

My wife and I don't need "fancy". We like courteous, clean comfortable and convienient. That's what we experienced at Cooper's!

Room Tip: Different sleeping set-ups for friends and families. Most rooms have private baths. #7 has the onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eljarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Ca. 1 and 1/2 blocks from the ocean, this is one of the very few remaining guest houses here. Most are B and B's, which of course are more expensive.

A cozy arrangement, the house dates from 1875. The owner, Sylvia Cooper, is a very pleasant and friendly woman, conscientiously keeping up the property.

There's a rather modest wraparound first-floor porch for those renters in the rear of the second floor [Ms. Cooper lives on the first floor]; the second-floor front primary room has a private bath, walk-in closet, and features a large room with an exclusive second-floor porch, complete with a view of the Atlantic.

Very comfortable air conditioning is part of each rental.

Complimentary (and very good) coffee is served each morning. Ms. Cooper is always promptly available, should there be any questions.

An unassuming, old beach house feel to the place.

Been in the family since before the mid-20th century...

Room Tip: Probably should select one of the front two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I had not been to Cooper's since the early 80s--my loss. Obviously both Sylvia and I are a tad bit older and her mom passed away this past year; however I felt like I went back in time. The place was as great as ever--even better now that it has AC throughout! You can't beat Cape May either. Now my wife finally knows what I have been talking about all these years.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We were at the end of our vacation in neighboring Wildwood Crest and we were looking for a night in Cape May. By luck we stumbled upon Cooper's. Sylvia graciously set us up for a single night stay in the middle of the week. We were fortunate to land the second floor room with the private bath and private porch. If you are looking for frills, go elsewhere. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, quaint place, stay here. Cape May is our new vacation spot and Cooper's will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, our room was perfect for my husband, myself and our 12 year old son. We had a queen bed and a twin. Sylvia is wonderful, she made us feel right at home.She made sure we had a parking spot in her lot and a room on the second floor with a private bath. The house is close to everything.....miniature golf, arcade and the beach. I loved having not having a TV or internet, this left more time for reading playing cards etc... The front porch is wonderful to sit on and enjoy a cup of coffee. There is nothing fancy about Coopers, what you will get is a great night sleep in a clean room in a very homey feeling house, Our 12 year old son cannot wait to go back and stay there again and of course to see Sylvia. We will be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoony21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Guest House

Address: 109 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2426
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: £73 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular and classic Victorian guest house. We offer eight guest rooms, tea and coffee in the lobby every morning, and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooper's Guest House Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing