We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands on fun”

Naval Air Station Wildwood Aviation Museum
Ranked #4 of 59 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Naval Air Station Wildwood Foundation is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to restore Hangar #1 at the Cape May Airport, Cape May County, New Jersey, into an aircraft museum honoring the Navy airmen who died while training during World War II. Hangar # 1 was listed onto the National Register of Historic Places in September of 1997. Naval Air station (NAS) Wildwood was commissioned on April 1, 1943. The site served as an active dive-bomber squadron training facility from 1943 to 1945. Aircraft stationed at NAS Wildwood included TBM Avengers, Douglas Dauntlesses, Vought Corsairs and Curtiss Helldivers. Forty-two airmen perished while training at NAS Wildwood during World War II. In June 1997, NASW Foundation purchased Hangar #1 at the Cape May Airport. The 92,000 square-foot all-wooden structure was in a state of disrepair and required extensive renovation. Under the stewardship of NASW Foundation, the hangar was listed on the New Jersey and National Registers of Historic Places at the National Significance Level. NAS Wildwood Aviation Museum now boasts over 26 aircraft displays as well as exhibits of military memorabilia, engines, photographs and more. Additionally, the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia has provided NAS Wildwood with a wealth of interactive exhibits that allow visitors to discover the science of flight. The museum also features a library, food vending area as well as a recently expanded gift shop. In its role as a community resource, NAS Wildwood Aviation Museum regularly hosts activities including fly-ins, aviation festivals, big band concerts, swing dances, veterans’ ceremonies, historical lectures, school field trips and senior tours.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hands on fun”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My family really enjoyed the NAS Aviation Museum. There are so many planes/helicopters that you can sit in and explore. They were building an exhibit for a Coast Guard boat, which I would love to go back and see. The gift shop has a WWII era authentic dog tag machine, which was really neat to see them create dog tags for my son. It was really fun to see so many planes up close!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bazingo99 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    170
    24
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
modernphoenixv2
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This museum oozes with history, from all the planes and exhibits to the hangar itself. I really enjoyed our visit and I know my kids did too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank modernphoenixv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waretown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Much to See and Do”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We took our four grandchildren, ages 7 to 12, to the aviation museum. They all had a great time! My husband and I had been there previously and thought it would be a good place to bring them. We never imagined they would enjoy it as much as they did. They took turns climbing into the all the aircraft, tried all the interactive tools. They loved using the flight simulator. It was an incredibly fun and educational day for all of us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great attraction for all ages”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We visited the museum mid week during the week of June 23 with extended family visiting - everyone enjoyed it very much. The kids could run around and get into planes and jeeps(as well as some of the adults!), and there was much to see. It is not a stodgy formal museum, but the docent was around to answer questions and I suggest that everyone start off watching the short video to orient you on this station and its importance in the war. After the museum you may want to check out he Cape May Brewing company nearby for a tour, craft beers, root beer or ginger ale - a great day!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic attraction”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We live in Cape May and always take visitors here. It is always interesting and new exhibits arrive periodically. On occasion a WW 2 vintage bomber flies in for tours.
If you are thirsty afterward, there is an excellent craft brewery on the airport property (they brew root beer for the non-beer drinkers).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NASW_Aviation_Museum, Guest Relations Manager at Naval Air Station Wildwood Aviation Museum, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at the museum! We are proud to know this is a stop for your visiting guests here in Cape May, and are glad to hear it is always an enjoyed one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naval Air Station Wildwood Aviation Museum also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Naval Air Station Wildwood Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing