We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Shores Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We've been coming to Holly Shores for the past 10 years. Sometimes it feels very crowded and noisy, other times, like last week (July 4th holiday week), not crowded and very relaxed. The sites are level and gravel, lots of shade. Some are much bettter than others so check the map and try to request a site number. It varies whether or not you will have luck with that. Sometimes they will confirm a site number and other times they will not guarantee it. The pool is heated which is nice. The baby pool is not and can be ice cold at times. The main pool is not the biggest so will get crowded on a hot day.

This campground is probably half seasonal. The seasonal sites are well maintained and interesting to look at on the daily afternoon wagon ride. Permanent residents are friendly. Most of the transient guests are polite and friendly also.

The good:
Lots of activities for kids of all ages. Arts and crafts, relay races, Candy Bar Bingo, water gun and balloon fights. Counsellors are nice if not all that enthused about it.

Bathhouse has always been clean.

Nightly entertainment is very enjoyable. Free Magic show is very entertaining. Free pony rides are a hit. Karaoke DJ very nice (although a bit loud for the space)

Location is convenient to Wildwood and Cape May. All the shopping for necessities and then some are a couple miles up the road.

The not so good:

Staff seems miserable. Hardly anyone smiles. Only the counsellors for the kids activities seemed to be able to smile.

Pay showers in the bathhouse are not so great. Water is good temp but ceiling mounted showerheads do not provide a good shower here. And with all the signs about how the pay showers save water and are good for the environment, it's pretty ridiculous to be done with your shower and watching the water run while you are finished.

The toilet stalls in the bathhouse are ridiculously sized also. Another reviewer mentioned this and there is no legroom or room to turn around at all. I checked with hubby and he said the men's is the same. I don't know who designed this place.... Also the dryers don't work great either.

This trip the bugs were pretty bad. Not sure if it was the weather but bug spray is a must here.

While the guests seem to obey the posted one way signs and speed limits, the staff zooms around on the golf carts paying no attention to the signs! Usually, at campgrounds, it's the guests doing this, but here it was the staff I noticed going the wrong way all the time at speeds that I estimate faster than 5 mph.....

Overall we like this place and it is not too far for us to drive (about 2 1/2 hours) so we keep coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachelkw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Holly Shores Camping Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Have been here twice now. Plenty of activities for the kids like crafts, water gun hayride, kereoke, not to mention the pool. Sites are a bit tight for my liking. The beach front with the boardwalk, shops and amusement rides is only 10 minutes away. The town is also close, and beautiful! Most sites are very shady, which would be nice in the summer months. Looking forward to going for thier Halloween weekend! My only complaint is the showers. You need to pay .25 cents for 5 minutes of water. Its supporting water conservation, which is responsible, but the water pressure stinks! I end up paying extra due to the fact my hair is thick, and with no pressure it takes a bit to get wet, then rinse. So, I really don't feel like I'm conserving anything! Other than that, very lovely place for families!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Over all the campground was good. The facilities were clean, sites were well maintained but very small. The staff isn't the friendliness but they do there job, check you in and watch the campground. It is mostly French people, but that doesn't really bother us. Were not there to make friends just to light a fire and sleep. . Its a typical "shore" campground, we go to stay there in our own beds and drive to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kvill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I have come to Holly Shores at least 4 times..few times for a week of fun e sun at Wildwood NJ. I have to say if you have young children its a great place as its off the beaten path of the boardwalk....easier to manage the spending! Pool is nice, the staff is pleasant and each of our rentals was great! We will definitely be back this year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachluvr0881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Leaving today from our first Holly Shores trip. What a wonderful campground and the Lil Goblins weekend was the best! Everyone here is so friendly and great activities for our 6 yr old. Booking next year before we leave!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsmyth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have returned for Roar to the Shore for 6 years and give this resort thumbs up for all around cleanliness. They are motorcycle friendly and have user friendly sites with concrete pads and stones to reduce bugs. Go visit them, you won't regret it! See you next year, the chicks who won the Harley in 2008!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Over all the camping experience was good; the facilities were clean, lots of activities for the family (kids) if you wanted to participate, sites were well maintained and large enough not to be on top of your neighbor and fairly easy to get into with an RV. The staff was friendly enough, but it certainly is a "family" run business as they were a bit more vocal, and in some cases, not too professional in their interactions with each other. Over all it did not take away from the service, but certainly left one feeling awkward at times. Really enjoyed using the fenced dog run area and the daily camp site trash/recycling pick up was helpful. Bike riding through the campground was ok; as only the main road is paved and the rest is loose gravel, which makes it difficult to go for a nice leisurely ride.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May
4.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seashore Campsites & RV Resort
9.7 mi away
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort
Big Timber Lake Family Camping R...
#1 of 5 in Cape May Court House
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Shores Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Shores Camping Resort

Address: 491 US Route 9 South, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cape May
Price Range: £87 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly Shores Campground and RV Resort is conveniently located right between historic Cape May and the Wildwoods.Our wooded park will provide you with the pleasures of the forest, yet you're only minutes away from the beaches and oceans that have made our area famous. Join in with all the activities we offer your family at Holly Shores, or just relax at your campsite and enjoy the peace and quiet that our natural surroundings provide for you.Awarded "Large Park of the Year" by ARVC"Best Campground" by CapeMaycom"Top Rated NJ Park" by Trailer Life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holly Shores Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Shores Camping Resort Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing