We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel Poor service”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel Poor service”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I would like to start by saying we have been coming to Cape May to this hotel for 15 yrs. Formaly the altas hotel. the room is nice the hotel was totaly renovated for the most part.we were pleased with the room,, but the service was poor had to beg for room service and took 6 hrs to get extra towels the next day..the cost was not worth it!... sneaky to beware of extra charges 2 days later on your card..were were acused of things we did not do. I called my credit card company they refunded me that money but it was a pain.. We will not go Again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flyers5513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, Ocean Club Hotel Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Thank you for your review. We regretfully disagree with some of your comments and would like to address them here.

The extra charges you reference are legitimate. You smoked in your room. We received numerous complaints from your neighbors which alerted us to the smell, and we were able to verify that the smell was indeed coming from your room both prior to your departure and afterward. There were also cigarette holes left in the blanket in your room which were not there prior to your arrival.

As a result of your stay we were forced to hire a company to address the lingering cigarette smell in the room and the damaged blanket had to be replaced. We provided you with photos of the blanket at the time we charged your card and can re-forward them to you should you wish to review them again.

Please note that we have no record of your funds being refunded to or by your credit card company.

The front desk keeps a log of all guest requests, and I did not see your request for towels listed in the log. If you requested the towels and did not receive them in a timely fashion then please accept our sincere apologies for same.

We hope that you continue to enjoy Cape May in the coming years, but please be advised that most hotels in town, if not all, do not allow smoking in the guest rooms.

Best regards,
Ocean Club Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    162
    69
    24
    29
See reviews for
183
245
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel and was greeted by a very cool, clean and modern hotel. That being said, I do have a couple of things that I would like to point out, good and not-so-good. First off, the beds are INCREDIBLE! I have never stayed anywhere where the beds were this wonderful! Now, the not-so-good and really my only complaint....the shower. My guess is the hotel was looking to do an Oriental / Zen / Spa type of thing; however, I come from a time and place where shower doors and/or curtains provide a purpose! There is only one glass panel on the shower and it only covers half of the stall. Therefore, you're not only exposed and feeling a draft, but there is great propensity for water to get everywhere. There is only one shelf in the stall, as well. I know, I know - if this is my only complaint, then that's not so bad - and you know? It IS a great hotel; BUT, sometimes all of the ocean views and comfy beds can't make up for some things....and this was an important thing for me. Is it a deal-breaker? Of course not! I'll be back, but I would hope that current Management takes the suggestion of a shower door or curtain under advisement.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front, so you can't miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RealPegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purchase, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Finally, a luxurious hotel in Cape May. Beautifully appointed rooms and bathrooms, top of the line linens and bath prooducts......Unbeatable location with friendly and efficient beach service for food, drinks, towels, umbrellas and chairs! It doesn't disapppoint!!!

Room Tip: get a room on the sundeck level where you'll have your own private outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carlajeanne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel right after the Hurricane hit and we had low expections for our trip...to our pleasant surprise the hotel picked up as if nothing had happened. The experience, our room and customer service were all excellent. The outdoor bar, pool area and lobby were all perfect with the resturant being great for breakfast. Cape May is beautiful all by itself and to add a luxury style hotel to an area that is all Victorians is a nice change of pace if that is what you are looking for, the Ocean Club fits this bill.

Room Tip: All Rooms are two room suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburn IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

In town for a wedding, and the Ocean Club was a great place to stay. The beachfront location, friendly staff and spanking new beds and rooms really made the experience a good one. Because it was November, we were able to ignore the heat/ac and leave the doors open for the ocean breeze. It was divine and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Thanks to Melissa for a warm welcome when we arrived.

Room Tip: Get the beachfront.....well worth the upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dnicoletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for 4 nights this summer. The hotel is very nice, rooms slightly above avg. The staff for the most part tried to be very attentive and nice, but the management clearly was not. It was obvious that this hotel rushed opening after the renovation/conversion. We had to change rooms once, and then had engineers come look at the 2nd room. They did not offer any accomodation and were actually rude about the whole situation. They allowed guests to "reserve" lounges ealy in the morning for the entire day - whether they were there or at the beach for hours! We did not eat at their restaurant... but ate finger food poolside (from their restaurant) and it was very good. Might give them another chance again, but then again, due to the lack of service from management - probably not.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I spent our 15th wedding anniversary here the weekend they opened. We were called the week before and were told they wouldn't be ready for our Thursday check in but by Friday they would be ready. They put us up at their sister hotel on Thursday night, on the house. On Friday morning when we went to check in they were not ready. The place looked like it wouldn't be ready for quite some time. Rita hooked us up with a room to get changed to go to the beach and upgraded our room for our inconvience. When we came back at 3:00 it was like Restaurant Impossible. The place was amazing and all of the staff was in place and ready to go. Every staff member was extremely accomodating, friendly, and went out of their way to make our experience unforgettable. Chef Lu was amazing. I felt bad because his kitchen wasn't ready yet, but he put a spread on of sandwich's and picky foods. Even his sandwich's are to die for. I can't wait to go back and try out his restaurant. I checked out his menu online an it looks amazing. I will definitely be back and have recommended this hotel to many of my family and friends.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are amazing. The view of the water is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#15 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing