We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fun Production at East Lynne”

East Lynne Theater Company
Attraction details
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Another Fun Production at East Lynne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I have now seen three productions here--the latest being 'It Pays to Advertise'. The Theater Company rents space at this pretty Presbyterian Church near the outdoor Mall in Cape May. They tend to specialize in early 20th century comedies, so it's great to see a little slice of life from a century ago.

All of the actors gave skilled performances. I want to give shout-outs to two of the supporting actors. Matt Baxter Luceno (Rodney Martin) was absolutely hilarious as the son of an industrialist who's not too bright. Maria Silverman (Comtesse De Beaurien) was wonderful jumping back and forth between different accents.

The theater does multiple productions each year. If I were in town in November, I'd seriously consider the Sherlock Holmes radio play.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It Pays to Advertise production”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Very clever and well acted play. Too much fund raising...they even sold 50-50 raffle tickets at intermission. But very much enjoyed the evening. Church pews a bit uncomfortable - that is their venue now. Great theater company though -- they deserve lots of support and attendance!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband and I decided to do dinner and a play for my birthday when we were in Cape May. Dinner at Aleatheas (separate review) and "The Poe Mysteries" at the East Lynne Theater company. We were a bit skeptical because when we made reservations, we were told the play was in a church. I pictured the play being in the dingy basement of the church with a bunch of amateurs, but I was very wrong. The play was actually held in the church (which is beautiful). The audience sits in the pews and there is a small stage where the altar would be. There were six actors in the play, which was centered around a dectective solving Poe's mysteries. The play was done very well and the actors they were very good and professional. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WeirdNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastlynneco, Manager at East Lynne Theater Company, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! East Lynne Theater Company started in North Jersey in 1980 and was asked to move all or part ot it's season to Cape May in 1988 by Michael Zuckerman, Executive Director of Mid-Atlantic Center for the Arts and Humanities (MAC), since our mission is The American Spirit onstage, which fits this historic Cape May town. When the company lost what it thought would be it's permanent home, The Presbyterian Church stepped in, offering it's beautiful sanctaury. ELTC is an Equity professional company, meaning that most of the actors we hire are members of Actors' Equity, the union for professional actors, and most of them make their livings performing in NYC (Broadway, Off-Broadway, television shows, films, and radio) and in regional theaters throughout the country. So very glad you enjoyed "The Poes Mysteries."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Cliff, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Saw Edgar Allen Poe's Mysteries and it was great. The cast was professional and even my husband who typically does not like plays enjoyed himself.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank snowfall20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastlynneco, Manager at East Lynne Theater Company, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you! It's been our pleasure to present this world premiere "Poe!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Poe Mysteries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

A group of us went to see The Poe Mysteries performed by the East Lynne Theater Company in Cape May, NJ. The performances are in a Presbyterian Church, and I always wonder ahead of time, how it will be performed with such limited stage space, and I am always amazed.

This show was not as "dark" as the title sounds because of the humor throughout the show. The cast is amazing, and I believe that the 6 of them are cast as 55 characters for this show.

It is worth going to see. If you are a senior, or a student, take ID, and your ticket will be discounted. There are also dinner and show tickets that are reasonable.

If you love theater, this performance is intriguing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindymac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastlynneco, Manager at East Lynne Theater Company, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. Greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Lynne Theater Company also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to East Lynne Theater Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing